NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) Reviews

Updated 18 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 37 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) CEO Samir Saini
Samir Saini
0 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay compared to other IT peers, even among other agencies, we are paid among the lowest with zero discretionary salary increases(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Albany, NY

      I have been working at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      vacation, sick, and personal time off

      Cons

      career advancement isnt the best

      Advice to Management

      hire and promote the right employee and from within instead of losing your best employee because you wont promote them.

      NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2019-03-18
    • "Good place to start terrible place to stay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Developer in Brooklyn, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      My team is awesome. Always playing some kind of office prank or interesting discussion.

      Cons

      Everything else. literally, EVERYTHING about this job is terrible. If I didn't have such a great team I would have left this place years ago.

      Advice to Management

      Take your head out of your anal cavity.

      NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2018-06-22
    • "Politically driven but better than other agencies"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time

      Pros

      Due to the short staff, one can really be involved in all kind of projects as long as you desire to be proactive.

      Cons

      Place is short staffed and is hard to get things done.

      NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2018-04-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Call Center Representative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - 311 Call Center Representative in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time

      Pros

      Really friendly people who are also very helpful and you absolutely learn A LOT about city services and NYC government agencies.

      Cons

      Where do I start?!? Too much micro managing, trying to get days off is beyond ridiculous and is like pulling teeth just to get leave requests approved!!! They (Workforce) have an absolutely ridiculous and stupid rule that you can’t apply for leave requests beyond 90 days out and 9 times out of 10 the request gets denied. You can apply for vacation 3 months ahead of time and “the workforce powers that be” will either...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      1. Quit with the micromanaging style 2. Absolutely ditch that stupid 90 day rule with regards to not being able to schedule vacation days beyond that time. 3. Memo to Workforce: The entire process of how to go about determining whether your request for time off gets approved absolutely must change ASAP!!! It is beyond unfair!!!

      NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2018-05-04
    • "Computer Programmer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time

      Pros

      Good People to work with and great environment.

      Cons

      No way to move up.

      NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2018-03-05
    • "Awful environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Career Opportunities
      Former Employee - Deputy Director of Revenue Budget in New York, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The only pro for me was that I worked in the same building for 11 years prior to working here. It was a big mistake leaving to come here. I was treated horribly from day one with poor leadership and a cold shoulder.

      Cons

      Upper management is very comfortable and cozy with certain employees. They like who they like , and they get rid of people that they don’t like. I hated the open environment where you’re constantly being watched. It felt like being in a prison. This experience was enough to make me stay out of city government forever.

      Advice to Management

      Can’t really give advice to management because they seem to have he attitude of “know it all”. I can only give advice to those who want more out of their careers. Don’t work here, it’s a waste of time and a robotic environment where you will feel lonely all the time.

      NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2017-10-05
    • Helpful (2)

      "Government Technology"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)

      Pros

      Great place to start a career. This agency will give you a lot of exposure to the technology sector. DoITT has many great people that work tirelessly to keep the City's IT infrastructure running at its best. It's also rewarding to know some of the projects you're working on has a direct impact on people's lives.

      Cons

      Depending on what team you're working in, like anywhere else, it can be a drag. Politics in here can get overwhelming at times. It also seems like people that get paid the most here, do the least. Don't even think about getting a raise here, it's not happening, even if you get picked up for a title. The hoops you must jump through is not even worth it, they don't realize when good employees walk away.

      Advice to Management

      Reward those who contribute to the agency. As the market for jobs expand, opportunities lie elsewhere, understand that good people will walk away when you don't do the right thing.

      NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2017-05-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Technology management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time

      Pros

      Cutting edge technology and exposure to various areas

      Cons

      Not many opportunities to advace

      NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2017-05-06
    • "Nice place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) full-time

      Pros

      Pretty good environment, good work life balance.

      Cons

      Not tons of in-office perks.

      NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2017-04-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Customer Service Representative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT) part-time

      Pros

      Great environment to work in and lots of growth opportunities available

      Cons

      employment instability due to civil service requirement

      NYC Department of IT & Telecom (DOITT)2017-04-20
    Found 37 reviews