Newton Europe Employee Reviews about "career progression"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 191 reviews

4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Newton Europe Founding Directors  Andrew Hawes and Tom Wedgwood
Andrew Hawes and Tom Wedgwood
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Strong focus on personal development(in 22 reviews)

  • "Career progression and personal development are highly regarded(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Some don’t like working away from home Monday-Thursday(in 56 reviews)

  • "Lots of travel, often long hours, can be stressful(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Consulting

    Join the conversation on

    Consulting

    1y

    works at 

    Deloitte

    Harshest feedback you’ve ever received?

    7,085

    606 Comments

    Consulting

    262.3K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/consulting/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Newton Europe~412875
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "career progression"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best place i've worked

      Dec 3, 2019 - Head Office 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture People focussed Career progression Welcoming environment Benefits

      Cons

      I cannot think of anything to identify as a con

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Great projects - culture needs a lot of work

      Jan 19, 2021 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Very stringent recruitment process means that the company is full of very intelligent, bright, friendly people. - The work is really interesting - you will get the chance to work with a wide variety of different people in different industries and depending on where you are scheduled the work you are doing can have an immediate impact on current affairs which is fantastic (e.g. Covid response, working in the NHS etc.) - Good renumeration and rapid career progression (expect to be managing people within 18months/2years from joining as a grad) - Strong L&D programme with dedicated training courses as you are promoted

      Cons

      - The lack of diversity is a problem (male/female divide is getting smaller but there's still a lack of senior women in the business). Newton talk about this a lot (and run annual surveys) but there doesn't appear to be any tangible efforts made to change any of the working practices which might have an impact on diversity e.g. implementing more flexible working to allow parents with majority child care to see a future in the business. You can count on one hand the number of women with children working at Newton...there is also a problem with diversity of thought and a reluctance to let go of the 'traditional Newton way'. Experienced professionals joining Newton (who don't go through the induction programme) are expected to go back to the beginning and work as a graduate to prove themselves before they are promoted into the job they are hired for. This has led to a high attrition rate amongst experienced hires. - Huge problem with burnout, stress and general poor mental wellbeing. Newton do provide a lot of reactive support (supportive of extended periods of time off, remote GP service, free counselling etc) but often do not recognise/acknowledge that the excessive pressure people are put under including working away from home in the week, culture of over working, feedback culture (often poorly managed) and big focus on alcohol and partying to 'let off steam' isn't the most positive working environment

      7 people found this review helpful

      Newton Europe Response

      Employer Brand Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We agree that there has been a lot of talk around diversity within Newton, and these internal discussions have helped us create a set of targets, which along with full-time resource dedicated to EDI, we will use to really drive the change required. At the heart of EDI is inclusion, and we want everyone to feel a sense of belonging and feel like they can be themselves at Newton, which is a key measure of our annual employee research. We’re pleased to hear that found the L&D and the career progression a positive experience at Newton. Our induction training includes all levels, including experienced hires who join Newton, so that we all have a common understanding of our methodology and how we approach programmes together as a team. Described by one of our joiners as a mini MBA, the first year of Newton is about blending our methodology with your own skills and experience. We agree that in the past our attrition rate was high. 5 years ago only 25% of people stayed with Newton, but with our individualised induction programme, along with a support network and 1-2-1 coaching this is now at 90%. At Newton our people are our biggest asset and so we monitor both performance and wellbeing through our regular people discussions and our fortnightly people survey, to check how people are feeling and identify areas of concern. Review Nights are a way to get together with colleagues and have some fun, or just relax, before working on client challenges together the following day. Inclusion is important to us and so we offer activities that range between cooking classes, board games, or dance classes, as we want to offer something for everyone to enjoy. On wellbeing we are actively looking at ways to help our people to identify pressure points and proactively manage the wellbeing of themselves and their teams. This includes mental health first aid training and a regular focus on wellbeing as part of our Review Days. If you have any particular points that you would like to follow up on personally, please do not hesitate to contact hrshared@newtoneurope.com in confidence.

