NHS Health Care Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NHS Health Care Assistant Reviews

Updated 21 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
NHS CEO Simon Stevens
Simon Stevens
7 Ratings
  1. "Enjoy working in the NHS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Assistant in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good benefits Great Team Friendly staff Enjoy my job

    Cons

    Long hours Not enough parking onsite

    Advice to Management

    None.

    NHS2019-03-22
  2. "Could improve a bit."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Assistant in Redditch, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent staff, facilities are pretty good.

    Cons

    Old equipments, understaffed, underpaid for the job done,

    Advice to Management

    Increase the salaries to the permanent staff and hire some more, so there is no need to pay loads of monies to agencies!

    NHS2019-05-22
  3. "Working for nhs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Assistant in Romford, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with are very helpful and the job can be rewarding

    Cons

    Long hours unfortunately but you don’t have to work 5 days a week

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    NHS2019-04-05
  4. "Awful place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Care Assistant in Huddersfield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NHS part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None terrible place Don't go there

    Cons

    Terrible place to work Don't go there

    Advice to Management

    Replace all horrible people

    NHS2019-04-01
  5. "Stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Assistant in Wythenshawe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with amazing talented caring people Working in difficult situations and getting the support after. Being able to be apart of things that are special and not everyone can say oh I’ve witnessed that

    Cons

    The money is rubbish not just as a healthcare but as a general. For the workload and the stressful environment and situations life or death it’s shocking what we are paid the hour. No abilities to progress in your job role they offer you the world in your interview but don’t fall for it because it will never ever happen I’ve been a band 2 for 6 years and I’m leaving due to lack of progression.

    Advice to Management

    Make your band 2 something more don’t let them leave and look for something else we know the nhs has no money but can there no be other ways to help those that want to progress.

    NHS2018-06-19
  6. "healthcare assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    working in a conducive environment with good colleagues

    Cons

    not able to finish work ontime

    Advice to Management

    time keeping

    NHS2018-01-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Worked as a mental health health care assistant and loved the role as it meant helping vulnerable members of society"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - NHS Health Care Assistant in Ashford, Kent, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NHS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job satisfaction that you are helping vulnerable members of society to live as independently as possible

    Cons

    Long hours, abuse, little backing from senior members of staff, inadequate training due to lack of funding. Language barrier causes frustration and a Gressingham between foreign members of staff and clients.

    Advice to Management

    Train staff properly and back them up more when there's a problem, filter non English speaking staff to other roles away from confused and aggressive clients, this is not racism this is common sense and would benefit clients and members of staff too.

    NHS2017-11-03
  8. "think again before you apply!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Assistant in Doncaster, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    some of the patients are lovely

    Cons

    clueless management, shocking pay and expected to do the job of 3 people

    Advice to Management

    stop chasing financial targets and have a look at the state of your staff's mental health

    NHS2017-02-16
  9. "Best job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - NHS Health Care Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS part-time

    Pros

    The staff while pushed off their feet are always up beat and ready for anything. I have never had a job with this much satisfaction.

    Cons

    I don't believe there are any cons but if you don't like working long hours or people this really is not the job for you. The are always chances to move up and develop. This is a basic requirement so if your not interested, the don't bother that.

    Advice to Management

    The staff where I work are fantastic. The management staff work as hard as they can with what they have. If there was anything that should be improved, it would be that the management take more note of what the floor staff have to say.

    NHS2017-01-07
  10. "Struggling To survive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - NHS Health Care Assistant in Portsmouth, South East England, England

    I have been working at NHS

    Pros

    Sickness pay, pension. Good team of hard workers

    Cons

    No support from management. NHS struggling.

    Advice to Management

    Support and appreciate your staff for the hard work they do.

    NHS2016-10-03
Found 17 reviews