New Penn Motor Express Supervisor Reviews

Updated May 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 90 reviews

2.7
50%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
New Penn Motor Express President Howard Moshier
Howard Moshier
3 Ratings
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Busy busy

    Apr 30, 2021 - Operations Supervisor in Billerica, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You’re busy all day. Very fast paced. I average about 7 miles a day walking the loading dock

    Cons

    Hours aren’t the greatest, not a 9-5 job. For some of the workers, the longer they’ve been here, the crankier they are

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    .

    May 22, 2021 - Operations Supervisor in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing honestly, it was a brutal

    Cons

    Management makes life hell for no reason

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing company with growth and a truly open door policy.

    Oct 28, 2020 - Operations Supervisor in Newburgh, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great management team that works well together; a dedicated staff that desires to get the job done and on time and a senior management staff; including VPs that truly care and want to see success in all their employees

    Cons

    I prefer to discuss my difficulties with a job with my employer, and New Penn succeeds in allowing an open-door policy to do just that.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Company is bad for your health

    Mar 20, 2020 - Operations Supervisor in Kearny, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Its better than having no job at all

    Cons

    New Penn was once a great company but now it is just a miserable place that a person despises going into every day.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Unprofessional atmosphere

    Apr 19, 2019 - Supervisor in Dunmore, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nothing is good about this company.

    Cons

    Everything. Very unprofessional people who are running this company into the ground. Stay away!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    New Penn Motor Express Response

    Account Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide New Penn with a review. We certainly appreciate it when our team members provide us with some valuable feedback. As a company, we are always looking for ways to grow and improve and receiving direct feedback from our team is one of the best ways to accomplish those goals. That said, we find your comments to be quite alarming and, if true, they do not reflect the mission or values of our company. We would like to learn more about your experience so we can make the necessary changes and improvements. Please give us a call at 717.270.4635 at your convenience. We look forward to hearing from you. Thanks again for reaching out and for being a part of the New Penn team.

  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Operations Supervisor

    Apr 16, 2018 - Operations Supervisor in Camp Hill, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not too many pros to working here

    Cons

    Poor communication from senior management, racial discrimination. Threats and intimidation from senior management constantly about termination. Poor attitudes and disgruntled front line management. Dock workers all working extended hours consistently because of poor senior management decisions. Lack of training on old antiquated computer systems. Hiring of personnel with known discrimination complaints filed against them. Berating of employees by senior management. Overall a terrible place to work, long hours for both front line supervisors and dock workers. No communication from senior management on a professional level. All communication handled thru secret channels. No concerns, I’ll be certainly terminated for some various reasons soon anyways. The training is non existent and poor as well.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    New Penn Motor Express Response

    Manager, Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We take reviews like this very seriously. New Penn does not tolerate any type of discrimination or harassment in the workplace. Your comments are surprising as our President, Howard Moshier and Vice President of Operations, Wayne Schwanke have both recently visited the Camp Hill New Penn terminal and had great conversations with many Supervisors and hourly employees. Moreover, a recent employee survey praised the positive work environment in Camp Hill. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss these concerns with you further. Please contact me at TCollingsworth@newpenn.com or call 717.270.4635. If you prefer to provide additional information anonymously, please do so through EthicsPoint online at https://secure.ethicspoint.com/domain/media/en/gui/7580/index.html or calling toll free 866-292-4712.

  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Exasperating

    Nov 11, 2017 - Operations Supervisor in Milton, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent benefits, the customers we deal with are very friendly and easy to get along with, the other employees are good people

    Cons

    The pay is horrible, they take advantage of and use loyal hard working people, and treat employees with bad attitudes like they are gold

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Operations Supervisor

    May 1, 2017 - Operations Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some decent people who actually care about there job, then you have the milkers who are there just to get there 12 hours in. The office workers were friendly and terminal manager was a real decent guy. Pay was above industry standards.

