NHS Registered Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NHS Registered Nurse Reviews

Updated 26 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
NHS CEO Simon Stevens
Simon Stevens
11 Ratings
  1. "Guy's and st Thomas Hospital - Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in London, England

    I worked at NHS part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    One of the best run hospital I have worked in after 20 years in the NHS

    Cons

    Big and thus change can be slow

    NHS2019-12-17
  2. "Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Patient contact, communication, supporting people

    Cons

    Busy, short staffed, a lot of workload

    NHS2019-11-25
  3. "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job security , skills , loyalty , team work Privilege

    Cons

    Short staffed .Salary , workload , no supervision , no support , not being able to facilitate patients

    Advice to Management

    Too many managers . Too little care

    NHS2019-12-26
  4. "Nhs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Glasgow, Scotland

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Stable job Team work Achievement Good working environment Caring

    Cons

    Long hours Unhappy patients Shifts Pay Workload Documentation It systems

    NHS2019-11-14
  5. "Dedicated ex army veteran now a mental health nurse looking after people mental health is my pleasure."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Mental Health Nurse in Dudley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hard working, team player, experience, likeable.

    Cons

    Poor delegation techniques at times. Ends up doing too much by myself.

    Advice to Management

    Please consider my application you will not be let down. A vast amount of experience to share with the team. Working in a wide range of disciplines.

    NHS2019-11-08
  6. "Nhs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse 
    Recommends

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Reliable contracts and safe job positions. Also has good optional pension scheme and good holidays allowance.

    Cons

    Shift hours, short staff all time, be obligated to work in areas we necer worked before to cover staffing. Also, management of hospitals where I worked are quite poor.

    NHS2019-10-22
  7. "Staff nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Liverpool, England

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Job satisfaction seeing a smile on the patients face

    Cons

    Red tape politics pressure management

    Advice to Management

    None

    NHS2019-08-31
  8. "Decent For start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Shepherds Bush, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of learning opportunities, and responsibilities

    Cons

    Long hours and back to back shifts, can be strenuous

    NHS2019-09-06
  9. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Cambridge, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career growth support. Good induction. Yearly salary increment.

    Cons

    Often short of staff. Stressful environment. Low wage for high responsibilities.

    NHS2019-08-21
  10. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 

    I have been working at NHS full-time

    Pros

    Good pension scheme given to us

    Cons

    Not always felt as valued

    NHS2019-07-21
Found 36 reviews