NTT DATA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NTT DATA Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 96 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (2)

    "A pioneering company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + Good people to work with. + Opportunity of career growth over number of years. + Acknowledges and adapts to changes at different levels; huge plus for an organisation of this size. + Encourages, promotes and facilitates equal opportunities for women and lgbt. + Great communication from HR. + One of the very few companies who communicates on a regular basis about how the appraisal process works with diagrams... and milestones.

    Show More

    Cons

    - These should not be practiced: a) secrecy and politics with fellow colleagues, b) working in silos, c) favouritism towards an individual or towards a small group, d) working selfishly towards one's own progress, e) constructively conspire against team members, f) team communication - top down within projects is appalling. HR should find these individuals and put them on a disciplinary program. - A few... directors, VPs and individuals need to change their condescending attitude; drop their ego and learn how to be humble. Learn from the person who leads the company, person who heads the Digital team and the person who heads the Consulting discipline. - Hugely Telco and Media sector focused and the clientele reflects that. If an individual is looking for a different flavour it is hard to come by. - Expectation of working extra hours on external and/or internal projects/squads/disciplines runs top down. While joining NTT Data an individual is given a choice of opt in/out on Working Time Regulations Act 1998. (It states "By submitting this form you agree (to Opt-In) that this limit on your working hours will not apply to your employment with us and that your average working time may therefore exceed 48 hours in any seven-day period."). If one decides to opt-out one has to clearly communicate that to HR and other individuals who expect weekend work out of them. - Personal life balance can be impacted as a result. - 360 degree individual reviews should be truly that - along with HR, people managers should encourage this strongly from all employees. - HR should encourage anonymous reviews or confidential reviews for employees at grade 12 and above as they have bigger responsibility towards the organisation and their shortfalls might often go unnoticed or might be ignored to retain them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You all know your shortfalls and strengths. So you are very well aware where you need to put in efforts.

    NTT DATA2019-01-30
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Hidden gem of a place, not hidden any longer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people who help each other and not drag each other down. Low ego culture promotes collaboration and support for careers across levels leading to impressive growth year on year. Kind of a startup but with the blessing of a big Japanese corporate group

    Cons

    Does not have the scale or client portfolio of the big 4, so can sometimes feel like a body shop but then its your opportunity to enable

    Advice to Management

    The traditional consulting needs to completely change and hopefully will happen with the new strategy. More visible leadership not just at events or mass communication events but the good practice of on the floor and at client locations listening to people individually

    NTT DATA2019-01-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Principal Consultant, Digital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, diverse and inclusive environment

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to share so far

    NTT DATA2019-01-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "What's it like to work at NTT DATA?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Great people and great respect for people. All consultancies say this, but NTT DATA really lives this. And a people business is nothing without great people. 2. Seriously strong growth. In a year the company has changed significantly for the better creating great opportunities 3. Variety 4. Straightforward - it is exactly what it say it is

    Cons

    Large projects are rare, but they are coming

    NTT DATA2019-01-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - positive recruitment process - all London staff very approachable - investment in staff and facilities in London is obvious - great career opportunities due to innovation and good client relationships

    Cons

    - induction process slightly misleading (encouraging diversity while enforcing conformity) - Digital/Consulting can feel a bit detached from the rest of the business

    Advice to Management

    During this period of fast growth, please try and continue to treat everyone equally - starting to see some examples of where this isn't happening, will be very damaging if this is allowed to fester.

    NTT DATA2019-01-03

    NTT DATA Response

    January 7, 2019Head of Recruitment

    Thanks for the review and the advice, we take all feedback very seriously so that we can continue to move forwards in a positive manner.

  6. "Healthy and challenging environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    NTT DATA allows you to grow profesionally and humanely with great opportunities at stake.

    Cons

    I have nothing to say!

    NTT DATA2019-01-04

    NTT DATA Response

    January 7, 2019Head of Recruitment

    Thanks for your review.

  7. "Opportunities to develop in a quickly expanding organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great mix of young people bringing ideas and experienced consultants to learn from Focused on building a strong community for employees to network and develop The business is growing quickly and adapting to the demands of the market There is the support and investment of a global company but they still retain the approachable feel of a smaller company in the UK

    Cons

    Brand recognition in the UK is not as big as it should be for a company this size Some issues related to the pace of expansion, for example, resourcing onto projects can be muddled and slow The promotion process / path to promotion for new joiners is a bit unclear

    Advice to Management

    Work hard to keep the approachable attitude and community feel that makes the company so great to work for as we continue to expand

    NTT DATA2019-01-03
  8. "Very engaging recruitment process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very positive assessment and joining process. At each stage and each level of meetings I became more and more excited about the prospect of joining this team. This is a bit of a life lesson for me, join the people not the company if you want to enjoy your work, this is something I have achieved at NTTD. This is a very agile, collaborative and forward thinking organisation with a great sense of fun.

    Cons

    The joys of London commute !!!

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring the right fit and enabling them to be the best they can by assigning them to work that fits both their skills and aspirations.

    NTT DATA2019-01-02
  9. "A rapidly growing business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time

    Pros

    Continuously aims to surpass client expectations. Thorough knowledge of client industries & emerging trends. Tangible commitment to innovation efforts. Driven to grow the bottom line & employee base. Actively encourages diversity, inclusion, learning & development.

    Cons

    Experiencing growing pains from expanding the workforce very quickly. Commitment to achieving greatness can lead to an unfavourable work-life-balance. Senior leadership does not accurately reflect the diversity of the workforce.

    NTT DATA2019-01-02
  10. Helpful (4)

    "TUPEd Employees are not supported at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NTT DATA full-time

    Pros

    Nice offices Inclusive environment - great supporters of events like Pride

    Cons

    Having come from a company that was acquired by NTT, the employees were sold the dream - better projects, more money, etc. But the TUPE process itself was a shambles - I fully understand the legality around the process and I know that there are hoops that NTT have to jump through legally. It is never a smooth process and I don't blame them for the process, but I was left wondering what would happen for weeks after... the announcement was made. I was put at risk of (and made) redundant. It was only mid-process that HR asked to see a copy of my job description. How can you make some redundant and not fully understand the position they are cutting. If I had thought about it a bit, I could have gone to an employment lawyer as I do not think that I was fairly dismissed on this occasion. When the TUPE happened, staff were not paid correctly in their first month. It does not promote engagement when your new employer fails to pay you the correct amount in the first month!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    HR needs to be more understanding to the employees that are joining them from acquisition. It is a scary time for people who no longer feel secure in their position. From my observations, HR for this company is more legal based on behalf of the company than employee-centric.

    NTT DATA2019-01-31
Found 96 reviews