Next Jump Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Next Jump Reviews

Updated Sep 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
Next Jump CEO Charlie Kim and Meghan Messenger (no image)
Charlie Kim and Meghan Messenger
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Driver for Personal Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Jump full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Focus on personal growth at Next Jump is unmatched in job market from what I have seen. The intention is that every employee becomes a better person as a result of working at Next Jump. Health and fitness is a big part, time each day dedicated to fitness at provided gym facilities, healthy snacks and meals in office plus health perks extended to family. Environment is set up to provide each employee with feedback on... weekly basis with intention to help them them grow. There are plenty of opportunities on business and culture projects to develop leadership skills however prepare to receive a lot of feedback on the way.

    Show More

    Cons

    Personal development doesn't happen without feedback, be prepared to receive feedback weekly, from your first week. The intention of feedback is always to help you grow however it's not for everyone. Next Jump moves quickly which has meant that over the years some products have been left behind which has affected code quality in some area.

    Advice to Management

    Would like to see continued alignment of culture and product

    Next Jump2015-10-05
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Major Pros, and Major Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of responsibility early on Can't hide quietly away. Pushes you to perform Lots of social events and team bonding Fast paced agile atmosphere Smart, young people with lots of drive

    Cons

    Leadership feels ad-hoc and unaligned. The overarching business and culture goals are clear, but the tactical ones are all over the place. A new initiative every week and not much gets seen all the way to the end. Lots of responsibility can = too much responsibility. Unreasonable expectations in terms of workload for even the most efficient performers, and then the excuse that 'you need to manage your time... better' Expectations are high but training was often poor or unformalized Select extraordinary people are championed but can create a school like teacher's pet environment and favoritsm. Collaboration suffers. Culture is designed for extroverts. The product isn't that revolutionary. For long-term career path, not that exciting to be working on corporate discount programs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Most senior leaders have been at NXJ their whole lives which introduces tunnel vision. Bring in others to expand your view.

    Next Jump2015-07-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing - but not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UK Team in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Jump full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I'm challenged, pushed, to become a better person as a result of where I work. I come into work every day inspired to make a difference to those around me. The leadership development programs are not like anything at any other company, full stop. A fast moving, fast growing business, that is going places. It really is a family and the people make our culture.

    Cons

    high standards means direct feedback and often long hours. if that's not what you after from a career- then Next Jump is not for you. If you want to compartmentalize who you are from who you are at work, then Next Jump is also not for you.

    Advice to Management

    the pride we have in our culture needs to be translated to our product.

    Next Jump2015-06-25
  4. "A challenging, fast paced and rewarding environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Jeremy J, UK in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Jump

    Pros

    An absolute meritocracy- those that deliver are promoted quickly and given responsibility regardless of age, experience or previous role Ambition- we want to be the best place to work and the destination for shopping on the web. Work is therefore challenging, everyday is different and you are pushed to your limits....then pushed again to better yourself and better the business Exposure- the hierarchy is flat,... all roles have multiple facets and products/business ideas are often days from idea creation to launch A strong culture- employees are close friends, spend time outside of work and genuinely care about each other Opportunity- no matter what role you start in, if you deliver results, you will move to where you want to be. I started as an intern and have been fortunate enough to have tried almost every role in the business

    Show More

    Cons

    Talent management- hiring so much top talent, so quickly, has been a double edged sword. Lots of good, talented people appear not to be happy or used to their full potential Managing expectations- there are times when unrealistic goals have been asked of people in unrealistic timeframes and blind ambition has gotten the better of us Career progression- some people are comfortable creating their own path and... finding their own opportunities, others are not. For those that aren’t, clear structure around how, when and where you will grow is still in its infancy and understandably creates unease about progression

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We have an amazing business, amazing potential and amazing people, who are passionate about us- both positively and negatively. There’s some feedback on here that we can learn from, talk openly to the company about and rectify. Some is also utter rubbish. Build a middle management tier and give them authority to act. A stronger voice to relay concerns from the bottom up and to manage messages from the top... down Build closer ties between business and engineering. We have fantastic people all over the business but the tech/biz split is stark and as we innovate so fast perspective can be missed

    Show More
    Next Jump2011-02-09
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Dispassionate, honest outlook of the company in 2019 as a software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - You truly work as a full stack software engineer. You will use VMs as your workspace, separate code bases into the service layer and front end, and be expose to doing both mobile app and website work. I learnt a lot about how to write software at a small to medium sized company scale. - NextJump academies introduce you to interesting people. I met my first admiral ever through an academy, which I thought was super... cool. The projects have an incredible reach - Feedback app is used by the US Navy and perks at work by most of Fortune 1000.

