New Look Retail Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

New Look Retail Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated 1 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
7%
Recommend to a Friend
New Look Executive Chairman Alistair McGeorge (no image)
Alistair McGeorge
0 Rating
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Blackburn, England

    I worked at New Look part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work friendly management

    Cons

    Long hours standing on your feet

    Continue reading
    New Look2019-07-30

    New Look Response

    October 11, 2019

    Hello, sorry that you are no longer a part of our New Look team but we really appreciate you taking the time to shout about all the great experiences you’ve had at New Look

    Continue reading
  2. "Not good for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Brighton, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New Look part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, enjoyable work, good if you like fashion

    Cons

    No flexibility with hours, makes going home for a few weeks extremely difficult

    New Look2019-10-01

    New Look Response

    October 11, 2019

    Hello fellow New Looker! Thank you for taking the time to leave this review!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Very boring and loads of hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Retail Assistant- Sales Floor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New Look for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount Flexible hours Everyone is friendly you work with

    Cons

    They tend to overwork you and you don’t get enough break.

    New Look2018-05-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Do not work for this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Gateshead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New Look part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you want full time hours great you have no choice about them anyway you won’t get them decreased

    Cons

    Really terrible payers Management treat you like rubbish Holidays/days off are never accepted No help when asked Overall the worst employer

    Continue reading
    New Look2018-01-11

    New Look Response

    January 31, 2018Talent Sourcing Partner

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. We are really disappointed to hear that you’ve not have the experience with us that we would want or expect. We want to reassure you that we do take the points you have raised seriously and if you are keen to discuss these confidentially please do reach out to us at recruitment@newlook.com

    Continue reading
  5. "Shame about the management..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New Look part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely sales assistants who are really friendly. 50% discount is fantastic. It's good to work in a place where I genuinely love the products.

    Cons

    The management in my particular store are awful. I'm sure this is not the case everywhere - as with any job, you get good and bad managers. A lot of employees have already left because of them. If they catch you talking to your colleagues for a second (when there are no customers waiting to be served) they rudely tell you that under no circumstances are you allowed to do that. Not a polite word in private - just speaking down to you and making you feel humiliated. They seem to expect an environment where all you do is work and are never allowed any joy. They're also very intimidating to approach. The targets also feel never ending at times - the store card, the WOWs, the emailed receipts. A lot of it doesn't truly feel like it's benefiting the customers; in fact most of them are probably annoyed by it. The shift patterns are ridiculous. A 2 hour shift might suit students, but if you're wanting to work full time then it's just not enough. Half of it would go on transport costs. They seem to constantly be hiring, when instead surely they should have a smaller team and give more hours to people who want them. Although perhaps no one would, if it means working with these managers where you're afraid that if you breathe you might offend them... The standby shifts (where you're not meant to make any plans) make life difficult. It's unfair to expect people to just be waiting by their phones all day just in case they're asked to work.

    Continue reading
    New Look2016-11-23

    New Look Response

    November 29, 2016Talent Acquisition

    Hello. Thanks for taking the time to give such detailed feedback. Clearly we have some work to do in your store. I'd really appreciate it if you could contact your local HR Manager to discuss some of these issues confidentially, particularly the issues around the way you've been spoken to. Nobody deserves to be talked to like that, and it's something we want to address. As far as the shift patterns are concerned, we're hoping to do something in the new year that should address that. Watch this space!

    Continue reading
  6. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Retail Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New Look for less than a year

    Pros

    50% staff discount is great, nice staff and manager, overall shop is quite laid back due to being a smaller shop

    Cons

    Loads of pressure to get customer reviews, get called in a lot for standby shifts, really quiet in the mens store,

    New Look2016-10-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 6 reviews