Find jobs for Makeup Artist

NARS Cosmetics Makeup Artist Reviews

Updated 9 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
NARS Cosmetics President Barbara Calcagni (no image)
Barbara Calcagni
1 Rating
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Working at Nars"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Makeup Artist in London, England

    I have been working at NARS Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nars is a creative and highly quality, working with some of the best artists

    Cons

    They are current Cutting down on employment.

    NARS Cosmetics2019-06-03
  2. "Decent part time work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Makeup Artist in Manchester, England

    I have been working at NARS Cosmetics part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interactions with like minded people on a daily basis

    Cons

    Basic minimum wage, other brands offer more

    NARS Cosmetics2020-03-09
  3. "Pretty good company to work for overall"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Makeup Artist in London, England

    I worked at NARS Cosmetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The seasonal training is fun and incentives can be very good. Products are very good and high quality so makes them easy and enjoyable to sell. Management are OK

    Cons

    No freedom in terms of personal style, the dress code is quite boring and so you feel unable to fully bring your unique personality to the job. It feels like there are more and more stores opening up, which feels like its uniqueness or exclusivity is being taken away. Also, I feel there should be a salary scale as there is nothing to really work towards -People with little work experience as a Makeup Artist still get the same pay as Makeup Artists with years of experience.

    Continue reading
    NARS Cosmetics2018-05-12
  4. "Not all that glitters is gold"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Makeup Artist 

    I have been working at NARS Cosmetics

    Pros

    The Makeup is good You get the opportunity to improve your artistry skills The brand is very respected and admired

    Cons

    The hours are hideously long which means it's hard to balance your social and personal life with work. The environment is very petty and catty You have to seriously watch your back because people are very tactic. Not only do you have to be 100% on your daily targets but there are around another 5 targets to think about. People kiss managements ar*e in order to progress. Favouritism

    Continue reading
    NARS Cosmetics2017-05-27
  5. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Makeup Artist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NARS Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great products, nice brand message

    Cons

    Sales incentives sometimes not rewarded

    NARS Cosmetics2020-02-26
  6. "Great team leaders"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Freelance Makeup Artist 

    I have been working at NARS Cosmetics

    Pros

    They are very one on one with training and hands on.

    Cons

    I've have a pleasant experience

    NARS Cosmetics2019-04-23
  7. "A mess"

    2.0
    Former Freelancer - Freelance Makeup Artist in West Hollywood, CA

    I worked at NARS Cosmetics for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount meeting clients, friendly co workers

    Cons

    Management, hours, cleanliness in back

    Continue reading
    NARS Cosmetics2019-04-19
  8. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Freelance Makeup Artist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NARS Cosmetics for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great management, fair compensation, great work life balance

    Cons

    Hard to grow within company past a certain point

    NARS Cosmetics2018-10-19
  9. "Great company, small budget"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Freelance Makeup Artist in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NARS Cosmetics for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team and company to work for

    Cons

    Unfortunately due to budget cuts I only worked on average 12 hours a week.

    NARS Cosmetics2018-09-18
  10. "When something seems too good to be true"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Freelance Makeup Artist in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NARS Cosmetics for more than a year

    Pros

    Hands down best product line I've ever worked with, skincare line is above average as well, hands on experience with product line, and lots of time to connect with global artists and creative directors.

    Cons

    Complete disconnect between artists and counter sales people, NO FORMAL INTERVIEW, I met my account executive like probably one time, no training with product line, no training on techniques, pushed to drive sales but no reward for artists because we aren't given commission.

    Continue reading
    NARS Cosmetics2017-10-10
Found 15 reviews