NTT DATA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NTT DATA Reviews

Updated 17 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 96 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (16)

    "No consulting, just bodyshopping."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Business consulting community are great people (not the leadership). - Good work life balance (would be the case for body shopping)

    Cons

    - There is no consulting to be found here, just bodyshopping, might as well go and work for the clients. - Nothing strategic. - They sell you dreams in the role description, probably find yourself on the bench anyway. - Take positive reviews with a pinch of salt.

    Advice to Management

    Stop selling 'business consultant' roles when there is nothing consulting about NTT DATA UK. Be honest about your capabilities , stop relying on the innovation from Japan to sell NTT DATA UK. Communicate with your consultants on an individual level, actually get to know the what your people are doing and what they think.

    NTT DATA2019-07-10

    NTT DATA Response

    July 25, 2019Head of Consulting

    Thank you for taking time to post this review. We pride ourselves on having an open and honest culture where all feedback we receive is taken seriously so that we can continue to make NTT DATA a great place to work. The whole environment that we aim to create is one that fosters, ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Bodyshop heaven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Apart from the London office location the real pro for working here is that you can shine very easily given the quality of people, especially middle-senior management. A good place to come if you need a job quickly and then leave.

    Cons

    NTT DATA UK is not a place I would recommend. They are stuck between trying to external sell high value consulting but in reality just sell low end IT stuff and bodyshopping. When i was there it was clear there was a level of delusion (spot the reviews comparing NTT DATA UK to McKinsey). The reality is a very low end bodyshopping IT company where the majority >90% of projects are on T&M - the classic sign on... no value add bodyshopping IT work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest about who you are and stop selling consulting dreams to consultants and then putting them on bodyshopping projects. The rot starts at the top, the UK CEO actually tried to claim in an article titled "IT LIFE: Simon Williams, NTT Data" that he has never worked in IT (LOL).

    NTT DATA2019-08-10
  3. Helpful (18)

    "An utter bodyshopping and low end IT services firm under the guise of Consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The only positive about NTT DATA UK is that the location of its offices in Central London.

    Cons

    There are quite a few negatives about working for NTT DATA UK as detailed below: 1) Cronyism: The defining characteristic of NTT DATA UK is its rampant cronyism and favoritism. You can choose to become a part of the "inner circle" or clique of influential people that are empowered by the very top management of the organisation. Once you become a crony and be a part of the inner circle, then you can expect... promotions every year despite the level of your (in)competence. Needless to say, when incompetence is promoted, competence moves away. Many of the old timers at this place appear to live in a make-believe bubble where they think they are part of a great team that is changing the business world or doing some brilliant, path-breaking work. The reality of it is something else(as described below). Anyone considering NTT DATA UK must evaluate this aspect as the favoritism at this place can have serious repercussions on your career path. 2) Bodyshopping, not Consulting: NTT DATA UK tries to sell itself as a Consulting firm, however, almost all the projects here are IT Services or pure bodyshopping. This is evident by the fact that most of the lower grade "consultants" would be in IT project management. It was indeed strange to read that the CEO of this firm once spoke in an interview that he had never worked in IT, when the entire business is pure IT Services and body shopping. NTT DATA UK tries hard to leverage the NTT brand and its Japanese roots, along with the achievement of its sister companies, only to fall short in landing any worthwhile consulting projects. Anyone who wants to join this firm must be able to filter out the noise of consulting that will be sold to you, and be prepared to work on IT projects. 3) Lack of competence in management: Owing to the fact that they tend to live in bubble and have only ever worked in IT projects, the middle and upper management possess a level of competence that does not match with the top tier consulting firms of the world. It was a shame to see some really talented youngsters being wasted away on body shopping projects. There is a serious lack of thought leadership because most of the published thought pieces are derivatives of the work from other consulting firms or sister concerns. There is a lack of opportunity to learn from senior management since they can only teach from the limited pool of knowledge or skill that they possess. Anyone considering to join NTT DATA UK must remember that you learn better when you are not the smartest person in the room. 4) Sheer Toxicity: Although there are many social events to attend, there is a dearth of genuine and healthy camaraderie at NTT DATA UK. There is a persistent feeling of being under scrutiny all the time if you do not belong to the inner circle. The firm endeavors to present an exciting brand to the outer world by encouraging and coaxing employees to write glowing reviews on social media, especially Glassdoor and LinkedIn. As someone has written in an earlier review, I would strongly advise to read the positive reviews with a massive pinch of salt.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Unfortunately, I do not see the management, including the HR, as being capable of taking any advice onboard, and therefore I would refrain from advising anything to the management. I am certain that instead of embarking on an inward journey of introspection, the management would attempt to discredit this review.

