Nationwide Building Society Personal Banking Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nationwide Building Society Manager Personal Banking Reviews

Updated Dec 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
32%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Nationwide Building Society  Chief Executive Joe Garner
Joe Garner
3 Ratings
  1. "Nice company, look after their staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banking Manager in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great support for progression, have re-located me multiple times to fit with my personal circumstances, Nationwide looks after their staff very well. Most staff are very friendly.

    Cons

    not the highest paying company

    Nationwide Building Society2017-10-29
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banking Manager in Waterlooville, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very generous pension contributions but at a cost of annual bonus

    Cons

    Poor L&D, minimal progression unless you know someone Targets inconsistent across branches

    Nationwide Building Society2019-12-11
  3. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banking Manager 

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Building society Care about our members

    Cons

    Career progression is limited Long hours as I’m in Westfield

    Nationwide Building Society2019-11-25
  4. "Good Organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banking Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Job Stability, Career progression opportunities

    Cons

    Middle management playing politics with staff members.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of branch managers that don't have the interest of the staff to heart.

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "So bad I moved my accounts away from them! (Retail Network, 2 years, Customer Rep then Personal Banking Manager)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banking Manager in Cheltenham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Annual bonus of about 7% of your salary, Generous sick pay allowance, Good pension, The internal training provided for roles is of a high quality.

    Cons

    Salaries are so low the bonus and pension are meaningless, with no opportunity to increase it outside of the annual inflation bump, The worst bullying culture I've seen in a workplace, and unfortunately this is rewarded, Complete lack of ownership across the business, No direction from the business, for instance they've removed targets for sales roles but still act like they are there during 1-2-1's, There is a... consistent level of incompetence in all areas across the business, and a huge separation between the retail network and head office.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the majority of your staff (including upper management) to remove both the cosmic levels of incompetence and the rotten culture that sits at the businesses core, and perhaps incentivise the few brilliant people I met to stay? Nationwide does one thing very well, and that is it's marketing (both internal and external), however in reality it is all farcical. It is nothing more than a high street bank, and... as much as it would like to portray otherwise this will always be the case. In all honesty nothing can be done to turn this business around, and the sooner modern financial businesses such as Monzo and Starling Bank put them (and the other major banks) out of business the better. To summarise, don't work here, it really isn't worth the hassle.

    Show More
    Nationwide Building Society2019-11-02
  6. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banking Manager in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If your face fits you’ll do well.

    Cons

    Sexist culture. Poor management. Poor pay. They say they support work life balance but don’t evidence this.

    Advice to Management

    When people leave and tell you something is wrong actually act on it

    Nationwide Building Society2019-09-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Management and employee neglect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banking Manager in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nothing the area that i worked in was full of people resistant to change and some of them have been in the same role for over 30 years and not interested in new ways of doing things.

    Cons

    They claim they look after their members and their money load of rubbish, the senior managers only look after their pockets.Tell me a company that is quick to offer compensation when its clear that the customer in question is wrong. The staff are highly underpaid and there is a massive gap between what the managers that do nothing earn and the staff that slave for them. one of the most boring and lifeless... environment i have ever worked in.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop wasting members money on that boring and pointless tv adverts of yours and invest in your employees. Joe Garner you need to be more visible in the front line and not position yourself like a celebrity on nationwide big events. Dont get me wrong Joe is a good CEO but the people that work for him are full of it ie brown stuff.

    Nationwide Building Society2019-08-26
  8. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banking Manager in Dunfermline, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is alright and nationwide have good products

    Cons

    They say they aren’t target driven but they are, so many horrible customers

    Nationwide Building Society2019-07-02
  9. "Looking to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banking Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company benefits, nice colleagues

    Cons

    Promotion depends on who you know, annual rating depends on how close you are to your manager. Colleagues are generally nice. Bad behaviours are not dealt with.

    Nationwide Building Society2019-03-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "For a good time not a long time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banking Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good management A culture of care throughout the retail banking network Fun place to work Great work life balance They do try to make changes (for the better most of the time)

    Cons

    No room to progress Wrong people in the wrong place Training is non-existent, you're just expected to know what to do High expectations for very little reward Changes are poorly implemented and inconsistent

    Advice to Management

    Your all stick and no carrot, it's fine to have goals and ambitions of where you want the team to be but you got to properly plan that as a team. Listen to your people, they know there role

    Nationwide Building Society2018-08-03
Found 18 reviews