Nationwide Building Society Mortgage Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nationwide Building Society Mortgage Consultant Reviews

Updated Dec 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Nationwide Building Society  Chief Executive Joe Garner
Joe Garner
5 Ratings
  1. "Good emloyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mortgage Consultant 

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay, offer loyalty rewards,

    Cons

    Poor incentive structure, weak technology

    Nationwide Building Society2019-09-25
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Consultant in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They employ great people, many people will become your friends. Great training is provided.

    Cons

    Less progression than there used to be as they are starting to get rid of managerial jobs. They have removed target driven bonuses which I feel has stopped people working as hard.

    Nationwide Building Society2019-12-08
  3. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of money being put into mortgage process and systems making the job better and easier.

    Cons

    Not many cons other than lack of progression

    Nationwide Building Society2019-09-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Brilliant community slowly being disbanded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fantastic systems, outstanding morals, strong processes, people genuinely seem to care, flexible and reliable

    Cons

    As the business expands and areas become larger, the community which makes Nationwide special is being taken apart. As teams turn into 'communities', ironically there is less of a community. No one knows what anyone else is doing and this negatively effects branch engagement.

    Advice to Management

    Go back to what Nationwide is about, not cheap adverts and cost cutting. The branch network is able to thrive, but only if focus is shifted from pointless metrics onto being commercial.

    Nationwide Building Society2019-08-23
  5. "Really good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Consultant in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay if you negotiate, progression if you try hard enough, work life balance brilliant, great managers,great colleagues. Great perks such as private healthcare, bonuses, pay reviews, childcare vouchers

    Cons

    Joe Garner. He does not fit with our culture and is slowly killing off a lot of what we do (apart from mortgages which is thriving - at the moment!)

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of a big bank ex boss - we don't need his "reduce people's job profile to the bare minimum so they get bored and leave and we don't have to make them redundant" attitude

    Nationwide Building Society2018-06-30
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Consultant in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible, good working hours, good managers and nice working environment

    Cons

    Very politically correct Constant change not communicated well

    Nationwide Building Society2018-05-16
  7. "Would highly recommend Nationwide Building Society!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Consultant in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Management team very good at taking on feedback and making relevant changes.

    Cons

    Very few. Not as many opportunities or path into management as you'd expect.

    Nationwide Building Society2018-04-10
  8. "Mortgage Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Consultant in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice attitude towards first level workers

    Cons

    Takes ages to her back from managers

    Advice to Management

    Employ more managers

    Nationwide Building Society2017-10-26
  9. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great ethos. Members first. Recognising and rewarding loyal members. Encourage progression.

    Cons

    There are none..genuinely a great place to work. I guess the fact that I have to work Saturdays but that's expected in retail banking

    Nationwide Building Society2016-07-28
  10. "Fantastic company for personal and professional development but be prepared to work for it if branch based"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Managers who care and genuinely encouraged to work with the best interests of customers at heart

    Cons

    Stressful and demanding. Not a job you can just turn up to every day and coast in.

    Advice to Management

    Reward branch staff better. We are often the people taking ownership of the most difficult and complex customer issues that cannot be sorted online/over the phone

    Nationwide Building Society2014-11-13
Found 10 reviews