NHS Shared Business Services Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NHS Shared Business Services Reviews

Updated 18 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
44%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
NHS Shared Business Services CEO  John Neilson (no image)
John Neilson
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free parking, free coffee, good banter(in 12 reviews)

  • "Clear strategy & passion to support the NHS(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "This will be ignored by the management team, I have witnessed this happen in the past with other employees who have left comments on this site(in 8 reviews)

  • "The workload, the stupid changes implemented by senior management without thinking about the implications on the payroll officers(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "What a place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Specialist in Salford, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NHS Shared Business Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything is positive, friendly, supportive

    Cons

    Can't think of any at all, I have never worked at an organisation that cares/cared for me so much

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing cause your brilliant.

    NHS Shared Business Services2019-11-03
  2. "Family feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PMO in Leeds, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at NHS Shared Business Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is a Great place to work.

    Cons

    Roles advertised internally when they already know who will be hired.

    NHS Shared Business Services2019-12-19
  3. "Mehhh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Processor in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NHS Shared Business Services full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working Some genuinely nice people in their. In house training

    Cons

    Too Many.. favouritism Supervisor slagging you off whilst your sat arms reach away. Some teams running on less than half the staff needed for months on end and overworked Personal information being talked about in the office with other workers

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your staff don't section yourself off like the untouchables in the corner. Stop giving a blind eye to bullying and prejudice just because your pals or family of the perpetrators.

    NHS Shared Business Services2019-11-19
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Shared Business Services full-time

    Pros

    Clear strategy & passion to support the NHS. Great people!

    Cons

    Not much to add really.

    NHS Shared Business Services2019-09-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Work life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buyer in Salford, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at NHS Shared Business Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can’t think of anything

    Cons

    Poor management and misleading new employers in regards to role

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your staff

    NHS Shared Business Services2019-10-09
  6. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Development Advisor 

    I have been working at NHS Shared Business Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance and job security

    Cons

    Salary is low for the job requirements

    NHS Shared Business Services2019-08-19
  7. "Personal Injury Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NHS Shared Business Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Large amount of responsibility and opportunity

    Cons

    Different office culture/lack of socials

    NHS Shared Business Services2019-08-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "management ruin the place for everyone else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Input Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Shared Business Services part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Colleagues are nice Flexi time is good

    Cons

    Management are 2 faced liars Work cliques The office itself is a dump Communication is rubbish Management are rude inconsiderate bullies

    Advice to Management

    Look at your own insecurities before you project them onto others and also don't lie and say you will do things when no you won't.

    NHS Shared Business Services2019-08-27
  9. "Mostly good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Payroll Clerk in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS Shared Business Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people, close to shops and transport, flexible working

    Cons

    takes a long time for information to be shared.

    Advice to Management

    Follow up

    NHS Shared Business Services2019-07-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "The worst place I have ever worked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable in Saint Asaph, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NHS Shared Business Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Your colleagues (minus management) made it bearable.

    Cons

    There aren’t many things I can say I like about this place. The only plus was being able to leave at the end of the day. The management are constantly watching you like crows, almost as if they’re waiting for you to mess up. It’s hard to work when you constantly have eyes burning into the back of your head. God forbid you leave for desk for lunch 2 minutes before the end of the “core hours” I.e. leaving at 11:58 instead of 12. If you do, you’ll be handed a copy of the policy and reminded that “someone’s always watching.” You can talk to your colleagues, but make sure it’s for 2 minutes or less or the managers will be on your case. It’s funny, however, that the managers can can sit and talk to each other for however long they wish. When the job is as tedious at it is, it’s nice to be able to talk to your colleagues. The job itself is tiring, repetitive and mind-numbing. You are expected to input no less than 200 invoices a day using systems that are dated and in need of a upgrade. It is monotonous. The managers do not care about the DI team, nor do the officers. They will openly criticise you in front of their colleagues. If you are to make a mistake, which is expected since you have to remember a million and one things, they will chat about it loudly so the entire office hears. The job is not worth the shoddy pay that you get. You are worth more than a dead end, brain dead job like this one.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management need a whole restructure. Bring in happier, more cheerful managers and team leaders that will actually care about their staff.

    NHS Shared Business Services2019-08-08
Found 73 reviews