NHS Blood and Transplant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NHS Blood and Transplant Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
NHS Blood and Transplant CEO Betsy Bassis
Betsy Bassis
5 Ratings
  1. "Positive & supportive workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A 
    Recommends

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time

    Pros

    Each day is interesting and varying. Colleagues are both motivating and lovely to work with.

    Cons

    Not much socialising between departments.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-10-11
  2. "It was ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Healthcare Technical Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive, Respectful, Communication, Technical competency, Problem solving

    Cons

    Hard to move up Work ethic Flexibility Willing to learn

    Advice to Management

    Get staff more involved in development

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-10-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some decent people. Nice offices.

    Cons

    There are many great NHS organisations -this is not one of them. Favouritism, cliques and poor management are rife here. The workload can be impossible and you are expected to work unpaid overtime to complete things. Management are unapproachable and don’t seem to care if you have a problem any way. I thought working in the NHS I would feel like a person and not a number but unfortunately this is not the case. There... is also very little opportunity to progress unless you are willing to relocate.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff like humans, not replaceable commodities.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-10-09
  4. "Great Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I work with the best team I've ever worked with and have very supportive and encouraging managers.

    Cons

    The salary isn't as good as when I worked in the private sector.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-09-23
  5. "Always helpful and efficient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in Sheffield, England

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have always found the recruitment department to be efficient, knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say about the recruitment department

    Advice to Management

    Use their knowledge and expertise.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-09-13
  6. "Supportive and Development Focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Nurse in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Career progression, Development, Caring, Supportive

    Cons

    Lone working, National Travel,

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-09-12
  7. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Medical Laboratory Assistant 

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good team to work with.

    Cons

    Management is not great.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-09-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great team, excellent recruitment process, love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Donor Carer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Blood and Transplant part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are not afraid of long hours (approx 9.5 - 11 hour days), thrive on working as a team, and genuinely care about people then this is the job for you. The training you receive is second to none to become a donor carer as long as you are a self-starter and use your own initiative to get on. The teams are really supportive and the supervisors, training supervisors, nurses and other dc’s are superb.... Recruitment process was fantastic, very supportive and kept me up to date regularly on how my application and referencing was progressing, Be aware that background checks are thorough based on what you will be doing. Total package is good - very good pension, holiday allowance, and overtime is paid for if your shifts over-run. Opportunity to get on if you want to and have the right can-do attitude

    Show More

    Cons

    If you are squeamish of blood then probably not the job for you. If you are not a people person then you may find this role difficult as it is all about looking after every donor coming through the door, The role can involve you working weekdays and weekends, early starts (7am) and late finishes (after 10pm) so you need to be flexible.

    Advice to Management

    Be more present with your teams and listen to what they are saying, make them feel supported and empowered - they have the answers to many of your issues.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-07-25
  9. "Senior strategic communicator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Head of Marketing and Communications 

    I worked at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people nice customers to work with

    Cons

    Poor performers tolerated need to get rid

    Advice to Management

    Manage people harder. Be brave

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-07-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "No wonder the NHS is stuffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NHS Blood and Transplant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pension. A few nice people.

    Cons

    A terrible "institution" feel to the place, populated mainly by incompetent "institutionalised" idiots. Managers that have no clue and some staff with even less of a clue. A very restrictive working environment that kills innovation, progression and (ironically) quality. Most staff are literally just holding out (with as little effort as possible) for either death or retirement. Some have succumbed to the first... and no one has even noticed. The NHS will fail due to the numpties that work in places like this. Avoid.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None, you don't listen anyway. You should be ashamed of your complicity in the shambles around you.

    NHS Blood and Transplant2019-07-25
Found 43 reviews