Nestlé USA Marketing Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nestlé USA Marketing Manager Reviews

Updated 20 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Nestlé USA CEO, Nestlé USA Steve Presley
Steve Presley
4 Ratings
  1. "Hired Marketing Manager in Ready to Drink Division- late April ‘19 and Oct 4th ‘19 notified role eliminated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Marketing Manager in Washington, DC
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé USA

    Pros

    A potential pro is working in other divisions such as Purina or Waters, but NESTLE USA is still sorting it self in terms of corporate strategy - recent announcement of ice cream sale reflects this as well as inability to break into ready to drink coffee.

    Cons

    60 days were given to me to interview internally to secure my own placement. I had not been on a performance plan and was assured my elimination was not performance related. At the time of notice only one role commensurate with my experience in Arlington was open and I would have had to interview for it, like an external candidate. The way their policies are structured and the lack of confidence I had in my own boss and leadership led me to just leave the company if they can’t confidently foresee their headcount needs within a 6 month range. I did not have access to or direction from my manager or role clarity. There was also a lack of resources in terms of people (consumer insights, R&D, as well as budget) When I expressed concern to my boss and HR business partner, I felt less support and more pressure/risk, as though I would be pushed out. It was also not lost on me that the day I started my role was the same day a colleague went on maternity leave and the day I was notified my role was eliminated was the Friday before that colleague returned from maternity leave. It’s unclear that NUSA truly understands their business needs and is cavalier in the effect their decisions have on people’s personal lives. Lastly, as Nestle is global and CPG in the US pushes an MBA, be prepared to work for someone international who is your age or younger without as much US experience. I have also been told my former boss spoke openly in a derogatory way about my departure with his take overlaid at an event where alcohol was heavily used / present. Where the business falls short with process and resources, the corporate line is to be entrepreneurial and resourceful, all while providing unclear and ever changing objectives and role scope.

    Continue reading
    Nestlé USA2020-03-21

    Nestlé USA Response

    March 26, 2020Digital Media Specialist

    We are concerned to hear about your experience, this is definitely not consistent with the environment that we strive to cultivate. We’ll pass along your feedback to our team and if you’d like to share more information, please feel free to contact us at USRecruiting[at]US[dot]Nestle[dotcom].

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (18)

    "Ego-Driven. Old-School. Nepotism at its best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Market driven salaries. Decent work/life balance.

    Cons

    Institutional racism which results in very few opportunities for employees of color. Look at the current executive team, which mostly consists of caucasian males. Most leadership decisions are ego driven vs. sound business decisions based off of strategy.

    Continue reading
    Nestlé USA2019-02-01

    Nestlé USA Response

    February 6, 2019A Nestlé USA Representative

    We’re really sorry to hear about your experience - any type of discrimination is not tolerated and we assure you that we take these comments very seriously. We’d like to share this resource for reporting non-compliance with business principles: https://www.nestle.com/aboutus/businessprinciples/report-your-concerns. Also, if you feel comfortable, we hope you will consider connecting with your HR representative to discuss your experience and next steps.

    Continue reading
  3. "Fantastic, Progressive, Conscientious Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Moss Landing, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent Pay & Benefits; Opportunities to advance through education and learning.

    Cons

    Honestly cannot think of any.

    Nestlé USA2018-07-16

    Nestlé USA Response

    September 12, 2018Digital Media Specialist

    Thanks for sharing! We’re thrilled to hear you that you’re finding great professional development opportunities at Nestlé USA.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great culture and values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent collaborative culture with lots of learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Very flat structure, but lateral moves are endless.

    Continue reading
    Nestlé USA2018-05-08
  5. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé USA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nestle was a great place to work. The people were fantastic and very team oriented. Benefit were great.

    Cons

    The Nestle culture requires significant navigation through numerous decision makers to move projects forward. As a results, projects can move very slowly. Promotions come rarely.

    Continue reading
    Nestlé USA2018-04-16
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Do not start working here - terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, this is not a company you want to work for.

    Cons

    Managers lack social skills and moral skills here. They also lack managing skills towards their employees, even the basics. They'll make you feel uncomfortable even if you work 130%. They'll be rude to you. The company is racist and they'll make you feel that. People who are not 100% American will have a hard time. Everyone who started here was let go within 8 months. If you're being placed on a PIP, you can already start to look for a new job, it's just a mask and you'll never pass through it. Spare your nerves, time and skills and look for something else, you might think the name Nestlé will look good on your CV and Linked-In but it's not.

    Nestlé USA2017-11-20
  7. "Good training ground"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Marketing Manager in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nestle had some great brand training, with fun, smart folks to work with.

    Cons

    The business is so large that it is hard to influence change.

    Nestlé USA2015-03-27
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good for a few years, but don't stay too long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Glendale, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé USA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lost of training through Neslte University. You get to work with people all over the global, which is fun. The people are generally very nice and fun. They have great benefits, including a pension and 401k match and generous PTO.

    Cons

    It is very difficult to get promotions so people tend to stay in the same jobs a long time and lose their energy/excitement. The politics in many divisions are toxic, with only people who are very good at managing up getting the good assignments. It is very hierarchical and a bit of a boys' club. They have an unnecessary focus on what people wear and how they look.

    Continue reading
    Nestlé USA2014-07-21
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Great resume builder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Glendale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nestlé USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Nice, smart people. Although, when I first started at Nestle, there was incredible talent within the company, but many have since left. - Good benefits - medical, pension plan, 401k match, gym in the building, decent cafeteria, good vacation

    Cons

    - All the good smart people have left. There may be a few left, but they're looking for jobs. - The CEO has decided if you're not mobile (domestically or globally), you're not worth anything to the company. Your compensation and ability to be promoted is tied to whether or not you're mobile. So, for a dual income family, this is especially difficult. - Extremely political. Let's just say there is a lot of hot air blown around... - Understaffed/ under-resourced teams - due to high turnover - Significant cost cutting measures are severely declining morale. If a meeting is held over lunch or all day in a room on another floor, no longer able to have even the most basic catering. No more office supply orders. - CEO is crazy... totally obsessed with safety. Safety is good, but he takes it to an extreme level. The first thing he did on the job was eliminate casual Fridays - the one day a week people could wear jeans and was a major highlight for everyone. He basically framed it up as we were lazy when we wore jeans and so he took it away... ?!

    Continue reading
    Nestlé USA2014-02-22
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Strong, and getting stronger..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Solon, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nestlé USA full-time

    Pros

    --Classic CPG training & experience --Progressive in improving marketing expertise and talent - creation & deepening of COEs --Meritocracy --Multiple career-pathing in marketing - includes Shopper, Category/Sales, and Innovation rotations in addition to traditional brand management paths --Scale of company allows tapping into vast network of strong experts & information --International opportunities --Great culture & working relationships --Mobility highly valued (could be pro or con based on the person)

    Cons

    --Largest CPG in the world, so processes in many aspects of work - stymies pace of innovation (company continually looking for ways to speed-up) --Must make personal effort to expand network beyond local Nestlé campus --Mobility highly valued (could be pro or con based on the person) --Generally a late-adopter in disruptive marketing tactics or messaging due to conservative nature (company making headway with a couple brands, but tried-and-true marketing methods and messages easier to swallow for organization)

    Continue reading
    Nestlé USA2014-01-10
Found 15 reviews