Nando's UK Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nando's UK Reviews

Updated 11 January 2019
401 reviews

Filter

Filter


Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "free food everyday, nice atmosphere" (in 64 reviews)

  • "Lots of benefits including free meals and trips overseas" (in 45 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be long hours if working in restaurants" (in 41 reviews)

  • "The only thing I do struggle with is work/life balance" (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Nandoca in London, England
    Current Employee - Nandoca in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nando's UK part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Free meal on shift, discount, flexible

    Cons

    Finish as late as 1am sometimes

    Nando's UK Response

    26 Sep 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Morning! Thanks for your comments. We would suggest letting your Patrao know about your comments regarding the hours, as they may be able to help support you with that.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Young, Vibrant and Flexible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nandoca in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Former Employee - Nandoca in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Easy to talk to managers
    Surrounded by fun people
    Days/Nights out with staff fully paid for by Nando’s
    Great for Students

    Cons

    You have to stay behind too long to clean after your shift
    Not so good for older people

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Nando's UK Response

    12 Sep 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Morning, many thanks for your review. Great to hear you generally enjoyed your time with us, but we'll be more than happy to look further into your less positive comments if you wish to drop us an... More

  3. "nandos scustomer care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nandoca in London, England
    Former Employee - Nandoca in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK (Less than a year)

    Pros

    met some cool people i made friends with

    Cons

    management was awful because they treated the staff badly

    Advice to Management

    treated staff member poorly

    Nando's UK Response

    3 Oct 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Morning, thanks for your review. We'd like to look into your comments further, if you're happy to email HRsupport@nandos.co.uk with more detail.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "A chilled and fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Very flexible and good for students

    Cons

    Sometimes a very late finish, some times 1:30am

    Nando's UK Response

    5 Sep 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Morning, thanks for your comments. Really great to hear you're enjoying your time in the Nando's family, but we would suggest speaking to your Patrao about the late finishes to see if they can help... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Restaurant Manager in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Current Employee - Assistant Restaurant Manager in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good work life balance,

    Good perks and up to 4K bonus

    Assistant trip each year

    Cons

    Late nights

    Travel to get to work

    Not enough managers sometimes


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Nandos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Griller in Coventry, England
    Current Employee - Griller in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Family feel
    - Supportive environment
    - Available progression within the restaurant

    Cons

    No cons to the business

    Nando's UK Response

    5 Sep 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Always great to hear from a proud Nandoca, many thanks for your review!


  7. "Good, Too much though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainee in Brighton, England
    Former Employee - Trainee in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Free food, good discount and decent hours

    Cons

    They except nandos to be your life

    Advice to Management

    Student can’t make nandos their priority

    Nando's UK Response

    26 Sep 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Morning, many thanks for your review. We'll be more than happy to look further into your less positive comments if you wish to drop us an email with more detail to HRsupport@nandos.co.uk.

  8. "Nandoca - Windsor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nandoca in Windsor, South East England, England
    Former Employee - Nandoca in Windsor, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Paid weekly
    A free meal every shift - sometimes twice if you work long enough
    40% friends and family discount Mon-Thurs and 20% Fri-Sun
    Shifts can be flexible if you find someone to cover you

    Cons

    Can become very busy and repetitive, which can be exhausting and leave you feeling like a robot at the end of the day
    Work unfavourable hours - can finish at 1/2am if you are closing and sometimes have to work weekends

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you give out breaks fairly and legally - sometimes I've had to work many hours straight and was not been allowed to have a break, even-though I was entitled to one

    Nando's UK Response

    5 Sep 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Morning, many thanks for your review. We'll be more than happy to look into your comments further if you want to drop us an email to HRsupport@nandos.co.uk with more detail.


  9. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Fun, exciting, some good training opportunities but minimal progression

    Cons

    The hours!!! Late nights, early starts, working weekends, understaffed

    Nando's UK Response

    24 Aug 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Hey, thanks for your comments. If you wish to email HRsupport@nandos.co.uk with more info around your comments, we'll be happy to look further into them.


  10. "Griller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Griller in London, England
    Current Employee - Griller in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Generous discount, flexible hours and positive environment

    Cons

    Relatively unprofessional for the most part, occasional lack of staff

    Nando's UK Response

    24 Aug 2018 – Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Hey, thanks for your review. We'll be happy to look into the cons you mentioned if you want to email HRsupport@nandos.co.uk with more detail.