NCSA Next College Student Athlete Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NCSA Next College Student Athlete Reviews

Updated 9 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
NCSA Next College Student Athlete President and COO Lisa Strasman
Lisa Strasman
174 Ratings
Pros
  • "Can work from home if you consistently hit numbers(in 52 reviews)

  • "It was very rewarding to help Student/Athletes and families prepare for a very exciting time in their lives(in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • "I believe the work/life balance has improved since my time(in 47 reviews)

  • "When I took my job as a 'Head Scout' at this company I could not have been more excited(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "most improved company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - company adapts fast to feedback from its employees - management actually listens and thoughtfully responds - changes are swift and impactful to the employees quality of life - getting better daily through a leadership team that works together well - the leadership has faith in their employee's capabilities - the leadership is always looking for new ways to better equip the staff - the leadership values the opinions and ideas of the staff very much - honoring those who came before you is a way of life at NCSA, it's great! - tenure and loyalty is rewarded heavily, the longer you're here, the more you're brought into the fold.

    Cons

    - some managers should not have been promoted to management and they have a tendency toward heavy-handedness and poor bedside manner. - employees who are learning and growing can be hurt by immature managers with poor people skills. - managers can be nice on monday and nasty on tuesday, it all depends on the sales numbers. -instead of managers figuring out better ways to develop their teams' skills, they can be very harsh and demoralizing.

    Continue reading
    NCSA Next College Student Athlete2020-03-25
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good first job out of college.

    Cons

    No real skill needed here. A lot of outbound calls. Not for you if youre looking to be involved in projects, etc.

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete2020-04-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Energetic and Self motivated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Recruiting Coach 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home, being able to make my own calendar, flexibility, mobile

    Cons

    Turning into something I w as snt hired to do.

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete2020-03-15
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company with Fantastic Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Support Lead in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have never worked at a company that has better support to it's employees. I have the ability to work from anywhere in the world as long as the work gets done, and they have the resources that i can work a phone based job with just an internet connection, computer, and headset. We offer the ability to volunteer on company time We believe in community and teamwork above all This is the first company that truly follows their core values

    Cons

    The job is stressful, but it's what i signed up for The only other bad thing i can think about is that because of everyone's desire to help a quick question often can turn into a full education. I've used the information most times, in the long run, but i was only looking for yes or no

    Continue reading
    NCSA Next College Student Athlete2020-02-18

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete Response

    February 25, 2020EVP of Customer Success

    Thank you for taking the time to review NCSA. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and visitors to our Glassdoor page. We’re glad to call you a teammate.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great People & Office Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great and the culture at the Chicago Office was great. Great sense of teamwork, and support from upper management to help you succeed. I was always happy with my managers. Dress code is casual which I liked. Relaxed office setting. Overall its a great company, especially if your looking for an entry sales job.

    Cons

    Not a ton of opportunity for continued growth within the company and really just the salary was pretty rough but honestly that's it.

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete2020-02-19

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete Response

    February 28, 2020VP of Recruiting Managers

    Thanks for taking the time to review NCSA. We appreciate your feedback. While I’m not sure when you left the company, I just want to highlight that we did increase the Recruiting Coordinator salary and adjust the overall compensation plan for those teammates late last year – all of which has been met with positive feedback. We hope you’re enjoying your new position and wish you the best of luck!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Starter Job and Nothing More"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Support Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - NCSA has a tendency to hire very fun and hardworking people - Opportunity to work within the Sporting world - Ability to pay for monthly gym fees

    Cons

    - Little opportunity for advancement - Dealing with escalated clients with little to no company support or training - Major disconnects between sales and operations departments - Pay is less than desired/deserved - Management Goals are unrealistic given tools and staffing levels for this department

    Continue reading
    NCSA Next College Student Athlete2020-03-01

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete Response

    March 11, 2020EVP of Customer Success

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We feel very strongly in providing support for the professional growth of our teammates. In the last two years, we have invested heavily in our internal training programs, and continue to expand and improve those programs. We have also promoted over 140 teammates to new roles within the company within the last year alone. Lastly, I agree that our best ideas often come from those closest to our customers and will remain committed to listening, learning, and implementing feedback from our teammates.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Consistency in Poor Work Quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Support Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very consistent role at NCSA, basic responsibilities are clear, ability to work remotely

    Cons

    Work on weekends (twice per month), Anti social coworkers, poor management, major tech support issues weekly, pay scale for this role hasn't increased in 8 years, bonuses is the big draw - but same individuals win each month and for the most part bonus goals are unrealistic. Quantity significantly overvalued quality in this role, in fact quality doesn't matter much at all. Sales team recruiting clients can be very scammy, and clients often feel they're forgotten about after getting enrolled. No career ladder.

