NHS Digital Reviews

Updated 28 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 129 of over 145 reviews

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
NHS Digital CEO Sarah Wilkinson (no image)
Sarah Wilkinson
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working - work from home 2-3 days a week if you get the right manager(in 16 reviews)

  • "Flexibility, work life balance, pay(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Too many senior management staff with unhelpful "I've been here along time, so I know best" attitudes(in 5 reviews)

  • "lack of career progression and pay(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great work life balance

      16 May 2021 - Senior Data Manager in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Managers are understandable and open to flexible working

      Cons

      NHS pay bands keeps you comfortable at a particular grate with little financial motivation for progression

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A jewel in the crown of the NHS

      30 Dec 2020 - Project Manager in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Incredibly interesting work and lots of really great people to work with, Salt of the earth staff. Technically sophisticated platforms (and some complex legacy of course), good tooling, great training opportunities, strong exec leadership. The organisation made a huge difference during the pandemic and I felt massively proud to be part of it.

      Cons

      Lots of politics, not internally but with peer organisations in the NHS. Constant issues with NHSX which is an organisation that seems to have very little skill and capability but wield lots of political power. NHSE staff generally treat NHSD staff in a very derogatory way - they like to bark commands whilst providing pitiful levels of vision and clarity about what they're actually trying to do with a service or what their policy is. Lots of frustration in general in what programs are trying to achieve and lots of politics and bureaucracy that frustrates progress (much less so in 2020, but I think I'm already seeing it creep back in).

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Love working here

      14 May 2021 - Higher Information Analyst in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing personal development support, if you want to move team to experience something new they will try and accommodate it. Very receptive of mental health needs and supportive around taking breaks, flexible working and so on.

      Cons

      Honestly can't think of any. Some archaic work practices but that is changing and has changed in a lot of places. Some systems aren't easy to use, which is being worked on.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Temporary role was just good, management very poor

      15 Feb 2021 - Administrator in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Kind and friendly junior team members - Supported by senior staff in remote working - Friendly interview - Easy work - Flexi time - Good pay for junior roles

      Cons

      - Predominately data entry - Not intellectually stimulating - Not rewarding - Unprofessional management This role was postponed for over three months due to COVID and I was completely ghosted throughout this period. Even after contacting them frequently, I was never responded to. When I finally started the role I only had two months to work as I was moving abroad. I made this clear. When I handed in my notice, I was met with an unprofessional, angry and unkind response. I was truly shocked and made to feel as if I had deceived them. It was clear I had not been listened to. I was told ‘I would never get a job when I returned to England’ and that I was ‘making a stupid mistake’. I was also asked personal questions about what would happen to my relationship while I was abroad. Further to this, my notice period was abruptly cut short and I lost a weeks pay. What was meant to be a temporary project role developed into months of stress, invasive comments from management and only a months pay. I once heard fantastic things about working at NHS Digital, I really wanted to enjoy this role. However, after this disappointing and bizarre experience, I was glad to be moving on.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      NHSD

      24 May 2021 - Associate Content Designer in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance Good salary compared to other content designer positions, especially in Government

      Cons

      Not diverse Mostly white, cis, middle class men in senior positions Senior positions don't seem to be advertised and just end up being filled by random white, cis, middle class men Big gender pay gap Senior management come to work for NHSD for a year and then leave, not implementing any real change Company is Leeds based so other office locations are lacking an HR department

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      A really great place to work

      7 Feb 2021 - Project Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Does amazing work and this was really clear during the pandemic. Great senior leadership, especially CEO. Great commitment from everyone. Really good product design and UX and good vision for digital products for citizens. Also good platforms. Spine team and citizen health tech team especially strong.

      Cons

      Really poor HR department. Pay was wrong twice. Had an issue with performance management of one person in my team and they didn’t help or actually care. But that is out of whack with the rest of the place because my experience was that generally people were really good from the top of the organisation to the bottom. I left because we are relocating but I would definitely work there again.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Placement

      13 May 2021 - Junior Finance Assistant in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free training Colleagues support Good Salary

      Cons

      No Cons as everything was good at Placement year

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      13 May 2021 - Product Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ways of working is good.

      Cons

      none, has been good so far. . . . . .

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Excellent employer

      23 Mar 2021 - Team Leader in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good organisation to be proud of. Great projects and helpful people. Good management take good time to explain things and also very kind. Lots and lots of training so many courses online and masterclasses in person. Big development opportunity

      Cons

      Politics but not inside NHSD more outside. Really not many down sides just a very good organisation. Sometime lots of hours but the work is interesting so I don't mind.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Not bad

      28 May 2021 - Software Developer in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to work on things that matter.

      Cons

      Priorities change at the whims of the Government. Pay.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 129 Reviews

    Popular Careers with NHS Digital Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at NHS Digital? Share Your Experiences

    NHS Digital logo
    or