NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) Reviews

Updated Dec 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) Commissioner and CIO Samir Saini
Samir Saini
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people all around the floor(in 4 reviews)

  • "slower pace, if you can get things done it is a great place to be(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay compared to other IT peers, even among other agencies, we are paid among the lowest with zero discretionary salary increases(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very good and nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    GOOD environment for work for all the people.

    Cons

    NO CONS fir this at now.

    NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2019-12-08
  2. "Learning about our city"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CCR 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In this position you will learn a lot about how nyc agencies are operated.

    Cons

    The work atmosphere needs to change.

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone with the respect you want.

    NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2019-12-06
  3. "Good place to work but don’t stay too long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time

    Pros

    Peers are nice. Very professional staff.

    Cons

    No room to move up unless the boss and the person that has been there longer leaves. Too much favoritism. There is not much to motivate you to do more. No one wants to make any decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure all of the staff feel like they are part of the team, not just the favorite few.

    NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2019-12-02
  4. "One and done."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many colleagues have been here for a VERY LONG time. Which means if you fit in, it's smooth sailing. You'll meet plenty of smart folks that are passionate about what they do.

    Cons

    Too many undeserving folks running around doing nothing and getting paid 2x-3x more than someone doing everything. All the good people are leaving in droves and they still wonder why. This place also gets so boring quickly, it's a terrible match for someone young and ambitious.

    Advice to Management

    Stop talking so much and start listening more because you all collectively don't know what you're doing. You've lost a Commissioner and continue to lose good people on a weekly basis. Stop being cheap, IT sector pays, it's time you pay accordingly or people will leave.

    NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2019-08-31
  5. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Designer 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of Freedom to collaborate

    Cons

    Projects go on too long

    NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2019-07-18
  6. "decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Albany, NY

    I have been working at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    vacation, sick, and personal time off

    Cons

    career advancement isnt the best

    Advice to Management

    hire and promote the right employee and from within instead of losing your best employee because you wont promote them.

    NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2019-03-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start terrible place to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My team is awesome. Always playing some kind of office prank or interesting discussion.

    Cons

    Everything else. literally, EVERYTHING about this job is terrible. If I didn't have such a great team I would have left this place years ago.

    Advice to Management

    Take your head out of your anal cavity.

    NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2018-06-22
  8. "Politically driven but better than other agencies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time

    Pros

    Due to the short staff, one can really be involved in all kind of projects as long as you desire to be proactive.

    Cons

    Place is short staffed and is hard to get things done.

    NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2018-04-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Call Center Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 311 Call Center Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time

    Pros

    Really friendly people who are also very helpful and you absolutely learn A LOT about city services and NYC government agencies.

    Cons

    Where do I start?!? Too much micro managing, trying to get days off is beyond ridiculous and is like pulling teeth just to get leave requests approved!!! They (Workforce) have an absolutely ridiculous and stupid rule that you can’t apply for leave requests beyond 90 days out and 9 times out of 10 the request gets denied. You can apply for vacation 3 months ahead of time and “the workforce powers that be” will... either get denied completely or you’ll get it “chopped up” like having 1 day approved, then the next 2 days denied and then the next day approved!!! I don’t know what kind of forecasting algorithms and formulas they use to forecast staffing needs for three months out (or even two months out), but having your requests denied for a vacation request three months out is in my opinion straight up BS!!!! The pay is quite low for all that 311 CCR workers have to do and for all the nonsense they have to go through and management are also too write up happy in that it doesn’t take much at all to get a write up. One minute late, write up....enter the wrong code, write up, say the wrong term or phrase, write up!! This place is too damn reliant on QA as if it is the end all, be all benchmark measurement indicators. This is the kind of job that you absolutely do not want to make at long term and make it a career!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    1. Quit with the micromanaging style 2. Absolutely ditch that stupid 90 day rule with regards to not being able to schedule vacation days beyond that time. 3. Memo to Workforce: The entire process of how to go about determining whether your request for time off gets approved absolutely must change ASAP!!! It is beyond unfair!!!

    NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2018-05-04
  10. "Computer Programmer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time

    Pros

    Good People to work with and great environment.

    Cons

    No way to move up.

    NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2018-03-05
Found 42 reviews