NTT DATA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NTT DATA Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 96 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Experience of a life time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Support Engineer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    HR's amazing Cultural Events Clean environment Motivated co-workers Fun work environment Time and care is put into employees Becoming Multi skilled is encouraged Health and well being of employees is looked after Every one is approachable about ideas and new improvements Managers are always there to help no matter how high the ladder they are

    Cons

    NON - You should apply...

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the hard work its working!

    NTT DATA2019-02-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Business operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful company to grow and develop your career, supportive and encouraging team

    Cons

    none that I know of

    NTT DATA2019-02-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Working for NTTData for less than a year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Engineer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The management in Birmingham is motivating me to achieve my targets and very supportive when working with external clients .

    Cons

    Birmingham Business Park office is still growing and going through a lot of changes. I do not have any cons as this environment is perfect for someone like myself who wants to learn how processes are put in place to stabilise a business and grow at the same time.

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps we could improve in communication with other areas of the business so people are not working in isolation.

    NTT DATA2019-02-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "12 month review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Highly Professional global company Good reputation respected by customers High quality UK head office at Royal Exchange Expanding capability and client base in UK

    Cons

    Complex corporate structure Tend to get pigeon holed out on customer site - easy to lose touch with what is happening with NTTData All staff get pushed at Virgin Media despite their core skills/knowledge Bit confused - portray a Japanese background and culture but in reality main business is selling cheap offshore indian resources.

    Advice to Management

    Make better use of the skills that your staff possess.

    NTT DATA2019-02-04
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Thrive under excellent Innovations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Lead in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Genuinely passionate, smart, friendly people. Interesting problems to solve. Extremely collaborative culture. You work with smart people and be part of innovating greater products . NTTDATA allows you to work with cutting edge technology and within a great, diverse culture where you will learn constantly. If you like constant challenges, this is the place for you. Work is interesting & you get to explore better... design thinking through the digital transformation opportunities.

    Show More

    Cons

    None I can think of so far

    Advice to Management

    Keep the Culture !

    NTT DATA2019-02-01
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Facilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Inclusive, loads of initiatives to support staff well being, great work life balance

    Cons

    In some areas it lacks structure and set processes which can be positive to some extent

    NTT DATA2019-02-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "NTT DATA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Management Officer in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    NTT DATA are passionate about investing in people and growth.

    Cons

    Limited Parking in the Birmingham Office.

    NTT DATA2019-02-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Second Line Applications Support Consultant in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very helpful and friendly, made me feel very welcome to the company. You are praised for your hard work and contribution towards the organisation and have a lot of opportunities. I have great support from my team and management who are very encouraging.

    Cons

    I have no negative comments.

    NTT DATA2019-02-01
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Growing is a plus, but it's highly Senior Management driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + Telco Leaders - ability to pull on Global thought leadership and technical innovation in telecommunications thanks to strong links with parent and sister companies. + Growing - it's possible to become a "go to" person in emerging technology as there are so few technical experts. + Training - there's a lot of opportunity to go on external courses and to come aware with recognised certifications. There's also a... big emphasis on sharing what you've learnt. + Flexibility - there are those that have been in their roles for years and those change on a quarterly basis; however this isn't always by choice.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Telco Only - there's not much attraction for clients to go with NTT DATA over competitors; therefore the contracts that are secured, especially the meatier and more interesting ones, are nearly always Telco. - Political - senior managers' opinions weigh a lot more than they do elsewhere. You won't be able to get by through doing your job well: you will need to seek the limelight of the senior team. Working can... become very difficult once any single senior manager is not enamoured with you. - Autocratic - often management talk about a flat management structure, but it's very hierarchical: the huge number of "ranks" illustrates this well. You will get many senior experienced hires that are not downward looking and who are highly sales focused, which does not create a good atmosphere. This is further complicated by an ineffective split in the company itself. - Lack of Flexibility - there are those that choose to be in the role for the long term or the short term, but, given the lack of marketshare, the risk of reassignment is far higher. This is not a fault of the company, as it's a consequence of its small size, but it's something to be aware of.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    > Be honest with new entrants and yourselves by embracing the unique Telco position you have. Start as a boutique and then expand; acting like you're a realistic competitor in other areas may seem like a good goal, but it looks disingenuous. > The senior management structure and overall ranking need to be changed: a cultural flattening needs to happen to improve morale and simplify promotions. > 360... feedback needs to be brought in urgently and it needs tangible consequences.

    Show More
    NTT DATA2019-02-04

    NTT DATA Response

    February 6, 2019Head of Recruitment

    Thanks for your review. We are going through a big period of change, driven by growth and investment, inevitably this will have its ups and downs. We're not always going to get it right first time but we learn and improve every day. The focus is on growing and this throws up opportunities ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (1)

    "No getting bored here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wide variety of different projects to get involved in. NTT Data has a wide variety of clients for whom we provide dev, devOps, test automation and infrastructure support. If you're keen to learn a wide variety of tools, tech and skills, NTT is a good fit. Support for training is great and the management here genuinely take an interest in your development.

    Cons

    As a consultancy, client expectations can sometimes be a little unrealistic, which can lead to the feeling of needing to have everything together before starting at a client. As client's require consultants for a varied period of time, your time there can end prematurely which can be annoying especially if you're keen to get stuck into something over a longer period of time.

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic with potential clients about the skill and experience of NTT consultants before sending them on site. Continue to support consultants by having time to discuss their ambitions and support issues.

    NTT DATA2019-01-18

    NTT DATA Response

    January 31, 2019Head of Recruitment

    Thanks for your review. I agree it's certainly never boring!

Found 96 reviews