NHS General Practitioner Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NHS General Practitioner Reviews

Updated 10 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
NHS CEO Simon Stevens
Simon Stevens
5 Ratings
  1. "great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - General Practitioner 

    I have been working at NHS

    Pros

    fantastic environment great people empathy

    Cons

    hard work pressures waiting times

    NHS2019-11-10
  2. "Hardwork but a great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - General Practitioner in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS for more than a year

    Pros

    Patient continuity, wide variety of pathology and flexibility of career

    Cons

    Administrative work, long hours, relatively poor pay

    NHS2019-08-22
  3. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Practitioner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, pleasant practice

    Cons

    Unsustainable pressures of nhs, overtime

    NHS2019-06-30
  4. "It has its moments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Practitioner in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very rewarding, excellent team of people, interesting job, always learning new things, sociable

    Cons

    Very stressful, often low job satisfaction, very long hours, rarely get breaks, poor work life balance

    NHS2019-03-18
  5. "NHS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Practitioner in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pension is reliable and good

    Cons

    Unsafe, overworked, not valued, nonspcial life

    Advice to Management

    Unsafe, not valued

    NHS2019-02-26
  6. "Why we should protect the NHS at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Practitioner in Weymouth, England
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Healthcare free to all at the point of delivery is an asset the rest of the world looks on with envy

    Cons

    No-one has the political will to tackle the problem that a tax payer funded healthcare system has to have some form of rationing to agree what can be afforded free at the point of delivery

    Advice to Management

    Value what we have in the NHS and don't throw it away because you can't work out how to tackle issues around saying we cannot afford everything. Nowhere does it better

    NHS2018-03-27
  7. "Be kind to your GP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General Practitioner in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NHS for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will feel like you are making a difference some times. The pay of a junior doctor is good, but not worth the stress in my opinion.

    Cons

    Burnout, being tired all the time, complete and utter empathy fatigue. Getting up in the morning seems like too much work.

    Advice to Management

    Fund the system properly, stop selling it off to private companies who value the work force even less than the current lot.

    NHS2017-05-15
  8. "Dr Weir, marfleet Group Practice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Practitioner in Hull, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NHS part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent team support and friendly environment

    Cons

    nothing much to say really

    Advice to Management

    Continue current atmosphere

    NHS2017-03-31
  9. "GP partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General Practitioner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NHS

    Pros

    Flexible working patterns Good earning potentia OOH work available as well

    Cons

    Workload can be unrealistic MDU costs and potential complaints - often not supported by employers

    Advice to Management

    Be more supportive in dealing with complaints More aggressive recruitment and less reliance on locum staff

    NHS2017-02-08
  10. "GP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General Practitioner in Stockton-on-Tees, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NHS

    Pros

    One of the best pensions given.

    Cons

    Too stressful-workload unmanageable-only 10 mins per patient average allowed. Over-regulation.

    Advice to Management

    At least one GP needs to be on the GMC Board in Hearings. GMC should be fair in Hearings rather than act as Prosecutor. Manage workload.

    NHS2015-09-05
Found 11 reviews