NHS Physiotherapist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Physiotherapist

NHS Physiotherapist Reviews

Updated 15 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
NHS CEO Simon Stevens
Simon Stevens
3 Ratings
  1. "Dreadful. Would not recommend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physiotherapist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NHS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Thorough recruitment process. When it comes to emergency care standards are good.

    Cons

    Not enough time to treat patient's effectively. Unsupportive and high pressure environment.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff feedback

    NHS2017-07-30
  2. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physiotherapist in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS for less than a year

    Pros

    Teamwork is really good in NHS and excellent patient care seen

    Cons

    The management is not very supportive.

    NHS2017-04-18
  3. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physiotherapist in Newcastle under Lyme, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NHS

    Pros

    Good team work and get good pension, holiday and working hours

    Cons

    Too short staffed in current job climate

    NHS2016-10-09
  4. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physiotherapist in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS

    Pros

    This job is ok I have no problem with anyone and everything is good for the time I have been there

    Cons

    There are not really any cons for this job, I can not complain at all its not bad at all

    NHS2016-06-01
  5. "I have to spend my own money to be able to do my job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physiotherapist in Havant, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS part-time

    Pros

    There is satisfaction in helping those who cannot help themselves.

    Cons

    If you go on a course you have to pay for your own accomdation even if the course is mandatory. They look for every opportunity to pay you less than you are owed, For example the petrol allowance for using your own car to work is set up in such a that you do not get back the miles you have travelled. You are not appreciated by your employer ie the Government. You will be expeced to do more and more with no appropraite...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop making changes all the time it is completely demoralising.

    NHS2015-05-08
  6. "physiotherapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physiotherapist 

    I have been working at NHS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong team support and peer learning from other physios. I feel well supported through supervision from other seniors. clear hierarchy so I am aware of how to escalate concerns and issues.

    Cons

    poor pay especially oncall pay. frustrating as there are not enough community services to discharge patients to meaning delays in discharges and unnecessary long length of stays for patients, especially elderly which put them at risk of chest infections etc. Standard career progression for all. No recognition of individual achievement.

    Advice to Management

    Sort out social care to make it easier to discharge patients into the community Need to recognise individual achievements with a pay review based on achievements

    NHS2015-05-06
  7. "Guaranteed pa, that all..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Physiotherapist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NHS

    Pros

    Guaranteed pay and employment means no worry. Theoretically a guaranteed pension payable by the british government

    Cons

    Poor pay and no bonus system so there is little point excelling. Excelling at your job does not make promotion likely, more if you are a bureaucrat. Lack of useful training for career advancement. Most training is Politically correct crap that covers the governments ass with health and safety etc!

    Advice to Management

    Don't just do what the government asks to gain promotion, do things to benefit the patients and your staff. The NHS has staff that are motivated to patients, but couldn't care for the majority of management. My last manager was certainly one who did a great job, but many before had been useless puppets.

    NHS2009-02-28
  8. "Waste of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outpatient Therapist in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at NHS part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -can make your own hours from 8am-8pm

    Cons

    -fee for service, over half of your clients will cancel,most with zero notice -minimum of 10 hours billable time (aka expect to sit in an office for 20 hours prepping,doing service notes,treatment plans,your schedule, missed appointment letters etc and not getting paid for it) -no supplies were provided, there's a box of useless things in each office -no separate restrooms for employees, awkward walking in and seeing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of fee for service. Every therapist I talked to would have gathered a pay cut to be paid every office hour over a higher rate per hour that the client actually shows up to.

    NHS2017-03-30
Found 18 reviews