National Institute for Health and Care Excellence Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

National Institute for Health and Care Excellence Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence CEO Andrew Dillon (no image)
Andrew Dillon
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "We all need flexibility!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee Engagement Advisor in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Institute for Health and Care Excellence part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I didn't realise until I was offered the post how positive NICE is with regards to flexible working, 80% of the workforce has some form of flexible working which is invaluable in the busy world we live in today! Great offices and teams with an ideal location for commuters, I couldn't have asked for a better place to work :-)

    Cons

    Honestly haven't come across any reason to be unhappy to date!

    National Institute for Health and Care Excellence2018-10-31
  2. "Great leadership - poor culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Institute for Health and Care Excellence full-time

    Pros

    CEO very strategic and personable

    Cons

    Blame culture amongst middle management

    National Institute for Health and Care Excellence2019-10-14
  3. "No support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at National Institute for Health and Care Excellence full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Able to flexibly work, able to work from home one day a week.

    Cons

    The downsides would be the fact staff are not properly supported within their job roles, it seems as though mental health for example is not taken serious or into consideration and staff end up being treated unfairly. Managers also back pedal on what they say they are going to do, but then do another.

    Advice to Management

    Support your staff more.

    National Institute for Health and Care Excellence2019-08-06
  4. "Working at NICE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at National Institute for Health and Care Excellence full-time

    Pros

    Exciting content and significant policy impact

    Cons

    Too management led, rigid, no prospect for promotion when senior enough...

    Advice to Management

    Change management!

    National Institute for Health and Care Excellence2019-03-06
  5. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apprentice in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Institute for Health and Care Excellence full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Work hours and benefits

    Cons

    not much room for progression. some senior staff cab be quite rude

    National Institute for Health and Care Excellence2018-11-16
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great mission and people, slow to change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at National Institute for Health and Care Excellence full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and work life balance Flexible hours and Toil Working from home when needed Generous people policies Great mission to bring consistency to the NHS Free tea and coffee in the offices City centre location

    Cons

    Very process driven Slow to adapt to change Senior team are not always connected with the people on the floor Low career opportunities from mid to senior management - minimal roles between 8a and 8c/d No talent management Quite a directive environment. CEO tells you and you do it.

    Advice to Management

    Get a bit closer to the teams son the floor and help retain and develop them so there are opportunities to progress inside the organisation. Move with the times!!!

    National Institute for Health and Care Excellence2018-08-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Very interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Institute for Health and Care Excellence full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They trust you to get on with things They are very supportive of development needs Flexible working environment Interesting area to work in Feel like you are making a real difference Accepting of challenge

    Cons

    Employees are able to coast and not be performance managed which can be difficult if they are on your team

    National Institute for Health and Care Excellence2018-08-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great organisation, Great People, Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Institute for Health and Care Excellence full-time

    Pros

    I worked at NICE for nearly 6 years in the CHTE team. I had an overwhelmingly good experience during my time there. I was supported significantly, both on a personal and professional level. I felt the management genuinely cared about it's staff, and worked hard to give people opportunities. The people are some of the most hardworking and intelligent I have ever come across. It was a massive decision for me to... leave In my new role, I now realise how well trained I was. My line managers and superiors always made time to try and upskill me. I was always offered the opportunity to take on new training, despite signficant resource challenges. Similarly, now looking back, I realise just how high quality the outputs are

    Show More

    Cons

    The only con to working here is the pressure the organisation is under. They continually do more with less; which leads to more pressure. I found during my time, the work was done, because the vast majority of people went the extra mile. I myself worked far more hours than in my contract. However, I was never pressured to do this. This team in particular, if given time and resource, could do incredible things. I... just hope they are given that opportunity.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give your talented staff opportunities, and remember to thank them. They go above and beyond, almost every day. A thank you goes a long way.

    National Institute for Health and Care Excellence2018-07-19
  9. Helpful (5)

    "No progression especially if you an ethnic minority...your chances are very slim"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Institute for Health and Care Excellence full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some of the staff are friendly to work with and some will nic and pic on everything you do.

    Cons

    Wasted 16 years of my life working even overtime and toil wasn't granted. Asking for training to progress my career it was never given in all the years I was with them, but as soon as the person who's face fits came in. Training was granted and promotion was given within months.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage diversity especially ethnic minority at management level. It's wrong moral and professional ethics for an employee to continue to stay in junior position for 16 years when they are willing to progress and you don't encourage and offer opportunities when they are willing.

    National Institute for Health and Care Excellence2018-08-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Institute for Health and Care Excellence full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Office in central location, free tea/coffee

    Cons

    Lack at enthusiasm amongst staff, bullying culture, high staff turnover, lack of trust in staff, micro management. If your lucky you may get flexible working options such as working from home & flexible start/finish times. Strict policies and procedures that don't reflect NHS guidance.

    Advice to Management

    Invest & trust your staff. Praise them.

    National Institute for Health and Care Excellence2018-07-23
Found 39 reviews