NTT DATA Business Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NTT DATA Business Consultant Reviews

Updated 16 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Business Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast growing organisation, brilliant culture , opportunities for training and development, amazing central London offices

    Cons

    As expected growing pains, brand recognition, some internal tooling could be improved

    NTT DATA2018-12-17
  2. Helpful (3)

    "No career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly people for the most part

    Cons

    There are a number of significant downsides - - There is no one who is invested in you or your career. Under the guise of "driving your own career" this means that no one wants to help you or develop you - Culturally the organisation seems pretty broken. There is an increasing amount of back-talking, sniping. You definitely don't feel part of a team - As in other reviews, there is a lot of body shopping and... this means the work is often dull - You can be on client site and completely forgotten about. There seem to be a complete disconnect between the reality for a lot of people and what senior leadership thinks is going on - Fundamentally, its not clear what the company is trying to do and what problems it wants to solve - There is an inner clique of senior leadership and then everyone else doing delivery - Culture seems to have been relegated to a monthly meeting over beer

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take on board all the reviews on here, make the company a place where it feels that you are invested in developing people (and not just hiring externally)

    NTT DATA2019-09-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to move around, carve your own career and grow Some really great people who are open-minded, supportive and genuinely care about your development

    Cons

    Senior management is mixed - some excellent leaders, others less so (I guess this is normal) Competency level of people is also quite mixed

    Advice to Management

    More robust processes to ensure fairness in terms of opportunities for all

    NTT DATA2019-07-31
  4. Helpful (15)

    "Bodyshop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growing rapidly so interesting to work Social culture

    Cons

    Bodyshop not a consultancy, singleton roles for juniors are very common (despite management saying they're not) Management favouritism is rife

    Advice to Management

    Curb the influence of some SL heads as they require too much management from consultants

    NTT DATA2019-07-16

    NTT DATA Response

    July 25, 2019Head of Consulting

    Thank you for your review, we take all feedback very seriously as we pride ourselves on having an open and honest culture, and continually strive to make NTT DATA an even better place to work. We pride ourselves on the interesting projects that we do to help our clients transform ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (16)

    "No consulting, just bodyshopping."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Business consulting community are great people (not the leadership). - Good work life balance (would be the case for body shopping)

    Cons

    - There is no consulting to be found here, just bodyshopping, might as well go and work for the clients. - Nothing strategic. - They sell you dreams in the role description, probably find yourself on the bench anyway. - Take positive reviews with a pinch of salt.

    Advice to Management

    Stop selling 'business consultant' roles when there is nothing consulting about NTT DATA UK. Be honest about your capabilities , stop relying on the innovation from Japan to sell NTT DATA UK. Communicate with your consultants on an individual level, actually get to know the what your people are doing and what they think.

    NTT DATA2019-07-10

    NTT DATA Response

    July 25, 2019Head of Consulting

    Thank you for taking time to post this review. We pride ourselves on having an open and honest culture where all feedback we receive is taken seriously so that we can continue to make NTT DATA a great place to work. The whole environment that we aim to create is one that fosters, ...

    Show More
  6. "Growing fast and good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is experiencing very quick growth in the UK, which makes for a positive working environment. Great office location in the heart of the city, with a further office just opened around Old Street. A great mix of colleagues from a different backgrounds

    Cons

    Still not a widely recognised brand in the UK, though there has been significant investment in advertising campaigns recently

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that the company doesn't lose the things which make it great at the expense of growth

    NTT DATA2018-12-12
  7. "Innovative, fast paced consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Growth opportunities - Recognition of talent and fast promotion opportunities - Robust internal people management system - Good range of clients and projects - Fantastic work environment - Good internal knowledge transfer - Fast growing company

    Cons

    - Travel Required, but that's like all consultancies so not that bad - If you have a specialism it can be hard to work on these type of projects as resourcing is done on a basis of skills not necessarily your specialism. If you want to work on one type of project and software/product this may not be always possible - There is an expectation that you must do some magic time work (which can mean staying late, not... all the time to finish your extra commitments)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to foster the environment as you grow!

    NTT DATA2018-12-12
  8. "Life at NTT DATA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The culture in this company is very friendly - everyone wants to help you out and watch you progress. - Senior management make an active effort to get to know new joiners and are approachable. - If you have downtime between projects/ are on bench there are plenty of opportunities for internal work floating around that will keep you busy

    Cons

    - You must have travel flexibility - part and parcel of the job and they make this clear in the interview process

    Advice to Management

    - Try to maintain your current culture as the company grows - retain how approachable you are and continue to make an effort with the people on the ground

    NTT DATA2018-12-12
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Opportunities to develop and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have started my work career with NTT DATA and being here for the past 4 years, I have been given all opportunities to develop myself, take on interesting projects (including internal company development projects), try different roles and make my voice heard.

    Cons

    NTT DATA should continue to invest in marketing to make NTT DATA a well known brand in UK

    NTT DATA2018-06-19
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great community feeling, colleagues are encouraging and feel like a team not competition - The opportunity to work with well know clients on varied and interesting projects - Flat hierarchy means senior leaders on projects and within the company are easy to access - There is a good emphasis on training through internal communities but also opportunities to take part in external training - Compared with other... consultancies there is less focus on utilisation and more opportunities to try new roles, projects and ways of working

    Show More

    Cons

    - NTT is not a known brand in the UK (However we still work with big household name clients) - Currently only one promotion cycle per year which is less than other consultancies

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the great culture and community is maintained/improved as the company expands

    NTT DATA2018-02-15
Found 14 reviews