    Cons

    There many challenges. 1. Being of course working with transfers and I don't care what field you work in, they are always difficult and looking out to bury you, which was obvious in Reading. 2. Job details of the job were not stated in job description. You essentially walk around from the time you start at 4 till you are finished, which could be anywhere from 2 am to the latest I finished was 6 am. There is no break time, no lunch, straight walking on the concrete floor for at least 8 hours. Unrealistic goals set by management who have no idea what it takes to get done. We were having problems getting done at 11 pm and they sent a big boss down who said they could get the job done by 11pm, haha didn't happen and he looked like a deer in headlights because he couldn't figure it out. Since I left there have been several supervisors to leave due to lack of pay raises and 60 hour work weeks. Some of the supervisors there haven't gotten a pay raise in 8 years, that's absolutely ridiculous. After reading the other reviews a guy will try to counter the cons of this job, but if you ask someone who works there they will tell you straight how it is. I have no beef with New Penn, but the job honestly is for someone who can't get hired by anyone else and need a job ASAP, which I wish I would have known the actual job description first beofe I agreed to work there. By the way the healthcare is one of the worst for managers I have ever seen. I went to the doctor for a sinus infection and got a bill for $135, no joke, terrible.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    New Penn Motor Express Response

    PR Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am sorry to hear you had a negative experience while working at New Penn. The workload can be heavy at times, especially when there is bad weather and backlogs. And I’m sorry you felt it was difficult to work with transfers, however, with change comes challenges. Also, at New Penn, we award pay raises based on performance. We also offer a variety of choices for health care coverage, with various levels of coverage and deductibles. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Horrible company

    Aug 6, 2015 - Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you are incompetent this place will be paradise for you

    Cons

    Senior management is disengaged and incompetent. The company has a MASSIVE labor relation problem, and senior refuses to address or even acknowledge that. Terminal level management is very unskilled and unprofessional. Most of the managers in this company wouldn't be able to manage a lemonade stand. Hourly employees are bitter and disgruntled, so they fake injuries so they can go on comp. If you are smart and looking for a company in which you can grow, be successful, and develop professionally....work somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    New Penn Motor Express Response

    Director - Human Resources

    In light of all the documented positives about New Penn, it’s clear that it we offer most employees a positive and rewarding career. Throughout the Northeast, and in both Canada and Puerto Rico, New Penn employees proudly do an exceptional job for both their Company and for our customers. Don’t take our word for it. A big piece of evidence is New Penn’s recent Quest for Quality Award for Performance Excellence. This is the 21st year in a row that we’ve won and the credit for that goes to our employees. It takes a loyal, satisfied, and energized team to earn that kind or recognition and build a reputation like ours for superior transportation service and stable employment. Leading the teams at our 24 locations are the Terminal Managers. They are on the front lines, personally responsible for ensuring the safety of employees, quality of service, and the satisfaction of both customers and employees in their area. They have a challenging job; most are obviously doing it very well and safely too. In fact, our injuries down 36% YOY. That’s the only explanation for our high levels of performance and the fact that many New Penn employees stay with us for most or all of their career. Annual turnover for New Penn drivers is under eight percent compared to an industry average over ten percent. No place of employment is perfect and some employees will occasionally be less than satisfied. That’s true here at New Penn. When employees have concerns or complaints, we encourage them to bring them forward so we can discuss and hopefully resolve them.

  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Worst experience of my life.

    Oct 10, 2014 - Operations Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some people are great, money isn't terrible if salaried, great health insurance, If you have your CDL its probably the highest paying job there is.

    Cons

    Overtime is required and if you don't stay even longer than what is required you'll be looked down on. Off time is a joke, you are expected to not have a life, DO NOT WORK HERE IF YOU HAVE KIDS. Management is a joke, nothing is ever good enough for them.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Popular Careers with New Penn Motor Express Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at New Penn Motor Express? Share Your Experiences

New Penn Motor Express logo
or