NTT DATA Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Consultant

NTT DATA Consultant Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Principal Consultant, Digital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, diverse and inclusive environment

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to share so far

    NTT DATA2019-01-07
  2. "No career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly people for the most part

    Cons

    There are a number of significant downsides - - There is no one who is invested in you or your career. Under the guise of "driving your own career" this means that no one wants to help you or develop you - Culturally the organisation seems pretty broken. There is an increasing amount of back-talking, sniping. You definitely don't feel part of a team - As in other reviews, there is a lot of body shopping and... this means the work is often dull - You can be on client site and completely forgotten about. There seem to be a complete disconnect between the reality for a lot of people and what senior leadership thinks is going on - Fundamentally, its not clear what the company is trying to do and what problems it wants to solve - There is an inner clique of senior leadership and then everyone else doing delivery - Culture seems to have been relegated to a monthly meeting over beer

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take on board all the reviews on here, make the company a place where it feels that you are invested in developing people (and not just hiring externally)

    NTT DATA2019-09-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to move around, carve your own career and grow Some really great people who are open-minded, supportive and genuinely care about your development

    Cons

    Senior management is mixed - some excellent leaders, others less so (I guess this is normal) Competency level of people is also quite mixed

    Advice to Management

    More robust processes to ensure fairness in terms of opportunities for all

    NTT DATA2019-07-31
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Ignore the hype this is a body shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some great people to spend time with inside and outside of work.

    Cons

    As other reviews have highlighted the UK business of NTT DATA is really a body shop. There is a big HR and marketing push (tube adverts, website, banners etc.) to make out that the UK business is some cool innovation consulting unit leveraging assets from Japan. This is totally untrue. The place is a body shop with limited opportunities for consulting. It's all IT services, which is great if that's what you join for..., but not so great if you come expecting consulting or innovation projects to work on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    In my previous consulting firm the senior leaders had three key attributes: Thought leaders/sector content, humble, and genuine relationships with c-suite at clients. It is unfortunate that the UK ledership team have none of this, hence the body shop. mentality.

    NTT DATA2019-08-27
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Bodyshop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growing rapidly so interesting to work Social culture

    Cons

    Bodyshop not a consultancy, singleton roles for juniors are very common (despite management saying they're not) Management favouritism is rife

    Advice to Management

    Curb the influence of some SL heads as they require too much management from consultants

    NTT DATA2019-07-16

    NTT DATA Response

    July 25, 2019Head of Consulting

    Thank you for your review, we take all feedback very seriously as we pride ourselves on having an open and honest culture, and continually strive to make NTT DATA an even better place to work. We pride ourselves on the interesting projects that we do to help our clients transform ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (9)

    "NTT DATA UK is a bodyshop with a toxic management culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some nice people, who get disillusioned and leave.

    Cons

    Whatever reviews you read if you decide to join NTT DATA UK do your research. Ask the right questions (they will lie to you) and stay away if low end IT services or bodyshopping is not for you. Before you even come for an interview consider: - Does NTT DATA UK have genuine practice areas based on shared intellectual property? No. There are squads but this is all fluff, the output of which has not been used to sell... into clients in any meaningful way. - Does NTT DATA UK limit its consultants’ billable time for strategic purposes? No. As a bodyshop NTT DATA UK bills as much of its consultants’ time as possible, all the time. (In contrast real consultancy firms continually invests time in improving its collective knowledge and performance.) - Does NTT DATA UK measure success in terms of profitability per engagement? NTT DATA UK's goal is simply to bill as much as possible as time and materials(T&M) so it can “run the clock” as long as it can. (Real consulting firms use their knowledge to deliver high-value fixed-price engagements.) - Does NTT DATA UK leverage new skills to build higher-level relationships? In true bodyshop style NTT DATA UK simply adds new skills to its list of “things we do.” (Real consultancy firms analyses and leverage new skills into higher-level client relationships.)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management is weak and an echo chamber off the CEO cult. UK management lacks the intelligence and ability to run anything other than a body shop. Even the clients think NTT DATA UK is a just there to fill seats when needed. An entire cultural overhaul is needed, focusing on content and client relationships.