    NTT DATA2019-08-01
  4. Helpful (13)

    "Toxic work culture - very low end 'consulting'"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great junior staff, made some good friends outside of work. London location for offices is good.

    Cons

    Beware - NTT DATA UK emails staff to post Glassdoor reviews. The London office and Business Consulting is a place where it is all about whether you suck up to the right group of people and do not question the lack of business consulting - it is as other reviewers have said, a bodyshop. If you are after low-end consulting like CRM implementation or change requests etc then you may like the place if you come and... can suck up to the right people. During your interviews ask the following questions before you join: - Who do you compete against in the market? (they will try and say Deloitte or even Mckinsey! - very simple to to check, ask them them what consultants and directors are billed to clients at...then ask Deloitte and you'll see what low-end is) - What projects will I be staffed on? (again they will try and give you some 'strategy' or 'management' consulting nonsense...ask how many of these happen, what the size/value of these projects are relative to the overall business...you will most likely be put into a telco project doing low end change requests or IT stuff) - Who leads the business consulting practice and Impact? (look them up on linkedin and determine if you rate their career history etc)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Unfortunatley the people who stay are the ones who cannot get a job elsewhere, the good people leave. Not sure how to change an entire toxic culture focussed on sucking up and poor low end IT bodyshopping - it may not be possibe....at least be honest to the people you interview.

    NTT DATA2019-07-27

    NTT DATA Response

    July 30, 2019Head of Recruitment

    Indeed I do ask our employees to leave reviews. However I would never influence or direct the content of their reviews in any way. The vast majority of our team here at NTT DATA love working here and are more than happy to share their views on Glassdoor. Some reviews are very positive, ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Ok but was better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice people, good location, flexible working

    Cons

    Doesn’t reward hard work or provide career opportunities unless you are part of the “inner group”. Senior Leadership at removed from the layers below.

    NTT DATA2019-06-16

    NTT DATA Response

    July 25, 2019Head of Consulting

    Thank you for your review. How our people feel about our culture is fundamental to making NTT DATA a great place to work and we pride ourselves on listening to feedback and acting on it. We strive to have an open and honest culture that rewards performance but if that isn’t your ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Great for bodyshopping"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    London office opposite bank of england is good. Consultant community is friendly.

    Cons

    NTT DATA UK is a poor cousin of the rest of the NTT DATA global business. Think bodyshopping and more bodyshopping. They sell you 'business consulting' to join but the work is really low-end IT consulting, zero management consulting, zero strategy. HR and marketing make a real push for people to post positive reviews on glassdoor, don't believe it. Leadership team is poor and their only strategy is growth through... bodyshopping. Go to Accenture or Deloitte if you can get in.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    leadership team needs an overhaul.

    NTT DATA2019-06-22

    NTT DATA Response

    July 25, 2019Head of Consulting

    Thank you for your review, we want NTT DATA to be a great place to work and we pride ourselves on having an open and honest culture where feedback is taken seriously. We are also proud of the interesting projects that we do to help our clients transform their businesses. We are ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Ok could improve review process and people managing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CRM Developer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NTT DATA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people in the office, good environment to learn and grow in.

    Cons

    Not much room for progression, staff were overstretched.

    NTT DATA2019-05-08
  8. Helpful (60)

    "Love It..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work Great Culture Great offices Great clients

    Cons

    Growing pains Extremely busy Must be able to juggle multiple priorities all the time

    Advice to Management

    More of the same please

    NTT DATA2018-10-31

    NTT DATA Response

    November 5, 2018Head of Recruitment

    Sums us up nicely! Thanks for your review.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "A great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Highly Collaborative culture High visibility of the leadership team Been experiencing high growth with ambitions to keep on going Very varied work opportunities Good relationships with the wider family of companies outside of the UK Great new and modern offices

    Cons

    Have not identified any as yet.

    Advice to Management

    Need to work hard to keep the collaborative and supportive culture alive as the organisation grows

    NTT DATA2019-02-12
  10. Helpful (4)

    "NTT Data Employment Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dynamics CRM Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you are ambitious and willing to learn, I would not recommend a more better place than NTT Data.

    Cons

    Not much can be said in this area, as I have been here since last October.

    NTT DATA2019-02-04
Found 96 reviews