Newton Europe Employee Reviews about "lifestyle"

Updated Nov 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 186 of over 191 reviews

4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Newton Europe Founding Directors  Andrew Hawes and Tom Wedgwood
Andrew Hawes and Tom Wedgwood
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "Strong focus on personal development(in 22 reviews)

  • "Career progression and personal development are highly regarded(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Some don’t like working away from home Monday-Thursday(in 56 reviews)

  • "Lots of travel, often long hours, can be stressful(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Consulting

    Join the conversation on

    Consulting

    1y

    works at 

    Deloitte

    Harshest feedback you’ve ever received?

    7,085

    606 Comments

    Consulting

    262.3K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/consulting/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Newton Europe~412875
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "lifestyle"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      collaborative culture

      Nov 8, 2021 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great company to be a part of generous salary great benefits good culture

      Cons

      no cons I loved working for this company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Fun but flawed

      Oct 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remuneration - the company pays well, the work is often impactful and the benefits are good e.g. profit share. But the company owns you Mon - Fri and 9-5pm does not exist. However, weekends are largely protected. Career development - a strong commitment to professional development. Although the culture can encourage people to hide behind rigid HR processes and the feedback is far too deficit based. Impact - individuals are empowered to get involved with well-meaning and fun internal initiatives e.g. Pride. But this can be tough as due to the highly pressured environment and demands on time. Socials - a huge amount is spent on some great team bonding and information sharing events e.g. Review Nights / Days - although there does need to be much clearer boundary setting. Quality of workforce - consultants are largely good at what they do (although this can encourage arrogance and a lack of humility). People work hard. The recruitment process is rigorous for HQ too, but this encourages ‘more of the same’ and not enough diversity across the board.

      Cons

      Diversity - The vast majority (circa 95%) of senior management are white males. Improvement is slow, D&I initiatives are basic and excuses are plenty (hire a real D&I expert). A lot of lip service and no real progress. Leadership - department heads at HQ hide behind infinitely more talented junior colleagues. Utterly uninspiring and lacking in any creativity - particularly marketing and ops. Inclusion - if someone dares to go against the grain, or show any kind of difference (sadly, I count mental health here) they are often pinpointed as a problem and ‘exited’. People often aren’t treated as individuals. There are many highly academic people, but some struggle to recognise their own lack of empathy and internal biases. Work / life balance - it’s a young person’s game. Consultants are onsite during the week dedicated to client work. HQ colleagues are often overloaded and pulled in too many directions.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Oct 27, 2021 - Digital Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Lots to get involved in inside and outside of work - Industry changing work - Strong focus on personal development - Quick progression

      Cons

      - The travelling doesn't suit everyone - Compensation package isn't as competitive as it once was

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent place to work

      Sep 15, 2021 - Regional Employer Brand Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting work and friendly people

      Cons

      Not a central city location

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great

      Sep 7, 2021 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Never a dull moment, always working with exciting clients.

      Cons

      Long days and Long hours.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      No diversity, awful culture

      Oct 8, 2021 - Senior Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay package is good compared to most other places as a grad.

      Cons

      Absolutely no diversity. Only 2 women in senior leadership roles and even fewer people of other ethnic/ cultural backgrounds. This isn't seen as an issue or priority by management. Absolutely no care for people's mental wellbeing.

      8 people found this review helpful

      Newton Europe Response

      Head of Employer Brand

      We appreciate your feedback and value your opinion and we would like to take the opportunity to address a few points that you have raised if we may. At Newton, we are striving to ensure that diversity and inclusion is celebrated and at the heart of what we do. We want to make Newton a place where everyone feels welcome, included and can thrive, and it is one of our top priorities. We’ve appointed an EDI manager to help us become a place of workplace equality. We acknowledge that one person alone cannot achieve this, so we have created an internal diversity network group who play an important role in supporting employees from different cultural backgrounds, regularly holding meetings, panel discussions and networking sessions. We have also restructured our board to be more representative in terms of both gender and diversity. We’re all about implementation at Newton and as such it’s not enough to just set out a vision – we’re here to make it a reality too. In that spirit, we have set ourselves tangible targets in four different areas of diversity, which will ensure that we reflect society more broadly, as well as the clients we work with. Our internal network (N Groups) are internally run, grassroots initiatives and consist of N-Clude, Wom-N, N-Pride, mental and physical disability and ethnicity networks. They are designed to give a voice to all our people and support a more inclusive environment. Finally, we know that we need to support the well-being of our people to ensure that they feel welcome, included and can thrive. We hold fortnightly people N-gauge survey and monthly people discussions and have appointed mental health first aiders. We have just launched a new Employee Assistance Programme service which offers counselling sessions as well as dedicated mental health support and 24/7 GP service to all employees. To help promote day-to-day well-being we are appointing champions across our business areas. If you wish to discuss any of the points raised with us in confidence, please do reach out to the Employer Brand team.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Graduate Opportunity

      Aug 30, 2021 - Digital Consultant in Oxford, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great people to work with - Lots of client interaction from week 1 on a project - Management care about your development - Quick progression - Good social life within the company - Company is growing

      Cons

      - Some don’t like working away from home Monday-Thursday - Entry level salary is competitive, but hasn’t increased in some years, whilst competitors have increased theirs in the past year

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Salary

      Jul 12, 2021 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      38,500 base as a grad

      Cons

      Can be a high pressure environment

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Talented company that do good work

      Jul 20, 2021 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You are surrounded by incredibly capable, driven and lovely people. Newton really try to do the best by their clients, working in a very collaborative way. Newton will keep pushing until the results are seen for the client. The work is genuinely helpful. Newton really try to look after their people. Wellbeing is a top priority. A lot of focus on development. You are given a lot of responsibility and scope from day 1. How a team is developing is important for managers.

      Cons

      The work can feel very stressful and relentless. A lot is asked of our teams. The days can feel very pressurised for long periods of time. Travel and away from home Mon-Thurs/Fri

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great value to clients & Superb development opportunities

      Jul 8, 2021 - Operations Management Consultant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Super immersive role in fast-paced, value-add projects - Great development opportunities - Culture of performance improvement is now being channelled internally towards diversity and sustainability, which is great to see

      Cons

      - Living away from home during the week, when based on client site - not for everyone

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 186 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Newton Europe Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Newton Europe? Share Your Experiences

    or