    NTT DATA2019-08-18
  7. Helpful (16)

    "No consulting, just bodyshopping."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Business consulting community are great people (not the leadership). - Good work life balance (would be the case for body shopping)

    Cons

    - There is no consulting to be found here, just bodyshopping, might as well go and work for the clients. - Nothing strategic. - They sell you dreams in the role description, probably find yourself on the bench anyway. - Take positive reviews with a pinch of salt.

    Advice to Management

    Stop selling 'business consultant' roles when there is nothing consulting about NTT DATA UK. Be honest about your capabilities , stop relying on the innovation from Japan to sell NTT DATA UK. Communicate with your consultants on an individual level, actually get to know the what your people are doing and what they think.

    NTT DATA2019-07-10

    NTT DATA Response

    July 25, 2019Head of Consulting

    Thank you for taking time to post this review. We pride ourselves on having an open and honest culture where all feedback we receive is taken seriously so that we can continue to make NTT DATA a great place to work. The whole environment that we aim to create is one that fosters, ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Bodyshop heaven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Apart from the London office location the real pro for working here is that you can shine very easily given the quality of people, especially middle-senior management. A good place to come if you need a job quickly and then leave.

    Cons

    NTT DATA UK is not a place I would recommend. They are stuck between trying to external sell high value consulting but in reality just sell low end IT stuff and bodyshopping. When i was there it was clear there was a level of delusion (spot the reviews comparing NTT DATA UK to McKinsey). The reality is a very low end bodyshopping IT company where the majority >90% of projects are on T&M - the classic sign on... no value add bodyshopping IT work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest about who you are and stop selling consulting dreams to consultants and then putting them on bodyshopping projects. The rot starts at the top, the UK CEO actually tried to claim in an article titled "IT LIFE: Simon Williams, NTT Data" that he has never worked in IT (LOL).

    NTT DATA2019-08-10
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Toxic work culture - very low end 'consulting'"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great junior staff, made some good friends outside of work. London location for offices is good.

    Cons

    Beware - NTT DATA UK emails staff to post Glassdoor reviews. The London office and Business Consulting is a place where it is all about whether you suck up to the right group of people and do not question the lack of business consulting - it is as other reviewers have said, a bodyshop. If you are after low-end consulting like CRM implementation or change requests etc then you may like the place if you come and... can suck up to the right people. During your interviews ask the following questions before you join: - Who do you compete against in the market? (they will try and say Deloitte or even Mckinsey! - very simple to to check, ask them them what consultants and directors are billed to clients at...then ask Deloitte and you'll see what low-end is) - What projects will I be staffed on? (again they will try and give you some 'strategy' or 'management' consulting nonsense...ask how many of these happen, what the size/value of these projects are relative to the overall business...you will most likely be put into a telco project doing low end change requests or IT stuff) - Who leads the business consulting practice and Impact? (look them up on linkedin and determine if you rate their career history etc)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Unfortunatley the people who stay are the ones who cannot get a job elsewhere, the good people leave. Not sure how to change an entire toxic culture focussed on sucking up and poor low end IT bodyshopping - it may not be possibe....at least be honest to the people you interview.

    NTT DATA2019-07-27

    NTT DATA Response

    July 30, 2019Head of Recruitment

    Indeed I do ask our employees to leave reviews. However I would never influence or direct the content of their reviews in any way. The vast majority of our team here at NTT DATA love working here and are more than happy to share their views on Glassdoor. Some reviews are very positive, ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Great for bodyshopping"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    London office opposite bank of england is good. Consultant community is friendly.

    Cons

    NTT DATA UK is a poor cousin of the rest of the NTT DATA global business. Think bodyshopping and more bodyshopping. They sell you 'business consulting' to join but the work is really low-end IT consulting, zero management consulting, zero strategy. HR and marketing make a real push for people to post positive reviews on glassdoor, don't believe it. Leadership team is poor and their only strategy is growth through... bodyshopping. Go to Accenture or Deloitte if you can get in.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    leadership team needs an overhaul.

    NTT DATA2019-06-22

    NTT DATA Response

    July 25, 2019Head of Consulting

    Thank you for your review, we want NTT DATA to be a great place to work and we pride ourselves on having an open and honest culture where feedback is taken seriously. We are also proud of the interesting projects that we do to help our clients transform their businesses. We are ...

    Show More
Found 30 reviews