Nando's UK "meal every shift" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nando's UK Employee Reviews about "meal every shift"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 474 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Free food with every single shift(in 72 reviews)

  • "Free meal up to 10 pounds after each shift;(in 55 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "meal every shift"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "From cashier to supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    The people are possibly the biggest perk of this job. You create lasting friendships with the people you work with. Benefits of the job include paid break and a free meal every shift. Between 3/4 regional parties with free drinks and travel for all staff Management wise, you can get up to £4000 bonus depending on restaurant performance, as well as trips abroad sometimes. If you're a 'nandos' person you can work your...

    Show More

    Cons

    It always seems unorganised... the same problems are still happening 3 years later. Understaffed on shift as the budgets won't allow for more staff. Long hours, a 12 hour shift is not unusual, and usually get out at 2:30 AM on a friday/saturday due to all the cleaning at the end of the shift. At times it can feel a little 'clique-y', in order to progress there must be a position available, so it depends who knows who...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    In terms of general manager in the restaurant, spend more time with your staff and management team. In terms of regional manager, really spend more time in your restaurants! Some staff don't know who their regional manager is.

    Nando's UK2019-03-05

    Nando's UK Response

    March 7, 2019Nando's UK

    Morning, many thanks for your comments. Great to hear how you've progressed with us but we'd like to help further in terms of the Cons you mentioned - if you can drop an email to HRsupport@nandos.co.uk about them, we'll look into them and get back to you.

  2. "Nandoca - Windsor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nandoca in Windsor, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nando's UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid weekly A free meal every shift - sometimes twice if you work long enough 40% friends and family discount Mon-Thurs and 20% Fri-Sun Shifts can be flexible if you find someone to cover you

    Cons

    Can become very busy and repetitive, which can be exhausting and leave you feeling like a robot at the end of the day Work unfavourable hours - can finish at 1/2am if you are closing and sometimes have to work weekends

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you give out breaks fairly and legally - sometimes I've had to work many hours straight and was not been allowed to have a break, even-though I was entitled to one

    Nando's UK2018-09-03

    Nando's UK Response

    September 5, 2018Attraction & Campaigns Advisor

    Morning, many thanks for your review. We'll be more than happy to look into your comments further if you want to drop us an email to HRsupport@nandos.co.uk with more detail.

  3. "Family orientated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Huddersfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - Family vibes. Lots of opportunity to make genuine friends - Flexible hours that fit around study - Management team very approachable - Free meal every shift worked - Paid breaks - Team building days - Regional parties with other restaurants in the region - Opportunities for promotion

    Cons

    - No tips (but these do go towards team build days and parties) - Work itself can be repetitive - When working on a closing shift, these can go on for 1-2 hours more than expected - A minority of managers can be lazy at times

    Nando's UK2018-03-19
  4. "Cashier/ Nandoca experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Nando's UK part-time

    Pros

    Meal every shift! - This makes living as a student much easier Team members/other employees- Everyone lives the Nando's values and are truly lovely to work with. It has become my second family! Shifts- It's shift work so easy to fit around your studies and it's very easy and flexible to swap shifts with your co-worker meaning you can still have a social life Investment- Nando's really invest in their employees....

    Show More

    Cons

    - barely any.. except late nights when on a close which is expected in this line of work.

    Advice to Management

    keep being upbeat and positive- it's the people that make Nando's the best company I've worked for.

    Nando's UK2018-01-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Nando's UK - more than just a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patrao in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Feel part of something special, from donating chicken to local charities to all the fantastic things the company does for its people - right the way back to the chilli farmers. Huge focus on being more than just a job for nandocas - life skills and personal development, as well as achievable progression career paths. Fantastic internal progression rate - from nandoca through to Patrao (general managers) and much more!...

    Show More

    Cons

    Generally evenings and weekends are busier but rotas are flexible.

    Nando's UK2017-03-23
  6. "Waiter - Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waiter 

    I worked at Nando's UK part-time

    Pros

    The restaurant was very busy but we had enough staff to match the demand, so we weren't ever expected to put two people's work load in. Friendly staff and usually good relations with the management, just depends where you work I guess. Tend to be quite flexible as well and put you before work, so asking for time off etc. is never an issue unless its late notice. Wage was 7.20 when I left, it rose with the new Living Wage....

    Show More

    Cons

    Not really an opportunity to earn tips. All tips go towards a staff night out, which is good as well but I'd rather have the money myself to be honest. Not that I was trying to move up the ladder but it seems like it takes a long time with people having to wait years before going up to supervisor and then manager etc.

    Nando's UK2016-09-26
  7. "Nandoca of 2 Year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Nando's UK full-time

    Pros

    Free £10 meal every shift No split shifts/short shifts Good Pay Fully paid team builds/regoinal parties Good Management

    Cons

    Late finishes as you have to clean the restaurant and kitchen/grill after shift (which can be quite gross)

    Advice to Management

    Try reduce the high turn over of staff

    Nando's UK2016-07-01
  8. "Nando's Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Nando's UK

    Pros

    Free meal every shift, 40% off the bill during the week and 20% off at weekends. Flexible for students. Good holiday pay

    Cons

    Grillers don't get paid any more than floor staff

    Nando's UK2015-11-14
  9. "Review of Nandos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nandoca - Host/Cashier/Coordinator in High Wycombe, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nando's UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Plenty of hours available - Lots of potential to progress within the buisness - Free meal every shift

    Cons

    - Work predominately with young staff - tend to be immature - The attitude of employees/managers in Nandos is too laid back and unprofessional - The staff get away with too much - not cleaning enough/swearing on the hop floor etc.

    Advice to Management

    - Be firmer on staff - Set higher standards - Be more aware of staff who are not pulling their weight - Be better role models (For example, you can't expect Nandocas to be on time when you're not).

    Nando's UK2015-11-04
Found 474 reviews