NYSL Promotions Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

NYSL Promotions Reviews

Updated 30 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
42%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
NYSL Promotions President Joseph Mannino (no image)
Joseph Mannino
31 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Legitimate Pyramid Scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager/Leader in Fairfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NYSL Promotions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some cool people in the office, and good opportunity if you have zero expectations, zero overhead, and no other responsibilities in your life. you can actually start your own business, but you're gonna have to work literally nonstop and don't think about taking a break or a vacation.

    Cons

    the CEO will yell at everyone and everything that moves, you will get degraded, demeaned, and belittled at every opportunity. you'll be going door to door in every kind weather six days a week. you'll be walking around neighborhoods and probably get yelled at by homeowners, and you'll also have the cops called on you so watch out for that. nobody will care if you show up or not because of the high turnover. there's an overall fake attitude that everyone gives off. this job is 100% commission so if you're looking for a steady salary go interview somewhere else because there's no guarantee that you'll get paid every week. they'll tell you that you'll make "at least $400 per week as a fallback" but that's not true at all. you will for your first check or two because they consider that an "advancement" but it's all a lie. don't sell, don't get paid. if you want a real career look elsewhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    learn that negative reinforcement and belittling everyone doesn't build a loyal workforce. you're just being rude.

    NYSL Promotions2019-07-30
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Stay farrrrrr away from this one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NYSL Promotions full-time

    Pros

    Really I can't think of a single pro.

    Cons

    Where to start? When I was interviewed I was told this was a marketing position. It is not. Don't be fooled, what they fail to tell you in your two interviews is that it is a door to door sales position where you will be walking around Clifton for 8-10 hours a day, sometimes in the snow or below 0 temperatures. Besides the fact that they hide that information in the interview process, I was told by Joe, the CEO himself that I would be paid $1000 a week. That was a lie. NYSL may comment on these negative reviews online and say that they have different compensation models or whatever, but I was told I would be making $1,000 a week. So, thinking this was a marketing desk job I took it. They insisted I come in the next week for training even though I told them I needed to give two weeks notice to my current job. Thank god I didn't quit my current job! I went in for the day of training and the first thing that struck me was that I had to put my coat and purse on a table with everyone else's stuff. They have a "game room" which I am sure never gets used, but no space for the employee's personal belongings which I was not comfortable leaving out around all of these strangers. Next, there are no desks, you stand for hours looking at white boards in groups talking about how you need to sell better and going over the sales pitch that I'm sure people don't want to hear. Finally, after two or three hours of that, Joe comes out to yell at everyone. I am not kidding, he comes out and yells at everyone that their sales aren't good enough, that they need to replicate him because he's so amazing. He made multiple off color comments at two of the females and has the worst potty mouth. He cursed at these employees like you wouldn't believe. Next all the employees have to go get changed into their verizon attire. Sadly, there doesn't seem to be enough space for them to change in private. Overall I had a terrible experience. To polish it all off I found out through some of the other employees that the pay was not what I was told. This was a sales job and I would be working six 12 hour days and make only what I sold. So it was all false from the beginning. I tell you, I was lucky enough to have kept my other job so I still had work because otherwise I would have been out of a job all together. I would recommend that you don't take this job because it's not worth it. Door-to-door sales isn't affective and in today's day and age it isn't safe.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't lie about pay, be honest with interviews and tell people it is a door-to-door sales position, give the employees space for personal items (like lockers) as well as a more private place to change clothes and tell Joe to watch his language. He isn't some gift to humanity and needs to not speak so poorly to people who are making him money. They seriously need to be more honest with people.

    NYSL Promotions2018-09-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Former Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NYSL Promotions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn a lot of good people and communication skills Learned a lot about sales and marketing more than I ever did at school Learned a lot about power home remodeling and verizon fios Learned how to cope with and overcome adversity

    Cons

    You will be going door to door in any weather condition imaginable, hurricanes, snowstorms, lava, through fire breathing dragons literally anything. You will be worked like a slave for very little pay, 12 hours a day, 5 days a week, as well as saturday which is a half day. Yeah, so your only day off is sunday where you're too tired to do anything but sleep. Regarding the pay it's commission only so you never know what you're going to get. Your demos/apps could go through, they might not and you don't get paid. That's the most exciting part knowing whether you made no money whatsoever or made a minuscule amount of money. Another thing I despised were those conference calls every Friday where I would listen to the most orwellian propoganda imaginable. Also the car rides where I had to fully focus on the field and was yelled at by my leaders because I wanted to play mario kart on the ds instead of focusing on the field and listening to the enchanted prophecies of other con artist salesman. The mentality in this business is obey every thing your bosses/rulers say and never question anything about the business or company. I'm very glad I left.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    NYSL Promotions2018-07-24
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Overall Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NYSL Promotions full-time

    Pros

    Great work enviroment, so much potential for growth! Excellent clients, out of all interviews I went to I felt the most comfortable with NYSL because of all the training and hand on experience you get! Great place to kickstart your career.

