Nalco Water Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nalco Water Reviews

Updated 2 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 246 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Nalco Water CEO Doug Baker
Doug Baker
80 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Not the same since take iver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nalco Water for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A good place for working parents very understanding with work life balance. Staff are good to work with.

    Cons

    Make you work hard for your benefits. Bonuses are not very good. Not the same place since ecolab took over. Made to feel like a number not a person.

    Advice to Management

    Look for talent from within not outside

    Nalco Water2015-05-10
  2. "I have worked for NALCO AN ECOLAB COMPANY for more than 3 years. Great challenging environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nalco Water full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging engineering environment in numerous kinds of industrial fields shaped me as an engineer. Good salary, company car, accommodation and daily food...

    Cons

    After some point if cant be promoted becomes super monotone.

    Nalco Water2019-06-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "No training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Supply Chain in Naperville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nalco Water full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Easily accessible to the major highways, close to home, large corporation that offers growth potential.

    Cons

    ZERO training provided. Staff had no time to train me, forgot they hired me & my start date. Gave me an outdated manual to try and follow. I quickly decided I needed to look for new employment and not waste my time nor the companies. Unfortunately, it wasn’t a good fit.

    Advice to Management

    Have a training program in place and remember when your employee is going to come on board.

    Nalco Water2019-05-04
  4. "Great knowledge and experience opportunity/amiable work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Engineer 
    Recommends

    I worked at Nalco Water full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Got to know so much about the Water treatment chemistry and applications with the help of experts in department. Employee friendly work environment

    Cons

    Appropriate compensation to reward talented individuals has to be worked upon.

    Nalco Water2019-01-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "No new skills are developed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nalco Water full-time

    Pros

    Good for fresher with chemical engineering background

    Cons

    No skills being developed, monotonous, no proper hike

    Nalco Water2018-11-02
  6. "Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Nalco Water full-time

      Pros

      Good location for working in the Chicago suburbs.

      Cons

      Management was difficult to work with.

      Nalco Water2018-04-26
    • Helpful (5)

      "Ecolab led to difunctional management of delivery specialists"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Transportation Manager in Saint Charles, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Nalco Water full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Pre-Ecolab cared about the employees. Transition to Ecolab really discounted the role of employees and their personal time and quality of life.

      Cons

      Transition to Ecolab resulted in change of priorities. It was 'sold' as a merger. It was a buy out. Shareholders seemed happy about that. Former Nalco employees not so much

      Advice to Management

      Don't forget to recognize the 'little' guy.

      Nalco Water2018-04-09
    • Helpful (2)

      "nalco"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Logistics in Glenwood, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Nalco Water full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      clean and good work enviroment

      Cons

      if you get injured , not very happy with you for being honest and will try to do everything to make it your fault

      Advice to Management

      listen to your employee's

      Nalco Water2018-03-01
    • "Fianance or Country Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Latin America Treasurer Regional Manager in Mexico, Distrito Federal
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Nalco Water full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great Technology, emphasis in team work. Nalco was the first or second player in its fields so product offerings used to offer great business sense. Financial strategy was sound and focus in challenging but attainable objectives

      Cons

      Unfortunately Nalco was acquired by Ecolab and my regional position was redundant. In my opinion Ecolab lacks a sense of laser focus on core strengths. Likes to do everything using its resources instead to outsource no-added-value activities

      Advice to Management

      Keep or adopt good practices no matter where they come from

      Nalco Water2017-12-07
    • "Good company great sales training"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Product Marketing in Naperville, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Nalco Water full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great location, very nice work environment. Very nice, smart people. Great on boarding and training programs. Take advantage of all the in house training programs.

      Cons

      After the Ecolab merger the management team was unstable and devisions were not well organized. During this transition it was very unstable work environment. I believe as time passes Ecolab will solve these problems.

      Nalco Water2017-11-30
    Found 246 reviews