NHS Medical Secretary Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NHS Medical Secretary Reviews

Updated 26 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
NHS CEO Simon Stevens
Simon Stevens
1 Ratings
  1. "Best Job I Have Ever Had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Secretary in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I absolutely love working with medical terminology, booking surgery for patients and learning about surgery.

    Cons

    Not enough operating theatres, but not enough money to build more/staff them.

    Advice to Management

    Before you change things talk to staff.

    NHS2019-04-09
  2. "Understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Secretary 

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pension, discounts to services and restaurants

    Cons

    Understaffed and over worked

    NHS2019-06-26
  3. "Medical Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Secretary in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NHS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    rewarding job and room for progression

    Cons

    No perks at all but thats the NHS

    NHS2019-05-19
  4. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Secretary in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible working, variety of duties.

    Cons

    Very bogged down in old fashioned systems

    NHS2019-03-17
  5. "Medical Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Secretary in Colchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NHS part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pension and working conditions

    Cons

    Too many managers who don’t care about their staff and any problems get swept under the carpet

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff

    NHS2018-09-16
  6. "Medical Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Secretary in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A friendly place to work Good annual leave

    Cons

    Too much work load Short staffed Not appreciated Low paid wage

    Advice to Management

    Staff to be treated fairly and respected Not enough supported

    NHS2018-09-10
  7. "Apprentice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Secretary 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In some departments it is better.

    Cons

    i wouldn't recommend being an apprentice for the NHS. They just use you as cheap labour because they haven't got enough staff. They dont teach you the job or assist you in completing your coursework they simply use you to do all the running around jobs they dont want to do for cheap.

    NHS2018-08-22
  8. "NHS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Secretary in Hampstead, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NHS part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Work as part of a team - Develop administrative skills

    Cons

    - Employed by agency for entire time

    NHS2018-02-21
  9. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Secretary in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NHS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some managers are good, depends on the department you're in. You do get a decent amount of annual leave, which you need!

    Cons

    Pay is not great and too much is expected of staff. Many are overworked and underpaid. Listen to your staff, all of your staff. Without the back office staff things would be a lot worse.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staf

    NHS2018-02-11
  10. "Medical Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Secretary in Paddington, England

    I worked at NHS part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice staff and colleagues, demanding work if you enjoy keeping busy. Good pension scheme.

    Cons

    Admin staff not taken seriously or listened too. Your position often unstable due to cuts and merges. Not able to further career due to lack of positions available.

    Advice to Management

    Treat admin staff with more respect

    NHS2017-11-16
Found 11 reviews