NTT DATA Principal Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NTT DATA Principal Consultant Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Principal Consultant, Digital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, diverse and inclusive environment

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to share so far

    NTT DATA2019-01-07
  2. Helpful (9)

    "NTT DATA UK is a bodyshop with a toxic management culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some nice people, who get disillusioned and leave.

    Cons

    Whatever reviews you read if you decide to join NTT DATA UK do your research. Ask the right questions (they will lie to you) and stay away if low end IT services or bodyshopping is not for you. Before you even come for an interview consider: - Does NTT DATA UK have genuine practice areas based on shared intellectual property? No. There are squads but this is all fluff, the output of which has not been used to sell... into clients in any meaningful way. - Does NTT DATA UK limit its consultants’ billable time for strategic purposes? No. As a bodyshop NTT DATA UK bills as much of its consultants’ time as possible, all the time. (In contrast real consultancy firms continually invests time in improving its collective knowledge and performance.) - Does NTT DATA UK measure success in terms of profitability per engagement? NTT DATA UK's goal is simply to bill as much as possible as time and materials(T&M) so it can “run the clock” as long as it can. (Real consulting firms use their knowledge to deliver high-value fixed-price engagements.) - Does NTT DATA UK leverage new skills to build higher-level relationships? In true bodyshop style NTT DATA UK simply adds new skills to its list of “things we do.” (Real consultancy firms analyses and leverage new skills into higher-level client relationships.)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management is weak and an echo chamber off the CEO cult. UK management lacks the intelligence and ability to run anything other than a body shop. Even the clients think NTT DATA UK is a just there to fill seats when needed. An entire cultural overhaul is needed, focusing on content and client relationships.

    NTT DATA2019-08-18
  3. "Almost 5 great years at NTT DATA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging Environment, Development Opportunities for individuals, Low-ego-organisation, Flat structural design and "open door" culture, Very diverse role opportunities

    Cons

    Culture is changing with growth, not sure how all the good-bits can be maintained Not widely known, very little presence for size and quality of organisation

    Advice to Management

    Maintain as much of the open-door, structure and Low-ego elements of the company that's made it successful in UK and grow over past 3-4 years. Maintain strong, open feedback culture that assures quality and ensures everyone develops

    NTT DATA2018-12-18

    NTT DATA Response

    January 7, 2019Head of Recruitment

    Thanks for your review. As we grow the challenge is to maintain our culture and ensure that it remains at the core of what we do and how we behave.

  4. "A fantastic growing innovative consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great culture - Great clients and interesting projects - Brilliant people - Genuine focus on personal development & career progression - Takes D&I seriously and is doing good things

    Cons

    - It's busy (also a good thing!) - Need to increase our Marketing (we're working on this) - As we grow, we need to scale our internal operations

    NTT DATA2018-12-13
  5. "Great Innovative Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues and very helpful. The company is driven to do the best for its customers and supports the growth of its employees

    Cons

    Small footprint in the UK so not everyone knows about them but its growing!

    NTT DATA2018-02-09
  6. "Good working conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly employees Diverse workforce Lot of opportunities Engaging management team

    Cons

    You are part of big organisation and could easily be forgotten

    NTT DATA2017-09-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Principal Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting work and great people.

    Cons

    The company had many systems and processes due to the merger of many legacy companies.

    NTT DATA2017-05-31
  8. "Good comapny"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No job risk.. You can be in bench for an period of 6 months also. No swipe in swipe out so no recording hour. Work from home facilities. Nice work culture. You can plan to work till retirement. The total salary which was mentioned in offer letter that is fixed salary only no variable. Apart from fixed salary you will get half-yearly bonus which is no where mentioned in your offer letter.

    Cons

    HR's are not reachable. I can't say hike best in market but avg. But again that's depends on your manager. Don't have ample options in cafeterias.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing as such..

    NTT DATA2019-08-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Principal Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A very good place to work with

    Cons

    Nothing bad experience yet to have

    NTT DATA2019-06-25
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Unreasonable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I am not sure if there is any

    Cons

    1) Poor management structure, height of non-professional/unqualified middle management example. They will make your life miserable. There is a culture of backstabbing, finger pointing, blaming other towers, blaming other peoples in front of other coworkers, and including in group emails, in other words, I'm tattling on you because you've been bad. It's a childish way of intimidating others. Sword of firing you will... be hanging on your head all the time. The company is top heavy, so much middle management, it's becoming a dog fight zone. NTT Data Services hires project managers who have no clue what PM stands for? You'll be placed under a PM who is clueless as to what you're supposed to do. But the result is panic, micromanagement, and annoying behavior from PMs who shouldn't even have a job, they are worthless. 2) More responsibilities with no pay increase, No training Structure, Horrible Benefits. 3) Placement can be anywhere with no guarantee of another placement afterwards. 4) There are hundreds of useless managers and PM's. It's a huge buddy system of hiring incompetent buddy from 40 years ago. 5) If you are Indian (Not American Indian) and happen to fall into the try of an Indian and you have an attitude of parsing an unworthy personality day and night you may be fine, because it’s a huge place for partiality / favoritism - especially from specific part of the world called “India”

    Show More
    NTT DATA2019-07-16
Found 7 reviews