NHS Staff Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NHS Staff Nurse Reviews

Updated 25 Aug 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
NHS CEO Simon Stevens
Simon Stevens
5 Ratings
  1. "cardio ICU primarily"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse in Whitley Bay, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    huge experience wit variety of equipments related only to ITU environment, dealing with emergencies, working in a high stress level environment, mentoring students and novicies

    Cons

    constant shortage of staff which adds to increased stress level which by the nature of job is already very high .

    NHS2015-10-04
  2. "staff nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Patient contact working with dedicated staff.

    Cons

    very busy unable to spend a lot of time with patients

    Advice to Management

    treat staff with respect and not a commodity,

    NHS2018-08-25
  3. "Plagued by staff shortages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    generally good working conditions flexible shift patterns if required feel good factor nhs discount

    Cons

    staff shortages make doing a good job difficult lack of positive feedback

    Advice to Management

    work on recruiting and retaining staff to address shortages give positive feedback

    NHS2018-03-26
  4. "Staff nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good holidays, sick pay and pension

    Cons

    Pressure of work, little choice in shift patterns

    Advice to Management

    Hmmm

    NHS2018-02-23
  5. "Mental health nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job security, nhs pension, shift pattern is good for me, the people I work with are supportive and good to vent with over frustrations.

    Cons

    Short staffing numbers, highly stressful with high burnout rates, low salary for responsibilities. Don't feel valued a lot of the time.

    NHS2018-02-20
  6. "poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    can have flexible working hours

    Cons

    managers are like placing their staff in ward like headless chicken. not enough support. always looking into cutting off the extra staff despite needing them for confused patients. all about cutting off budget

    Advice to Management

    take care of your staff so you wont loose them

    NHS2018-01-16
  7. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Staff Nurse in Glasgow, Scotland

      I worked at NHS

      Pros

      Good place to work all fine nice people no issues conditions fine pay standard terms what you would expect that’s all

      Cons

      Not really any cons to speak of at all that I can think of just all fine nothing that counts against it

      NHS2017-09-24
    • "Staff nurse"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Nurse 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at NHS part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Pay and work life balance

      Cons

      Long days and difficult environment

      NHS2017-09-20
    • "Nurse"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Nurse in London, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at NHS

      Pros

      Lots of opportunities for career development

      Cons

      - Recent strict budgeting - HR take time to respond to employee requests

      Advice to Management

      Human resources to develop a much quicker system to handle employee requests

      NHS2017-06-13
    • "Community nurse mental health"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Nurse in Cambridge, East of England, England

      I have been working at NHS for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Most staff are trying to care for others against all odds.

      Cons

      Burnout, long unpaid hours, little thanks. Capped pay

      Advice to Management

      Stop endless reorganisations, costs money and achieves little. Workforce are on its knees - lobby harder and say thank you Staff are use to hard work but now at the expense of staffs health

      NHS2017-04-12
    Found 19 reviews