NRS Media Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NRS Media Reviews

Updated 25 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
49%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
NRS Media Global CEO 	Neil Tanner (no image)
Neil Tanner
44 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Great job and prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Executive in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NRS Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not a hard job, you just have to put the effort in and the rewards are amazing. Management team and HR very approachable. Generous holiday entitlement and bonus scheme. No shift work or weekends. The opportunity to meet our customers face to face and travel every few months makes this job stand out from other cold calling jobs.

    Cons

    Because it's so new there's so much going on and it can be hard to keep up with what's going on around the rest of the business but that should improve once we're all in the same office. Still alot of negativity which is spoling it for others.

    Continue reading
    NRS Media2015-12-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "amazing exciting career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Retentions Executive in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NRS Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A fantastic place to work. You get to travel and meet fantastic people. I started Jan 2015 as an ISE & became CRE in Aug 2015. Very supportive management from middle to senior management. If you put in the effort you get rewarded with fantastic bonus and a very good salary. I would definitely recommend working here.

    Cons

    I am struggling to answer this one as there are none at all as I am a happy employee and the fact I am hitting 1 year anniversary soon says it all. I am hoping to have many more.

    Continue reading
    NRS Media2015-12-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Inside sales executive."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Executive in North Sunderland, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NRS Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very fast moving dynamic company which offers you the unique opportunity to build your own database of customers. Invite them to an event. Then go and meet them in person to close them sales! Venue is usually a 5 star hotel. All travel and expenses paid for. Lots of variety to the role as you work with all kinds of media partners eg press and radio. World class training given to get you started.

    Cons

    Sometimes it can take a while to get decisions. This is due to the company being global though. They like to be fair and consistent.

    Continue reading
    NRS Media2015-12-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Happy and definitely staying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ISE in North Sunderland, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NRS Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    NRS is an ambitious company with passionate and hard working people. People are hitting targets and earning bonus but got to put the work in.

    Cons

    None really, it's not perfect but it's still new and everyone's learning together and I'm looking forward to being part of it growing

    Continue reading
    NRS Media2015-12-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Had its good and bad points"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NRS Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to commute if live in Sunderland. Nice open plan working space. Salary is a fair for Job. Have some great people on your team who will help you (ise). The manager is fair but firm and is one for facts and figures which I liked always knew were stood with her very professional and I found approachable.

    Cons

    Over promise and under delivery. A factor in me taken the job was the level of training I was offered which was definitely over hyped at best it was basic. I also found some of the senior members of staff to be bullying and Patronising who undermined both staff and management. You have little control over your sales/potentially sales and it can feel like a lead generation role. A lot of people on the review site have a issue with the manager in my opinion she is one of the few positive things that the company has but needs a hell of a lot more support from Ad's SoS and other staff if ISE will survive.

    Continue reading
    NRS Media2015-12-15
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Wake up senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Executive in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NRS Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked with good people who stuck together and worked hard at selling a market that doesn't work.

    Cons

    Unbelievable favouritism if you were not employed by the current management team then your days are numbered. You have no control over your sales and bonus is too hard to achieve with constant moving of the goal posts. I just got out and the office has lost 18 people in less than 4 months.