    Continue reading
    NCSA Next College Student Athlete2020-03-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Rewarding work and fun company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a remote position. It was very rewarding to help Student/Athletes and families prepare for a very exciting time in their lives. NCSA's product lets you really be a consultant instead of a salesman. Many families contact NCSA for help and are already somewhat informed.

    Cons

    I believe the work/life balance has improved since my time. But, for years, we had no PTO and literally never took a day off. An extremely competitive environment led me to work every single day for over a year. M-F, saturdays, sundays etc. Literally 365. I believe this has improved, but I worry they don't care about employee turnover.

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete2020-01-08

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete Response

    January 21, 2020EVP of Recruiting

    Thanks for taking the time to review NCSA as a former employee, and thank you for your time helping families for so many years! We hope you’re very happy in your new position. And thanks for pointing out the work/life balance improvements. We continue to make this a priority and promise to continue to make improvements when and where possible. We’re very open about Recruiting Specialist hours and provide candidates with a realistic picture into the nights and weekends hours you have to work in order to meet with families, and hope these conversations lead to hiring the right people for such a unique and invaluable role at our company.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Changes always for the better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiting Coordinator & Mentor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Lots of flexibility on hours if you get your job done have tenure. -Laid back dress code, jeans are allowed on a daily basis. -Good amount of free food. -Can work from home if you consistently hit numbers. -Changes are made for the better based on employee feedback -Always good people working here that are like minded with former sports backgrounds. -The pay is good and gets better every year, takes time to work your way up commission scales and to hit your stride but once you do, you make more year over year. -Product is unmatched for recruiting services. -Really strong leadership at the top that makes changes for the better and lead by example. -Everyone received raises this year and some even bigger ones based on performance. -Always tons of resources to utilize to get more skilled and better at the RC role. -Culture legitimately feels like a winning locker room and there is little to no negativity which provides a winning team! -The competitive environment in the sales department creates a great atmosphere on a daily basis.

    Cons

    -Not a downside for me personally, but new people the learning curve is different for everyone, some people take off instantly, some it takes a little longer to hit their stride. -The phone system has issues a decent amount, not extended periods of time but just have to be patient sometimes. -Other than the few things I mentioned above it is a incredible place to work if you are a hard worker and listen to coaching the rest takes care of itself.

    Continue reading
    NCSA Next College Student Athlete2019-12-26

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete Response

    January 7, 2020VP of Recruiting Managers

    Thanks for sharing your feedback about our sales team and the inside sales role with potential future teammates. So glad to have you as part of our locker room.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Pretty decent some holes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NCSA Next College Student Athlete full-time

    Pros

    The company seems to listen and care, the pay is decent for being entry level. They also just gave a $5k base raise for 2020 so that's cool. Their is also a huge potential upside for comish. I could see myself getting good enough to make some dece' bank. The salesforce set up has alot of automation but also some annoying manual processes. Overall if you have a pulse and try you can probably succeed or at least coast here. *They are planning to implement a new salesforce UI in 2020. I will update the review when that happens*

    Cons

    The leads on the training team are kind of trash. Feel like I need to pick leads from the more senior folks to succeed. The goals seem like I have to work weekends 6 days a week to hit the targets. Haven't seen a saturday off in forever even tho the company claims it's "Not mandatory". They exert alot of pressure on you to work weekends. They are ethical and pay you ot for working the weekend though. They also have alot of pointless training and meetings that seem more like a chore than value. But what major corp doesn't have those meetings? They also have some weird propaganda stuff on the "Core" values. You can't change your desktop background from the 7 "Core" values. They also want you to wear flair buttons on your lanyard. They require you to wear your lanyard at all times while in the office. They call it a "Jersey".

    Continue reading
    NCSA Next College Student Athlete2019-12-05

    NCSA Next College Student Athlete Response

    January 7, 2020VP of Recruiting Managers

    I appreciate your honest feedback about our Recruiting Coordinator sales role. As you know, we also just rolled out a very extensive career path for our Recruiting Coordinators. So, if you%E2%80%99re unhappy with the lead quality on the training team, I encourage you to stick it out and know that things will get better very soon. And please, ask for more coaching on how to approach the leads you are receiving so that you can see the potential there. I also want to add that every meeting or training we schedule for our Recruiting Coordinators is for your benefit. We realize these things take you away from being on the phone and talking to families, so we wouldn%E2%80%99t do that if we didn%E2%80%99t think it would help you in the long run. If you want to talk about anything further, please come see me any time. Finally, to anyone reading this response, I just want to mention we do value our sports-oriented culture and hope anyone who joins our team enjoys it as well, which includes wearing our jersey, celebrating our wins (%E2%80%9Cflair%E2%80%9D pins), and remembering our team motto (core values).

    Continue reading
Found 331 reviews