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      great grad job

      Jan 5, 2021 - Operations Consultant in Oxford, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      speedy development and career progression

      Cons

      living away from home during the week

      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Fast progression, high turnover

      Mar 25, 2020 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career progression and development Company parties Salary and benefits such as ski trip and car Genuinely interesting projects and work

      Cons

      Highly stressful Constant micromanaging and strong feedback culture which is emotionally wearing People frequently disappear from the company as they are 'performance managed out'. High turnover. If you don't fit a certain mould it can be hard to fit in. Impossible to have a life other than work in the week So exhausted by the weekend often have to pull over to nap in car in service stations on way home

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Newton Europe Response

      Head of Employer Brand

      Thanks for your review. At Newton, we offer a stretching environment where people can grow at a fast rate. We believe the best way to learn is by doing – with plenty of guidance and support and feedback from colleagues. We go to great lengths to gauge the satisfaction and well-being of our staff, in order to identify issues and take action to help when problems are raised, including through our fortnightly employee satisfaction survey, which offers everyone the opportunity to voice any difficulties, along with a ‘quick response’ option for immediate support. We take our employees mental health very seriously. To ensure we are the best we can be we are also investing in a number of Mental Health First Aid training courses over the next six months to ensure our staff are better equipped to manage mental health and wellbeing issues.

    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good start to a career in consluting

      Jan 6, 2020 - Lead Consultant in Oxford, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career progression, L&D, Mentoring, Renumeration, Company get aways

      Cons

      Poor work - life balance, up or out, very ops ffocused - cost cutting, performance improvement etc., litle to no strategy, mostly manufacturing, Nothing in power, utilties or oil and gas, not very tech savy.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great people and an exciting time to be involved

      Apr 30, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic people make the job enjoyable Amazing benefits, both package and additional extras e.g. parties and weekends away Career progression and personal development are highly regarded

      Cons

      Work life balance can be testing at times Seemingly not as much differentiation in projects nowadays

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Mixed reviews

      Aug 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Career progression - Salary and benefits - Social events

      Cons

      - Young, male, middle class dominant culture - lacks diversity - Poor work/life balance

      10 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Genuinely awesome company to work for!

      Mar 21, 2016 - Lead Consultant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work with and for oustanding people Rapid career progression Challenging work with good variety Supportive & fun culture

      Cons

      Lots of time away from home - this can be managed to an extent, and Newton are flexible, but it's tough to do the job without being on-site. Expect to be away 4 nights a week on average

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Incredible company - unique in the realm of consultancies

      Jul 14, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Genuine potential for quick career progression; brilliant colleagues who are positive about the company's future; constantly varied and challenging work

      Cons

      If you don't like being away from home during the week it's not for you

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Trusted to deliver outstanding results and given the support and guidance to do so confidently.

      Jul 4, 2014 - Ops Consultant in Oxford, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Having only worked in a few other companies, it's hard to know actually how different Newton is, but from what I can gather from mates I was at Uni with now living in London, I don't think any of the other consultanties offer the same kind of career progression, support, trust and opportunities to deliver work so early on. If you prove your ability you will absolutely fly and achieve amazing results for the clients you work with and for me, this is the most satisfying thing about the job. I know it sounds cheesy but unlike a strategy consultant, or a management consultant you are able to leave a client after 6 months to a year and see, hear and feel the difference to the organisation you've been working with - in terms of the way they talk, think, act and do the thing they do. We really do transform organisations on a grand scale, and the scale on which we do this is ever increasing. The people are fantastic, as is the general level of energy, enthusiasm, happiness (I have no idea what the reviewer who said we don't smile was talking about, I'm renowned for never not smiling) and intelligence. I am constantly humbled by those around me and how good a job they do. This also motivates me to keep pushing myself - just to keep up.

      Cons

      Sometimes the relentlessness of the job catches up with you. You have to be on the ball 5 days a week, 16 hours a day (not to say you're working), but often thinking about things and what is next, and as you progress through your career as you become responsible for more junior consultants the demands certainly stack up, however, support is given as well as lots of relevant and timely training.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Newton Europe Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Newton Europe? Share Your Experiences

    or