National Oilwell Varco Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

National Oilwell Varco Reviews

Updated Nov 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
National Oilwell Varco CEO Clay C. Williams (no image)
Clay C. Williams
555 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Must start investing in renewable energy as the oil and gas industry goes opposite the sustainable world we want to build(in 59 reviews)

  • "Certain positions are prone to layoffs during the downturn in the industry(in 47 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Bestest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    all round qualiteh employer and friend

    Cons

    shame couldnae stay bu had tae go!

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work and hit them sales targets

    National Oilwell Varco2018-01-08
  2. "Interesting Work but difficult trading conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Gloucester, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very interesting and technically challenging work

    Cons

    The oil and gas sector continues to struggle

    Advice to Management

    Experienced and knowledgeable people are being lost in favour of less experienced and knowledgeable people

    National Oilwell Varco2019-11-01
  3. "Oil and Gas Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Manager in Stonehouse, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good progressive company, investor in people - progressed my career from a production engineer, to a manufacturing engineer, to a continuous improvements engineer to manufacturing manager

    Cons

    Oil and gas industry is in a downturn, industry is cyclical and we see downturns

    National Oilwell Varco2019-10-08
  4. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Leader 

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time

    Pros

    Stonehouse is a good place to work.

    Cons

    Letdown badly by Conroe, USA

    National Oilwell Varco2019-10-03
  5. "Oil and Gas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Assembler in Stonehouse, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good money and good benefits

    Cons

    No loyalty to employees

    Advice to Management

    A companies biggest asset is its employees

    National Oilwell Varco2019-10-12
  6. "Oil & Gas Industry Manufacturing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Cheltenham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Produces everything an oil or gas exploration company needs in the field

    Cons

    Has suffered in the 2014 downturn and is still on the back foot

    Advice to Management

    Stabilise the company, and appreciate your workforce

    National Oilwell Varco2019-07-08
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance at NOV

    Cons

    Not a huge amount of variety in terms of work

    National Oilwell Varco2019-05-28
  8. "Good company especially for new employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Engineer in Oldham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good environment, busy, good package for new starters

    Cons

    Pay not good for longer serving employees

    National Oilwell Varco2019-05-16
  9. "Not very organised at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Welder in Montrose, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Plenty of overtime, good hours

    Cons

    No leadership, no opertunitiy to go further

    Advice to Management

    More drive and organisation required

    National Oilwell Varco2019-05-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Design Engineer in Montrose, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at National Oilwell Varco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good salary bonus and working 35 h a week. As long as is relevant to work there is no problem with getting training

    Cons

    Not much of a development plans for career progress.

    Advice to Management

    Put career progress paths in place. Introduce mentoring program on all levels. Be more innovative and don't afraid of trying new approaches.

    National Oilwell Varco2019-03-17
Found 1717 reviews