NHS Blood and Transplant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NHS Blood and Transplant Reviews

Updated 13 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
NHS Blood and Transplant CEO Betsy Bassis
Betsy Bassis
4 Ratings
  1. "Always helpful and efficient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in Sheffield, England

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have always found the recruitment department to be efficient, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say about the recruitment department

    Advice to Management

    Use their knowledge and expertise.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-09-13
  2. "Supportive and Development Focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Nurse in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Career progression, Development, Caring, Supportive

    Cons

    Lone working, National Travel,

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-09-12
  3. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Medical Laboratory Assistant 

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team to work with.

    Cons

    Management is not great.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-09-08

    NHS Blood and Transplant Response

    September 11, 2019

    Thank you for your review, it's good to know you are working with a good team but disappointing that you feel that management is not great and would be interested to learn more about your concerns in this respect. We take very seriously any negative comments and will always endeavour ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great team, excellent recruitment process, love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Donor Carer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are not afraid of long hours (approx 9.5 - 11 hour days), thrive on working as a team, and genuinely care about people then this is the job for you. The training you receive is second to none to become a donor carer as long as you are a self-starter and use your own initiative to get on. The teams are really supportive and the supervisors, training supervisors, nurses and other dc’s are superb.... Recruitment process was fantastic, very supportive and kept me up to date regularly on how my application and referencing was progressing, Be aware that background checks are thorough based on what you will be doing. Total package is good - very good pension, holiday allowance, and overtime is paid for if your shifts over-run. Opportunity to get on if you want to and have the right can-do attitude

    Show More

    Cons

    If you are squeamish of blood then probably not the job for you. If you are not a people person then you may find this role difficult as it is all about looking after every donor coming through the door, The role can involve you working weekdays and weekends, early starts (7am) and late finishes (after 10pm) so you need to be flexible.

    Advice to Management

    Be more present with your teams and listen to what they are saying, make them feel supported and empowered - they have the answers to many of your issues.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-07-25
  5. "Senior strategic communicator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Head of Marketing and Communications 

    I worked at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people nice customers to work with

    Cons

    Poor performers tolerated need to get rid

    Advice to Management

    Manage people harder. Be brave

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-07-31
  6. "No wonder the NHS is stuffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pension. A few nice people.

    Cons

    A terrible "institution" feel to the place, populated mainly by incompetent "institutionalised" idiots. Managers that have no clue and some staff with even less of a clue. A very restrictive working environment that kills innovation, progression and (ironically) quality. Most staff are literally just holding out (with as little effort as possible) for either death or retirement. Some have succumbed to the first... and no one has even noticed. The NHS will fail due to the numpties that work in places like this. Avoid.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None, you don't listen anyway. You should be ashamed of your complicity in the shambles around you.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-07-25

    NHS Blood and Transplant Response

    July 29, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on NHSBT. We are disappointed to read your comments as this is not the sort of feedback we normally receive about NHSBT, its managers or our colleagues. All members of staff who are leaving NHSBT have a leavers questionnaire to complete, ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great team and management with lots of opportunity for development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Advisor in Sheffield, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A really friendly and progressive environment to work in, that is aided by supportive management who take the time to listen. I've experienced lots of opportunity for professional development since working at NHSBT, and feel like a valued member of the team. No two days are the same, as the role is busy and challenging but in a good way. There are great perks such as flexible working and high annual leave allowance,... which makes for a good work-life balance. Moving to NHSBT was one of the best decisions I've made.

    Show More

    Cons

    The pay is lower than working in the private sector, however this is easily outweighed by the good work-life balance, pension and feel-good factor you get from working for the NHS.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-06-10
  8. "Rewarding job and great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Its great to work for an organisation that does so much support the wider NHS and helps 'save and improve' patients lives. I came here for 2 years but 11 years later I am still enjoying the challenges and the job satisfaction. I have worked with some great managers and colleagues who really care about what we do. Many of my colleagues could earn more in the private sector but they prefer to stay here... because they feel strongly about the work we do and because of the work life balance / flexible working options. As NHSBT has many facets to what it does there are also opportunities to move around within the organisation and I have had lots of opportunities to be involved in different projects.

    Show More

    Cons

    As a large organisation spread across may sites it can be challenging to makes changes to our IT infrastructure but this is moving forward

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-06-05
  9. "Great team, great managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Advisor in Sheffield, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly, supportive, flexible, busy, challenging in a good way

    Cons

    Salary may not be as much as you can expect in the public sector but there's a lot of pros to working in NHSBT such a flexible working, good pension, opportunity to progress within the business

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-06-03
  10. "Nice job but only short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Planner in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good sense of being part of a team Well supported by management Job sanctification knowing you are helping people

    Cons

    Very poorly paid and undervalued within the organisation We covered a lot more work and areas than paid for Often short staffed due to a high turn over

    Advice to Management

    Pay staff for the work they do and allow them a chance to shape the way the service runs

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-04-24
Found 39 reviews