Nando's UK Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nando's UK Reviews

Updated 11 January 2019
401 reviews

Filter

Filter


Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "free food everyday, nice atmosphere" (in 64 reviews)

  • "Lots of benefits including free meals and trips overseas" (in 45 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be long hours if working in restaurants" (in 41 reviews)

  • "The only thing I do struggle with is work/life balance" (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Nando's Manchester Fort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nandoca in Manchester City Centre, England
    Former Employee - Nandoca in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The work culture is great, and they are lovely helpful people, their managers are really understanding and helpful and helped me out in a rough situation. They also helped me progress as a person to my next job, the workers are friendly and lovely and there is a great work social balance. I cannot understate how understanding and fair the managers are if you put the work in.

    Cons

    The work is hard, but they don't shy away from that, you work long hours and its a very busy shop of theirs.

    Advice to Management

    None, they did a great job.

    Nando's UK Response

    7 Nov 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Really great comments, many thanks for your review :-) hope you're enjoying your job wherever you are now.


  2. "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK part-time

    Pros

    Great bonuses, great staff nights out, supportive management

    Cons

    Sometimes holidays are forgotten on rota

    Advice to Management

    Tiny bit more organised with holidays

    Nando's UK Response

    7 Nov 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Hey, thanks for your comments. It would be best to speak to your Patrao about the rota to see if they can make any necessary improvements for you.

  3. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier in Manchester, England
    Former Employee - Cashier in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -Great People
    - Free food
    -Flexible Hours

    Cons

    - Gets really busy and often understaffed

    Nando's UK Response

    7 Nov 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Hey, thanks for your review. We'll be happy to look into your less positive comments about your time in the Nando's family if you want to drop us an email with more detail to HRsupport@nandos.co.uk.... More


  4. "A wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK full-time

    Pros

    True family values. If you work for Nando’s, you are entering a work family who will have your back and truly look after you as a family. There’s a cosy feeling of safety in being in that environment

    Cons

    It can be difficult to work your way up the ladder as staff turnover is very low. This can sometimes make it feel a little ‘dead end’.

    Advice to Management

    Never let this culture die, it’s what makes nandos special

    Nando's UK Response

    7 Nov 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Morning, many thanks for your comments. Great to hear you're enjoying your time with the Nando's family, but we would recommend speaking to your Patrao about progression and your goals to see how... More


  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Nando's UK full-time

    Pros

    Good staff members which is nice

    Cons

    Late shifts can be difficult for some people

    Nando's UK Response

    7 Nov 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Hey, thanks for your comments! We would suggest for you to speak to your Patrao about the late finishes to see if they can help support at all with this.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    People / Culture / Fun / Great food / Opportunities to progress / Great training

    Cons

    I have to travel quite far for work

    Nando's UK Response

    1 Nov 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Hey, many thanks for your comments. Hope your commute isn't too stressful, it may be worth speaking to your Patrao about it to see what they can do at all to support you.


  7. "Good pay, hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Nando's UK full-time

    Pros

    The free lunch. £10 first break, and £5 second break if you worked enough hours.

    Cons

    long hours, stressful environment and very fast pace of work

    Nando's UK Response

    7 Nov 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Morning, thanks for your review. We'll be happy to look into your comments further if you drop us an email to HRsupport@nandos.co.uk.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "People are the heart of this business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Assistant
    Current Employee - First Assistant
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Nando's really looks after it's people. They really do live and breathe the values. Pay and bonuses are great, they are very flexible when applying for flexible working and they really help you when it comes to adjusting the rotas for family etc. It genuinely has a great culture. Yearly trips away, regional social events.

    Cons

    It varies from restaurant to restaurant but I feel there are some unfortunate ones out there that just do not have the right budget for wages (and others) so constantly overspending which brings motivation down and which is also felt in the management team. Although this is up to the Patrao to sort out, I think that some Patraos don't have much of an idea of what they are doing when it comes to budgeting.

    This is quite minor compared to the pros of working for Nando's, this is the only thing I could really think of.

    Nando's UK Response

    24 Oct 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Morning, many thanks for your comments. Great to hear you're generally enjoying your time in the Nando's family, but we'd like to look into your less positive comments further if you wish to email... More


  9. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Nando's UK part-time

    Pros

    Free meal allowance per shift

    Cons

    Not understanding of shift flexibility and studies

    Nando's UK Response

    15 Nov 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Hey, thanks for your review. We'll be happy to look into your comments further if you wish to drop an email with more detail to HRsupport@nandos.co.uk.


  10. "nandos review on their staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Nando's UK part-time

    Pros

    brill atmosphere
    great staff
    treat staff well

    Cons

    too long shifts
    closes were very late

    Nando's UK Response

    24 Oct 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Hey, thanks for your comments - it would be best to speak to your Patrao regarding your comments about your shifts and they will support you where they can around this.