    Continue reading
    NRS Media2015-12-08

    NRS Media Response

    December 10, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. I’m happy to have the opportunity to address the comments you’ve made about your experience at NRS Media. Although the Inside Sales model is new (created just over a year ago, and subsequently replicated in our offices in Canada and Australia), it’s built on very solid foundations that have been in place for over 30 years. The number of major media partners who have signed up to work with us means our program calendar for 2016 is already full, and we’re in the process of recruiting more Inside Sales teams in the UK, Canada and Australia in order to meet the demand. This is reflective of the appetite that exists in what is a well-established but far-from-exhausted global market place. The opportunities this demand presents for NRS globally is considerable, and in order to maximise those opportunities it’s important we have the right people to help us get there. What we do is slightly different compared to “typical” outbound contact centres and the skillset required is pretty unique. It’s a hybrid of telesales as well as field sales which requires the Inside Sales Executives to spend 6 weeks on the telesales part of the role, cold calling businesses to identify those who would benefit from the services we offer, and then travel (anywhere in the UK and occasionally overseas), to meet their customers face to face and have the confidence to close the sale in person. In order to be successful, they need to have excellent communication skills, a strong work ethic, be motivated and focused, resilient, positive, self-managing and be able to demonstrate the right attitude and behaviours. Given the innovative sales models that we are bringing to market and the requirements to be successful as mentioned above, our attrition rate for the Inside Sales organization is in line with any new business that has gone through implementing change. We’ve learned a huge amount over the past 12 months about what it takes to be successful, and we’ve amended our recruitment process accordingly to ensure we find people with the skillset required to be successful in this role. We do not agree with your comment that the ‘days of those joining prior to the current management team are numbered’. We have many individuals that have remained with the business post the new management team joining and one only need to look at the positive comments on Glassdoor as well as see existing staff testimonials on the NRS website to see this. We are a very transparent organization and take care to ensure that anyone joining understands exactly what the job entails and what’s expected of them. We have some of the most comprehensive training in the industry and we have had Inside Sales Executives come straight out of training and achieved target in their first program. I’d like to thank you for the opportunity to clarify the points you raised. I’m sorry that a future within NRS did not work out for you and we wish you well for the future.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NRS Media full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The U.K. MD and a few people left try their hardest to keep morale up in what is quite frankly a sinking ship.

    Cons

    No value of employees, lack of communication in any business decision. No respect left amongst the market.

    Continue reading
    NRS Media2015-11-28
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Inside sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NRS Media full-time

    Pros

    People that I worked with overall were very supportive and encouraging.

    Cons

    Dis functional company to many changes huge staff turnover in my department on average I would say about 50 per cent of the Inside sales staff have moved on this is down to unachievable targets no training or support or coaching within the sales teams. Staff have to much to say at times and no respect for senior management. Needs some huge changes within the whole inside sales teams for it ever to work considering in a year only 3 people have ever achieved their quarterly sales target. Three years before being offered any development and no PDPs are in place within the whole inside sales team.

    Continue reading
    NRS Media2015-10-12

    NRS Media Response

    October 26, 2015

    Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback, we employ some fantastic people and we’re particularly pleased to hear you found them supportive and encouraging. Our Inside Sales team is the newest part of the NRS business, created just over a year ago, and the business model has since been replicated in our offices in Canada and Australia with considerable success. Like any new part of any business, we are continually learning and evolving and it’s true to say that we’ve implemented a number of changes over the past year, each one as a direct result of us discovering what works and what doesn’t work. We believe this is the right thing to do and we will continue to refine our processes as we go along to ensure that we’re building solid foundations for the future. Our Inside Sales Executives receive regular coaching and training from our dedicated Account Director and benefit from a performance management framework which is designed to ensure they receive the necessary support they need to succeed in their role. Although we are still relatively new, we are confident that we’re cultivating a culture which is built on a foundation of mutual respect and high standards of behaviour, and one which allows people to have their say.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Great company going in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NRS Media full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been with NRS Media for over 5 years, since the take over and the significant investment poured into the company, NRS Media has moved to the next level. The current UK and CEE Managing Director is a truly inspiring figure with great management and leadership skills, both approachable and personable, he is someone I can 100% rely on for advice and support in situations I could be unfamiliar with. He brings the best out of my strengths and always provides constructive feedback on where to improve. His passion for the people is contagious and alongside our new CEO and COO is providing an impressive vision for the company moving forward. I'm really excited about where the NRS Media journey will take me in the next few years and will relish the opportunities that will be available on route.

    Cons

    Since the buy out the last 12 months has seen a period of huge transition and change for NRS which has caused some concerns and disruptions to employees as a whole. Though these times can be unsettling it is now clear we are in a much stronger position than ever before.

    Continue reading
    NRS Media2015-08-23
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Unprofessional management (MD UK/CCE)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at NRS Media full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Used to be a great place to work,not any more ever since the new MD/CEE

    Cons

    Totally unprofessional approach of the MD UK/CEE and his pals leaving the business with more than half of the core employees left in the last six month. MD`s new hire as Account Director Europe has ZERO experience on European Markets neither in the UK having worked only for less than a month in the UK ever since arrived over a year ago, is only fluent in – wait for it – RUMANIEN.... Can`t wait for the MD`s next fiasco of sending the new AD to Hungary.... (Joke of the year!). The business is losing out significantly on opportunities, which is down to the MD and his pals only.

    Continue reading
    NRS Media2015-08-24
Found 72 reviews