NHS "nhs" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NHS Employee Reviews about "nhs"

Updated 15 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1515 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
NHS CEO Simon Stevens
Simon Stevens
307 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great to work as part of wider NHS team(in 105 reviews)

  • "Incredible people, good pension scheme(in 54 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours underpaid understaffed(in 107 reviews)

  • "None - I find working for the NHS very rewarding(in 98 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "nhs"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work and lots of different areas to work in

    Cons

    The pay is quite low in NHS

    NHS2019-05-11
  2. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Sister 

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Despite the NHS as a whole being in a state due to underfunding and lack of qualified staff, my role as a research nurse is great.

    Cons

    In smaller district general type hospitals it is more difficult to progress

    NHS2019-04-30
  3. "Audit officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Audit Support Officer in Nottingham, England

    I have been working at NHS part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexiblity, job satisfaction, like deadlines

    Cons

    I cannot think of any - happy in the NHS!

    Advice to Management

    None

    NHS2019-04-10
  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NHS part-time

    Pros

    Great people and team, great learning opportunities. always opportunities for progression and moving to other parts of the NHS.

    Cons

    Quite low pay. Some people who have jobs just because they’ve always been there and the NHS can’t get rid of them.

    NHS2019-04-23
  5. "Not the worst place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Healthcare Assistant in Newcastle, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice team and NHS discount is recognised

    Cons

    Sometime the systems and protocols override common sense.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people as individuals and not numbers

    NHS2019-03-30
  6. "I love our NHS!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Zero-Hour Patient Pathways Coordinator in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    To be part of such a large organisation that operates solely for the good of the people is wonderful

    Cons

    Can be frustrating when economic and material limitations impede on our ability to deliver the NHS values effectively

    NHS2019-02-19
  7. "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Suster in York, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NHS full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Rewarding role great team spirit and some of the kindest people work for the nhs you will ever meet

    Cons

    Poor working conditions, unrealistic expectations, short staffed, lack of funding, staff not supported or protected

    Advice to Management

    To promote a no blame culture, start hiring clinical people to make the clinical decisions, band 7 and above should still keep more of a hand in clinical practice

    NHS2019-02-28
  8. "Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NHS full-time

    Pros

    Lovely place of work and great opportunity

    Cons

    None, as working for the NHS is a merit on its own.

    NHS2019-01-19
  9. "Healthcare assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Healthcare Assistant in London, England

    I have been working at NHS part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I like working for the Nhs.

    Cons

    Sometimes shortage of qualified staff

    Advice to Management

    To recruit more staff

    NHS2019-01-18
  10. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at NHS full-time

      Pros

      Brilliant to work in NHS

      Cons

      More Traveling to work in NHS

      Advice to Management

      .

      NHS2019-01-18
    Found 1515 reviews