Nationwide Building Society Customer Representative Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nationwide Building Society Customer Representative Reviews

Updated 5 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Nationwide Building Society CEO Joe Garner
Joe Garner
14 Ratings
  1. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

      I have been working at Nationwide Building Society part-time

      Pros

      Good for beginners who want secure job whilst getting skills

      Cons

      Demanding work and very little room for error

      Nationwide Building Society2019-05-05
    • "eeeeek"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in London, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        friendly people and good management

        Cons

        unorganised and untrained staff need to stop waffling

        Advice to Management

        sort it out

        Nationwide Building Society2019-04-23

        Nationwide Building Society Response

        April 24, 2019Employer Brand Manager

        Sorry to hear that your time with us wasn't all positive. We place a huge emphasis on learning and development, investing in our people by offering a wide range of development opportunities. Good luck in your next role and keep in touch.

      • "Amazing place"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Career Opportunities
        Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

        I have been working at Nationwide Building Society part-time

        Pros

        Good managers, good pay, good bonus and great pension scheme

        Cons

        There is no cons I can think of

        Nationwide Building Society2019-04-04
      • "Customer service"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Training of staff very effective

        Cons

        Slow progression Outdated systems Employee turnover

        Nationwide Building Society2019-03-09
      • "Customer representative"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Supportive culture and great training (plus very good pension arrangements).

        Cons

        Head office in Swindon, very few opportunities for progression if you didn't want to move.

        Advice to Management

        More opportunities available up North, immense competition for progression with current Nationwide employees resulting in many talented workers leaving

        Nationwide Building Society2019-01-05
      • "Good overall"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Customer Representative 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good hours, good team morale and and working environment. Very rarely have to stay late. Opportunities for progression, they generally promote from within.

        Cons

        Money is low, and you are often running on minimum resource meaning a large workload. Saturday's are contracted and owed back, meaning 6 day weeks are often but time owed builds up...

        Nationwide Building Society2018-12-20
      • "Ok"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chesterfield, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Varied work, nice branch team

        Cons

        Poor pay, angry customers

        Advice to Management

        Look at pay scales

        Nationwide Building Society2018-11-10

        Nationwide Building Society Response

        November 20, 2018Employer Brand Manager

        We really appreciate such insight and feedback from our employees. We review pay and bonus schemes annually, and benchmarking takes place to make sure we appropriately reward our staff for their roles and location. All employees are also eligible for an annual pay award in July. ...

        Show More
      • "CSR"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        You learn good valuable customer facing skills, like asking the leading open questions, learning to go above and beyond and being positive generally.

        Cons

        Very poor for progression. I was surpassing norms (outcomes) on a regular basis bit never received the recognition. Passed an interview to be a personal banker but my role change was 'delayed for unknown reasons. Senior management were rude no matter the branch, egotistic and back chatters. There's better banks to work for in terms of pay and progression.

        Advice to Management

        Don't hold your top performers back and be too strict with monthly reviews.

        Nationwide Building Society2018-11-06

        Nationwide Building Society Response

        November 20, 2018Employer Brand Manager

        Thanks for your review, it really helps us as to understanding the parts of the business which are well received but equally, to learn of areas in which we can improve. Progressing talent continues to be a key priority and we're committed to the development of our employees, ...

        Show More
      • "Excellent place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Sheffield, England
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The support you get from managers is excellent. They recognise good employee and give opportunities to grow.

        Cons

        I moved on because they were extending the working hours as it would affect the time I spent with my kids.

        Advice to Management

        Nil

        Nationwide Building Society2018-09-23

        Nationwide Building Society Response

        November 19, 2018Employer Brand Manager

        Thanks for your four star review, much appreciated. Do keep in touch and if you're keen on returning in the future, you can stay update by creating a job alert on our careers site www.nationwide-jobs.co.uk

      • "Stressful at times"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chatham, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Nationwide Building Society for more than a year

        Pros

        Good people, can be a fun atmosphere

        Cons

        Target driven without saying it’s target driven, do more work than you’re paid for

        Nationwide Building Society2018-10-05

        Nationwide Building Society Response

        November 19, 2018Employer Brand Manager

        Thank you for your review, we always enjoy hearing from our current members of staff. In terms of targets, we don’t have targets in place for our branch teams. But we do encourage teams to have conversations with members to ensure that we are offering the right products and services.

      Found 42 reviews