National Institute of Standards and Technology Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

National Institute of Standards and Technology Reviews

Updated 16 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
National Institute of Standards and Technology Acting Director Dr. Willie E. May
Dr. Willie E. May
42 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Quiet, lots of red-tape for small things such as appointments(in 12 reviews)

  • "zero inconvenient by working at nist as guest researcher(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great research environment, beautiful campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Engineer in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Institute of Standards and Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    NIST is a well-funded agency that attracts bright and dedicated researchers. The environment is very collaborative, and there are many opportunities to grow technically and non-technically (e.g. in-house training for leadership, project management). People tend to make long careers at NIST because it is a great place to work. The hours are very reasonable, one can readily achieve work-life balance. The campus is beautiful.

    Show More

    Cons

    NIST can be a slow moving bureaucracy. You will spend more time that seems necessary to fulfill managerial and procedural requirements. Promotions can be slow.

    National Institute of Standards and Technology2019-11-15
  2. "a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physicist in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends

    I worked at National Institute of Standards and Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    At NIST I was very happy to have smart co-workers, a great boss, and a supportive atmosphere. It was like being a faculty member at a university except with no teaching load and no pressure to apply for grants. I felt that I had essentially complete academic freedom to choose research topics. From the point of view of being able to concentrate on my research it was kind of a paradise.

    Cons

    If you work at NIST you will be a direct federal employee. This subjects you to the federal salary cap, which hasn't kept up with the cost of living in greater DC, nor with the salaries of comparable jobs in industry and academia.

    National Institute of Standards and Technology2019-10-24
  3. "I wish they had enough money for me to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at National Institute of Standards and Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great healthcare Lots of smart people who are passionate about their rewear h

    Cons

    Lots of government red tape and paper work Not enough funding to go around

    National Institute of Standards and Technology2019-10-30
  4. "Run...cog in a wheel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Officer in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at National Institute of Standards and Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I found nothing at NIST to be a pro...unless you are a scientist. That might be the only job where you might not deal with systems from 20 years ago. Do an internship and realize your life means more.

    Cons

    Watch our government money being wasted on staff just hanging out. So much paperwork for not much progress. And very little to no reward. HR in Gaithersburg, MD was not helpful with any aspect of hiring or the process. Office staff just pushed papers to get staff to travel for conferences that were unnecessary and could have been a conference call. Supposed to have work flexible hours but unless your boss approved you either brave a winter storm or take time off. The world is moving in a different direction and grads for 2020 will not take a job that has so many restrictions and you will lose the best and brightest because NIST is behind the times.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wasted Money on so many process that are obsolete. If you allow one person to work at home during a storm then you should allow all to have the same understand. No growth for those who are not scientists. I had dreams of improvements to onboarding but so much red tape that just brings the employees down to a cog in a wheel...

    National Institute of Standards and Technology2019-11-16
  5. "Rewarding and interesting research position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Institute of Standards and Technology part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great bosses, positive atmosphere, interesting work

    Cons

    Lengthy on-boarding process, obscure HR processes

    National Institute of Standards and Technology2019-10-10
  6. "Computer Science/Engineering based job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Computer Scientist 

    I have been working at National Institute of Standards and Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work on some of the cutting edge technologies. Good work life balance. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Being a government research lab, salary is lower than private research labs.

    National Institute of Standards and Technology2019-10-21
  7. "Great culture, but low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computer Scientist in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Institute of Standards and Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of vacation time. Supportive atmosphere.

    Cons

    Low pay for industry. Tech stack is not modern.

    National Institute of Standards and Technology2019-08-28
  8. "Good Employer and great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physical Scientist in Gaithersburg, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at National Institute of Standards and Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoyed working for NIST I thought it wwas a great learning oppertunity.

    Cons

    NIST generally only Hires 2-4 year Term positions

    National Institute of Standards and Technology2019-08-07
  9. "Great people. Awesome work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - EE IV 

    I worked at National Institute of Standards and Technology full-time

    Pros

    Best of the best colleagues

    Cons

    Low salary compared to industry

    National Institute of Standards and Technology2019-08-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Play it safe, stay for life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Utility Operator in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at National Institute of Standards and Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You have to either just stop showing up or commit a crime to get fired. Like, you seriously have to try,

    Cons

    You better hope someone suddenly has to move because that's the only way you are ever moving up.

    Advice to Management

    Retire. Please.

    National Institute of Standards and Technology2019-07-11
Found 180 reviews