Nationwide Building Society Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nationwide Building Society Reviews

Updated 4 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Nationwide Building Society CEO Joe Garner
Joe Garner
246 Ratings
  1. "I feel proud to work for an organisation that puts the needs of its members and colleagues above all else."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It is energising to work in an organisation of such scale that is so significant in the financial sector and feel you have the opportunity to inform and contribute to its future direction.

    Cons

    There genuinely are no downsides to being a colleague at Nationwide.

    Advice to Management

    More of what you are doing and quicker. Those tech only based banks are on our heels.

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-07
  2. "Customer focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Customer focused helpful family orientated

    Cons

    No overtime no bonuses etc

    Advice to Management

    Reward loyalty better

    Nationwide Building Society2019-10-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "So bad I moved my accounts away from them! (Retail Network, 2 years, Customer Rep then Personal Banking Manager)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banking Manager in Cheltenham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Annual bonus of about 7% of your salary, Generous sick pay allowance, Good pension, The internal training provided for roles is of a high quality.

    Cons

    Salaries are so low the bonus and pension are meaningless, with no opportunity to increase it outside of the annual inflation bump, The worst bullying culture I've seen in a workplace, and unfortunately this is rewarded, Complete lack of ownership across the business, No direction from the business, for instance they've removed targets for sales roles but still act like they are there during 1-2-1's, There is a... consistent level of incompetence in all areas across the business, and a huge separation between the retail network and head office.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the majority of your staff (including upper management) to remove both the cosmic levels of incompetence and the rotten culture that sits at the businesses core, and perhaps incentivise the few brilliant people I met to stay? Nationwide does one thing very well, and that is it's marketing (both internal and external), however in reality it is all farcical. It is nothing more than a high street bank, and... as much as it would like to portray otherwise this will always be the case. In all honesty nothing can be done to turn this business around, and the sooner modern financial businesses such as Monzo and Starling Bank put them (and the other major banks) out of business the better. To summarise, don't work here, it really isn't worth the hassle.

    Show More
    Nationwide Building Society2019-11-02
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time

    Pros

    Genuinely cares about members and it’s employees

    Cons

    Project delivery tends to be slow

    Nationwide Building Society2019-09-27
  5. "Good emloyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Mortgage Consultant 

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay, offer loyalty rewards,

    Cons

    Poor incentive structure, weak technology

    Nationwide Building Society2019-09-25
  6. "Brilliant Organisation overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Manager in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The people, the culture , the benefits

    Cons

    Very slow to change. Poor technology .

    Advice to Management

    Reduce back office functions to become more efficient . Continue to invest in branch network . Listen to what customers want

    Nationwide Building Society2019-09-25
  7. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Bournemouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, accountable freedom

    Cons

    Can work in silos at times

    Nationwide Building Society2019-09-20
  8. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A lot of money being put into mortgage process and systems making the job better and easier.

    Cons

    Not many cons other than lack of progression

    Nationwide Building Society2019-09-17
  9. "Finance expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Services Representative in Edinburgh, Scotland

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mutual organisation there for its members

    Cons

    Not much progress so far

    Nationwide Building Society2019-09-13
  10. "Good but bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Representative in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nationwide Building Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice staff, managers are good

    Cons

    Pay and development and false sense of job security

    Nationwide Building Society2019-09-10
Found 604 reviews