Nationwide Building Society Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nationwide Building Society Reviews

Updated 4 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Nationwide Building Society CEO Joe Garner
Joe Garner
246 Ratings
  1. "Great company with good values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Development Manager in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with

    Cons

    Location is a draw back

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-22
  2. "Good company but avoid working in Risk Department, some terrible managers and culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Management in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nationwide has good values and is not overly focused on profits

    Cons

    I worked in Risk department and the particular team I worked in had high turnover due to a toxic environment and culture led by some terrible senior managers. People are undermined and treated with little trust or respect.

    Advice to Management

    Sort out the management teams and if people keep leaving maybe that should tell you something!!

    Nationwide Building Society2019-11-05
  3. "Inspiring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apprentice 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Inspiring place to work with so much opportunity, benefits and friendly colleagues.

    Cons

    Not many cons to date

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-20
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Branch Manager in Shrewsbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Mutual, owned by our members Staff are valued Able to speak up freely Good overall remuneration package Promotion opportunities

    Cons

    Resourcing levels can be a challenge

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-18
  5. "Largely overworked, impatient with training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, approachable colleagues Can get on if you’re in with management

    Cons

    Little tolerance for new starters Made to work an extra 30-60 minutes each day unpaid (apparently this has since been reversed) (Some) patronising management Sales, banking culture, not the helpful Building Society they portray themselves as

    Advice to Management

    People skills, help new staff rather than hinder

    Nationwide Building Society2019-11-02
  6. "performance consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work for , great opportunities for progression

    Cons

    no cons all is well within the organisation

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Local Director in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You get to work with amazing people from diverse backgrounds, that contribute to the same goal. Focussed on providing the best possible customer experience. Pay is great based on similar roles elsewhere. The wider package including pension is fantastic. There is an opportunity for career progression, and self development including support with relevant qualifications.

    Cons

    Most head office based roles are based in the south, but if you’re prepared to travel the opportunity is there, The competition is the strongest it’s ever been with some challenger banks being more innovate with their approach.

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-04
  8. "A bit slow on the uptake"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time

    Pros

    Nice people trying to do the right thing by and large

    Cons

    Speed of change. A few playing politics.

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-23
  9. "Nationwide as an Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning and Development Manager in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employer, focussed on customers and employees is very high. Diversity, fairness and opportunity aplenty. Right culture for me, the challenge is there and definitely get the support if challenges arise. Benefits are superb especially for employees in difficult situations.

    Cons

    HR policies could be perceived as lenient as some employees take advantage however I still look at this as a positive.

    Advice to Management

    Not much - Chief Exec is very inspirational, the culture is fantastic (please don't change) - you're doing a great job.

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-08
  10. "Shame about the culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Senior in Swindon, Wiltshire, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great bonus & flex working

    Cons

    The culture needs reviewing at senior management level

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-22
Found 604 reviews