Nationwide Building Society Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nationwide Building Society Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 514 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Nationwide Building Society CEO Joe Garner
Joe Garner
201 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior management are in some cases Jurassic in their style(in 22 reviews)

  • "Head office in Swindon, very few opportunities for progression if you didn't want to move(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Executive in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great shared goal , reasonable bonus scheme and good opportunities to progress if you want to take them

    Cons

    Sometimes comes across over the top with the nicey niceness

    Nationwide Building Society2019-04-23

    Nationwide Building Society Response

    April 24, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    A 5* review, thank you! It's really good to hear from current employees too. As the world’s largest building society, there’s plenty of scope to move your career in whatever direction you wish.

  2. "Good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time

    Pros

    Great people and benefits packages

    Cons

    Slow to do things and deliver change

    Nationwide Building Society2019-05-22
  3. "Great place to work, improving efficiency would make it amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Branch Manager 

      I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Great member focus. Our member focus is what makes the society such a great place to work. The Chief exec Joe, is open and honest and communication is very transparent. Shares his thoughts in regard to the economic pressure to wellbeing and looking after ourselves. Also encourages speaking up, you can really see even at that level the board what to know what is happening in teams on a day to day basis.

      Cons

      There is still a fear amongst staff about making a mistake and using initiative, this can lead to barriers dealing with members. local directors seem to have little involvement in teams or members, not hands on.

      Advice to Management

      Keep the member focus, please continue to allow employees to speak up, review the layers of management.

      Nationwide Building Society2019-05-19
    • "CORPORATE"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Case Handler in Northampton, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The people, the money, the potential to move on to bigger and better roles in other companies

      Cons

      Very corporate, sometimes stressful, very repetitive basically a sausage factory

      Advice to Management

      None, they were great

      Nationwide Building Society2019-05-09
    • "nationwide"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Member Representative 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      great team busy branch always learning something new

      Cons

      low pay pressure constantly not rewarded enough

      Nationwide Building Society2019-05-20
    • "Very good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

        I have been working at Nationwide Building Society part-time

        Pros

        Good for beginners who want secure job whilst getting skills

        Cons

        Demanding work and very little room for error

        Nationwide Building Society2019-05-05
      • "Comms lead"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time

        Pros

        Flexible working, good pension, interesting industry

        Cons

        Typical big company bureaucracy and hierarchy.

        Nationwide Building Society2019-04-28
      • "Risk Analyst Lead"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        flexible working time, great pension scheme

        Cons

        low salaries, office based in Swindon

        Nationwide Building Society2019-04-15

        Nationwide Building Society Response

        April 24, 2019Employer Brand Manager

        Really pleased to hear that your first year with the Society has been a success. The work that Risk & Compliance undertake covers the entire business, protecting our Society and the savings and investments our 15 million members have entrusted to us. And that's no mean ...

        Show More
      • "Mortgage Advisor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Mortgage and Protection Advisor in Wakefield, England

        I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        Good salary, good pension scheme and benefits

        Cons

        not many opportunities for career progression

        Nationwide Building Society2019-04-28
      • "Great company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Collections Team Manager 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time

        Pros

        Great company culture, focussed on customer service, great development opportunities

        Cons

        The salary/ bonus could be more competitive

        Nationwide Building Society2019-04-10

        Nationwide Building Society Response

        April 24, 2019Employer Brand Manager

        Thanks so much for the 5* review! Our culture is built upon providing legendary service for our thriving membership of over 15 million members. From the way we communicate to how we innovate our products, we put people first and keep their best interests at heart. These values ...

        Show More
      Found 514 reviews