NTT DATA Senior Principal Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NTT DATA Senior Principal Consultant Reviews

Updated 18 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1 review

1.0
StarStarStarStarStar
0%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (9)

    "NTT DATA UK is a bodyshop with a toxic management culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some nice people, who get disillusioned and leave.

    Cons

    Whatever reviews you read if you decide to join NTT DATA UK do your research. Ask the right questions (they will lie to you) and stay away if low end IT services or bodyshopping is not for you. Before you even come for an interview consider: - Does NTT DATA UK have genuine practice areas based on shared intellectual property? No. There are squads but this is all fluff, the output of which has not been used to sell... into clients in any meaningful way. - Does NTT DATA UK limit its consultants’ billable time for strategic purposes? No. As a bodyshop NTT DATA UK bills as much of its consultants’ time as possible, all the time. (In contrast real consultancy firms continually invests time in improving its collective knowledge and performance.) - Does NTT DATA UK measure success in terms of profitability per engagement? NTT DATA UK's goal is simply to bill as much as possible as time and materials(T&M) so it can “run the clock” as long as it can. (Real consulting firms use their knowledge to deliver high-value fixed-price engagements.) - Does NTT DATA UK leverage new skills to build higher-level relationships? In true bodyshop style NTT DATA UK simply adds new skills to its list of “things we do.” (Real consultancy firms analyses and leverage new skills into higher-level client relationships.)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management is weak and an echo chamber off the CEO cult. UK management lacks the intelligence and ability to run anything other than a body shop. Even the clients think NTT DATA UK is a just there to fill seats when needed. An entire cultural overhaul is needed, focusing on content and client relationships.

    NTT DATA2019-08-18
  2. "Must join for SAP people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in Hyderābād
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NTT DATA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you are in SAP specially technical side then you should join this organisation once in your career for short term if not long term. They have good number of projects across globe. No company pays 10 pc hike every year so they too. Politics is everywhere and they are not exception. You can roam in different projects learning new technologies but you have to be little aggressive. Middle management is not so strong... and they always hunt for people who can work for them so its actually good for you if you want more exposure in your technologies. They have offices in so many location across India but hyd dominance is there so join in hyd if possible.

    Show More

    Cons

    Its a group of so many companies and every one wants to keep their policies alive even after merger. You may find so many managers, associate directors who actually does not worth much. Middle management is poor and immature so you may fall into wrong net. It has Japanese roots so you will not find US culture here. Even if you have done so well they will treat you as usual.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce number of managers, senior managers or even associate directors. At the same cost you can get more number of PC and SPC who would actually work. Keep going.

    NTT DATA2018-11-18
  3. "Not at all recommended for young IT engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Onsite Opportunity especial for goldman sachs client

    Cons

    negligible hike ,reducing every benefit which previously there as cost cutting measure

    NTT DATA2018-09-13
  4. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in Houston, AK
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NTT DATA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good projects, team mates, managers

    Cons

    No long term projects here

    NTT DATA2018-08-24
  5. "Directionless company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Option of work from home.

    Cons

    Pay is not good. No hikes or bonuses. Management only cares about billing and do not care about employees

    Advice to Management

    Company seems to be directionless , every week there is a policy change. No one knows the correct policies in place in the company.

    NTT DATA2018-07-02
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Start caring about your employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NTT DATA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My manager was the best part of my job. He looked out for me and fought to get me bonuses and a better salary. Unfortunately he was also way over worked. I also learned a lot during my time there (although the majority was self taught).

    Cons

    The pay is a joke. Especially if you work in one of the areas deemed to be a lower cost of living. I was a senior principle consultant and was in an area where (according to ntt glassdoor) I should have been paid at least 30k more. I consistently received high scores in my reviews along with bonuses. However the salary was almost a slap in the face. You are told that paid training is provided (I believe it was 5k... per year for courses) but you need to take your own vacation time to take the training. There is no motivation for employees to better themselves. This is the only company I have worked at where I truly felt like nothing more than a number. Its unfortunate that people are treated this way. I was recruited for an external position and ended up getting over 45k more per year than what I was making at ntt.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are losing good people. Start caring about your employees. You will get so much more out of them if you do. Stop paying team leads 40k a year (in certain places). Start treating people the way you would want to be treated or how you would want your own children to be treated. Have a conscience.

    NTT DATA2018-04-27
  7. "Senior Principal Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Continuously growing and provides a unique opportunity to grow with the company - Good benefits

    Cons

    - Not many cons working for NTT DATA. It is a growing company with ample potential to standardize and stabilize.

    Advice to Management

    Although it is great to grow at this pace inorganically. Need to take some time to stabilize to reap the benefits of these synergistic alliances.

    NTT DATA2018-01-29
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Needs more transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in Houston, TX

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Parent company is NTT Japan and has a conglomerate of businesses.

    Cons

    Lacks transparency, most resource movement and project changes happens without it being shared between the team.

    Advice to Management

    Value each and every resource and spend time and effort in building their career.

    NTT DATA2018-01-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for if you want less pay and more time with family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is good. Will get more time if want to spend time with family

    Cons

    Crap hike process, performance review has no connection to the hike. During all focal cycle management looks for reason to deny hike. Poor bonus scheme as they say it's tied with performance but depends on your line manager wish. It's up to his crap wish

    Advice to Management

    All who sitting in critical roles are immature and dumb guys sitting in same company for more than 15 years. None of them have ability to run an compensation. They neither has any dream and wish. They just came for monthly salary and benefits. No plan for people who work for them. Best advice is to kick out all weeds.

    NTT DATA2017-12-10
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Solid company, minimal amounts of Mickey Mouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NTT DATA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    NTT DATA keeps the happy-clappy stuff to an absolute minimum. There's very little in terms of company-required stuff that keeps me from focusing 100% on the client. I've been in consulting for years and this is a refreshing rarity.

    Cons

    The downside of not much Mickey Mouse is that it can be difficult to get attention from the company when you need it. Little things like timesheet problems are a little harder to resolve than they probably should be.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring good people, and continue to let them do the job for the client!

    NTT DATA2017-10-30
Found 1 review