NHS Reviews

Updated 6 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
NHS CEO Simon Stevens
Simon Stevens
487 Ratings
  1. "great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great place to work loved it

    Cons

    there are no cons to working here

    Continue reading
    NHS2020-05-21
  2. "Mostly good things ..."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Psychologist in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job security Very good work life balance Benefits such as discounts in retail etc. Equal pay for all (based on the NHS banding system)

    Cons

    IT systems are slow and outdated Low pay but understandable as its public sector

    NHS2020-05-21
  3. "Good to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Social benefit; interesting work; lots of opportunities

    Cons

    Hard to leave and get jobs in other sectors

    NHS2020-05-20
  4. "Only apply if you know gp work inside out and no medical issues !"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Doormat in Durham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NHS part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some friendly members of staff, good effective work meeting the needs of a large client/ patient base .

    Cons

    Does not meet the needs of a employee with mental health and physical needs, cannot remove barriers . Refuses to do research on the condition effecting that person. To aid there work can’t follow the DDA . Makes you feel anxious and guilty pushes 2:1 meetings of performance even when not fully inducted. Blind sided by numbers and is willing to infringe good practice . Top down management style authoritarian. No transactional leadership as far as I could see. Has put me off working in this environment.

    Continue reading
    NHS2020-06-04
  5. "NHS review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - contact tracer in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NHS full-time

    Pros

    good health , great decor, clean and friendly, view was great..

    Cons

    Bad food, decor rather samey, car parking could be improved...

    NHS2020-05-20
  6. "Be part of the largest health care provider in the U.K."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Mental Health Nurse in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NHS full-time

    Pros

    Great team working with ongoing training supporting your role as a nurse. Salary is increased the longer you are an employee as does annual leave. Have benefits such as the ‘cycle to work’ scheme and the lease hire of a brand new car without paying taxes. Opportunity for further training and overtime.

    Cons

    12.5hr shifts are not for everyone. You will have to provide your own attire and meals but can claim back tax on your work wear. Difficult environment working with service users who have mental health struggles.

    Continue reading
    NHS2020-05-20
  7. "NHS culture"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Euston, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    NHS is a strong brand to have on your CV

    Cons

    It's a thick glass ceiling for educated minorities. Lots of us with masters degrees and with capacity to do more on strategic levels but we are not trusted or seen to be suitable. Interviews should never be based on oratory skills but pedigree, academic qualifications, psychometric, years of experience

    Continue reading
    NHS2020-06-03
  8. "National Health Service"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Medical Doctor in Leicester, England

    I have been working at NHS full-time

    Pros

    Well respected, good team, good environment

    Cons

    Pay can be not as much as private sector.

    NHS2020-06-03
  9. "Great job"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Manager in Guildford, England

    I have been working at NHS full-time

    Pros

    Pension Stability Team are all good

    Cons

    Long hours of work Pay could be better

    NHS2020-05-18
  10. "Good people but short of staff"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time

    Pros

    Mission to improve patient care. Great colleagues. Hard working

    Cons

    Fragmented systems, poor communication. Very difficult stakeholders. High turn over of staff, mistrust to IT / not investing IT Normally outsourced. Heavy workload

    NHS2020-06-03
Found 2415 reviews
</>Embed