Nationwide Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 76 of over 4,109 reviews

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Nationwide CEO Kirt Walker (no image)
Kirt Walker
185 Ratings
Pros
  • "Family friendly, good work life balance(in 407 reviews)

  • "Nice work environment with co workers(in 174 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance is a struggle in my division(in 108 reviews)

  • "A lot of politics involved from upper management(in 76 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Personal Lines

      Nov 29, 2020 - Senior Analyst in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, Interesting work, Stable work life balance

      Cons

      Upper Management subjects their peers to corporate politics, boss mentality, old school rule with iron fist approach to management. It puts a stain on the culture but the employees make up for that.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Well Established Company Helping Others

      Oct 1, 2020 - Technology Engineer in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Large, well-established company representing Columbus Ohio

      Cons

      Most recently, latest upper management decisions

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Marketing Assistant

      Nov 22, 2020 - Marketing Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great life/work balance. A lot of team collaboration.

      Cons

      A lot of politics involved from upper management. If you completed great timely, work sometimes it did not matter. At times felt like a high school environment.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      They say they care for their employees but they don't

      Sep 9, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pretty good middle management, 37.5 hour full time work weeks

      Cons

      They have laid off tons of people while saying they still care about employees, most of my team has been laid off in the last year. It feels like upper management truly has no care about "normal" employees. Also, my salary is far below what I'm worth.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great employee culture

      Jun 8, 2020 - Claims Specialist in Harrisburg, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team environment Company cares about employees Great Family/work balance Excellent benefits

      Cons

      Work from home transition will eliminate much of the face to face periodic visits from upper management thereby minimizing face with name recognition but overall, not a devastating downside with team internet communication opportunities.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good starter company

      Nov 12, 2019 - Web Developer in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good starter company Great work/life balance Room for growth and learning opportunities

      Cons

      A lot of reorganization going on in the company The upper management doesn't completely have a sense of what's going on at the ground level Compared to other companies, salaries are are lower, they do that because of the work/life balance and relaxed culture/environement

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I wouldn’t recommend an enemy

      Sep 16, 2019 - Systems Analyst in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice place to work overall. Considering the convenience of having a cafeteria on site and work hour flexibility, depending on your position of course.

      Cons

      A lot of people seem to not have anything to do at times. Which sounds great but the company lays people off frequently. In my short period of time working here I recall two separate times that large amounts of people were let go. Upper management in my experience seems to let the people they manage run the show. You’re either running the show, or you’re not even getting spoken to. I had a manager that would pass me to say hello to everyone in my aisle and not speak to me. I wouldn’t recommend.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Out of touch

      Jan 13, 2019 - Property Claims Adjuster 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Field level management is understanding and flexible, 18 days PTO (if you can use it) and paid holidays, CAT pay basically guaranteed multiple times a year

      Cons

      Workload has grown to unrealistic levels and upper management focuses on justifying the workload rather than finding solutions. This is across the entire Nationwide claims platform Pay is mediocre for the industry standard and the raises are minimal regardless of performance levels now. "Profit sharing" is pathetic excuse of a bonus opportunity. When hired they will tell you that CAT is required and you may work 1-3 months depending how many major storms hit. 4 tours of CAT duty has been a light year for most adjusters I know over the last 3 years.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Company

      Aug 18, 2019 - Associate Underwriter in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work a lot of nice perks.

      Cons

      Upper management has trust issues

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Pretty good place to work

      Aug 21, 2019 - Senior Developer in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance Nice gym Room to grow

      Cons

      Lots of upper management A little old school Cheap laptops

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 76 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Nationwide Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Nationwide? Share Your Experiences

    Nationwide logo
    or