Nando's UK Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nando's UK Reviews

Updated 9 December 2018
391 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "free food everyday, nice atmosphere" (in 64 reviews)

  • "A free meal every shift - sometimes twice if you work long enough" (in 43 reviews)

Cons
  • "After long hours in the busy shift clean restaurant" (in 38 reviews)

  • "The only thing I do struggle with is work/life balance" (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Partner Patrao"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Patrao in York, England
    Current Employee - Partner Patrao in York, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Autonomy to run your business the way you feel is the right way.

    Huge investment in the development of their people.

    As a Patrao I get to be a part of more around the region and have a positive impact not just in my restaurant but in the region as well as the company.

    Very well looked after with a strong emphasis on work life balance and some amazing financial incentives as well.

    Biggest thing is they embrace the differences in people and help you bring out the best in others whilst improving yourself along the way.

    Cons

    Genuinley cannot think of much other than it would be good to see more restaurants open in the north west.

    Advice to Management

    Be yourself and really push your boundaries because the company will support you 100%

    Nando's UK Response

    18 Oct 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Amazing comments, many thanks for your review. Always great to hear from a Patrao loving their time in the Nando's family :-)


  2. "Front of house"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House Staff in Castleford, England
    Current Employee - Front of House Staff in Castleford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Potential to progress, supportive management, excellent culture

    Cons

    Nothing one of the best companies to work for

    Nando's UK Response

    12 Dec 2018 – Nando's UK

    Great to hear you're loving your time in the Nando's family, many thanks for your review!

  3. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front of House in Sheffield, England
    Current Employee - Front of House in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay, free meals on shift. Relatively flexible shifts, good banter with other staff. Managers are chill, and you can get discounts off a lot of things. Paid weekly.

    Cons

    Can have very busy shifts, which can be stressful and can have customers who are a pain to deal with. Sometimes can do long shifts.

    Advice to Management

    Consider the lives of staff and the mental health they have. Take that into consideration, we ain't just robots!

    Nando's UK Response

    12 Dec 2018 – Nando's UK

    Hey, many thanks for your comments. We'd like to look a bit further into your comments around mental health of staff members - if you can email HRsupport@nandos.co.uk with more detail that'd be great.... More


  4. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Briston, England
    Current Employee - Cashier in Briston, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nando's UK part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    - Competitive wage
    - Free of charge food on breaks
    - Paid breaks
    - Company parties and days out
    - Flexible working hours
    - Easy restaurant transfers
    - Opportunity to climb within the company (HR etc)
    - Friendly work teams
    - Company competitions
    - Family day
    - Keep tips or spend tips on a group day / night out

    Cons

    - Long days
    - Late finishing hours depending on location of restaurant

    Nando's UK Response

    12 Dec 2018 – Nando's UK

    Morning, thanks for your comments. Great to hear you're generally enjoying your time in the Nando's family, but it may be best to speak to your Patrao about your hours to see if they can help support... More


  5. "Hard Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Nando's UK full-time

    Pros

    Meals on Shift, Flexible

    Cons

    Late hours till 3AM, hard work running around,

    Advice to Management

    None


  6. "Nandoca role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Nando's UK full-time

    Pros

    Great social side, fast paced work, fun and family feel

    Cons

    Can be repetitive work

    Nando's UK Response

    20 Nov 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Hey, thanks for your review. Great to hear you generally enjoyed your time in the Nando's family.


  7. "Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK part-time

    Pros

    The food was great

    Cons

    Click staff who speak their own language around you

    Nando's UK Response

    5 Dec 2018 – Nando's UK

    Morning, thanks for your comments. We'll be more than happy to look into your feedback further if you wish to email us with more detail to HRsupport@nandos.co.uk.

  8. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK part-time

    Pros

    Free meals on shift, staff days out and staff discounts.

    Cons

    Stressful over the weekends and closing down the restaurant till early hours of the morning.

    Nando's UK Response

    29 Nov 2018 – Nando's UK

    Hey, thanks for your review. We would suggest speaking to your Patrao about your comments, to see if they can help support you if necessary with the hours and workload.


  9. "Nando's Manchester Fort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nandoca in Manchester City Centre, England
    Former Employee - Nandoca in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The work culture is great, and they are lovely helpful people, their managers are really understanding and helpful and helped me out in a rough situation. They also helped me progress as a person to my next job, the workers are friendly and lovely and there is a great work social balance. I cannot understate how understanding and fair the managers are if you put the work in.

    Cons

    The work is hard, but they don't shy away from that, you work long hours and its a very busy shop of theirs.

    Advice to Management

    None, they did a great job.

    Nando's UK Response

    7 Nov 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Really great comments, many thanks for your review :-) hope you're enjoying your job wherever you are now.


  10. "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK part-time

    Pros

    Great bonuses, great staff nights out, supportive management

    Cons

    Sometimes holidays are forgotten on rota

    Advice to Management

    Tiny bit more organised with holidays

    Nando's UK Response

    7 Nov 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Hey, thanks for your comments. It would be best to speak to your Patrao about the rota to see if they can make any necessary improvements for you.