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to report.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    NYSL Promotions2018-03-09
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Skyline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NYSL Promotions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    none helpful people at all

    Cons

    The company needs alot better commnuncation with their empoylees. Another thing i saw was how the empoylees communicate on the phones they need to mean what they say, and when they are on the phones their is alot of disrcation that is happening that i bet the people on the phones can here. When they have a new employee they should be alot alot nicer and and explain it more then once and not get mad at the person for not understanding it the first time. When they have a new person they should be more welcoming to them. Also how they just walk into the offices and talk about toher people behind there backs. It is a very very unprofessional enironment.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not good Managment what i saw

    NYSL Promotions2018-04-26
  6. Helpful (9)

    "SAVE YOURSELF NOW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Fairfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NYSL Promotions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely nothing positive about this hostile work environment and the job itself....

    Cons

    Owner is someone who yells, screams, and curses at you and the rest of his workers every single morning. If your a female he’ll try to pass sexual comments right in front of you and everyone else even though he’s about 60 years old, perverted, and somehow married... but they met in the business so all makes sense. There is absolutely nothing positive about this company because the mission statement that they have is totally a lie from what the employees are actually doing. They say that you will once become a business owner but that’s just to keep the rotation of people in and out of the doors because we are the reason the owners make money in the first place. There is no consistent pay because if you don’t have at least 6 “sales” a week...however many days less of sales you have - that’s the amount of days you are working for free ... and no one gets 6 sales (demo’s) a week... you are lucky with 2-3. And that’s all you get paid on...and it’s 260 per sale - granted there’s also a 20% chance that all the leads you produce will actually go through as a sale. And you get taxes taken out of each 260 that your “owed”. This company works for 2 clients...Power home remodeling group and Verizon wireless. So what’s your job here? A DOOR-TO-DOOR salesman. Literally walking around outside for 8 hours a day 6 days a week with people getting angry at u all day for harassing them and knocking on their doors because they use the same towns over and over again and just annoy the same exact people. It’s absolutely ridiculous this company even still exists as a business because it’s nothing more than a scam to get people to work for free. You can work anywhere between 80-100 hours a week here and u don’t get compensated for ANY of your time in the office. They talk nonsense about bonuses but really you never get any bonuses or if u do earn one , they would probably just change the rules that day to make it like you never should have gotten rewarded in the first place. They also do trips to Dallas every 2-3 months where the “ Top Leaders” go to a meeting... the reason why they even have this event that often is because that’s how often the group of employees cycle in and out of the doors to this shot “business”. You also have the opportunity to hire and see for yourself how hard it is to get people to start at this company where your intended on “building a team” in order to get to management. The whole company is a hoax and I would never recommend this job to my worst enemy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get new management.

    NYSL Promotions2018-04-08
  7. Helpful (3)

    "SCAM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NYSL Promotions

    Pros

    NONE, LIARS, NOT A MARKETING JOB.

    Cons

    lies on job description ... not marketing. Door to door sales.

    NYSL Promotions2018-04-06
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NYSL Promotions

    Pros

    Working here is really giving me more ways to improve on my skills and in the field of work that I definitely am passionate about! You learn a lot here within the different departments at our organization!

    Cons

    There are no cons at this organization!

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you are doing!

    NYSL Promotions2017-11-28
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Watch out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at NYSL Promotions full-time

    Pros

    There are really no pros other than they are nice.

    Cons

    Job postings are misleading. If your gut is telling you to not go, DONT GO!

    NYSL Promotions2017-12-13
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Not what it seems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at NYSL Promotions

    Pros

    Nice people and nice office . Up beat vibe . Very young staff . This job is More accommodating to the younger generation

    Cons

    They ask you to work very long hours for low pay . Need to make sales in order to make money

    NYSL Promotions2017-09-18
Found 44 reviews