    Show More

    Cons

    - There is close to zero testing in both perks at work and the feedback app. There are no presubmits as part of continuous integration, just human testing. The software written is not methodical and will never scale from medium to large. In general the code health is poor, ranging from decent to horrific, and these lead to terrible debugging experiences. I have felt depressed debugging something that feels very... simple before. There is no sense of pride in the product. Most people don’t even use it. - There is no project management expertise at the company. Non-technical staff, with no understanding of the difficulty of writing good software, have a lot of sway over engineers. This results in unrealistic demands that don’t get met and stressed engineers. - This was the kicker for me - there’s no way to recharge with the current vacation policy and company culture. 10 days vacation. Thanksgiving weekend, you have to come in on Friday. Some holidays like MLK day not respected. Each quarter, you have to give up approximately 4 full Saturdays (Academy and recruitment), which last 12 hours from 8 to 8, in which you mostly do things like set up the dinning and interview areas. In general, you just don’t feel respected by management. - You have to drink a lot of kool-aid. Case in point, once a year, you have to give presentations about how the company help you grow. On a biweekly basis, you have to give tours to guests to talk about how great the company is.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire most of the non-technical staff and put in leadership with a strong technical background

    Next Jump2019-08-07
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Interesting job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Next Jump full-time

    Pros

    You get to work independently.

    Cons

    Next Jump has a Cult feel in the office.

    Next Jump2019-08-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Bronx, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    training to improve leadership skill

    Cons

    dealing with logistics and management

    Next Jump2019-02-06
  8. Helpful (40)

    "Puts the Cult in "Culture""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Jump full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gym. Laundry. Free food. Ends there.

    Cons

    I decided to write this review to prevent anyone from making the same mistake I did: accepting a position at this cult. The customer experience department at Next Jump is beyond pathetic. Most of this is because the CEO is a megalomaniac (Charlie), the other "CEO" is a figurehead who's one of the dumbest people I've ever worked for. Perhaps the only inspiring thing about working for this company is that people so... vapid could make that much money. This company ONLY recruits college kids. Ask anyone who looks older than that how they came to the company and chances are a) they've been there since college b) they started 7+ years ago. Why? That's how cults operate they brainwash people who don't know any better. They use hazing tactics, making people do manual work not in their job title to make them feel a false sense of camaraderie. They treat their temp workers like GARBAGE. Why? These are their direct words: "they've burned us before." Basically, they hired a few people who didn't know how to handle themselves at happy hour five years ago and now they use it as an excuse to treat the people who are working with their customers like they need to earn the the right to work at such a "high performing" company. But if your from Tufts, you can be the dumbest person there, they'll give you a position because well... you went a good school. Absolutely no resources are give to the Customer Experience Team and there is no one "takes ownership." Customers are left waiting for weeks to get a simple response. The employees don't even use perks at work because there are so many bugs and they're worried that something could go wrong with their trip/product. If you're not cut throat and political they won't view you as "a leader." The CEO will outright comment on people's weight and personal life. Many people left the company after he shamed an employee for getting hit by a car. Mind you, this is AFTER he hosted a party that went from 7-2 AM and there was a mandatory dance that he forced employees to partake in (the proof is on youtube). He likes to tell jokes about how one of the employees (I guess her Next Jump "family" wasn't looking after her) got hurt as a result of his over indulgent parties. Over indulgent because this company does not even cover the basics. They're Customer Service is never staffed properly. They have a rotation of temps who they make go through a "gated process" (ie jump through arbitrary hoops just so management can let them go after they've wasted their time. For a tech company they do not leverage technology at ALL, but specifically in customer service. Escalations will be left for weeks (who sends these using email anymore... archaic). Why? The company is more interested in taking millions of dollars from the government to have them adopt their cultish apps. They want the government to use their apps to leave each other "anonymous" feedback. They have a bunch of dying plants taking up half of their office because every time they set forth an initiative it always fizzles out shorty after. Why? Because IRONICALLY even though all employees are forced to go through leadership training the leadership is so bad that turnover is out of control and what does that leave you with? A bunch of dead plants and employees that hate you, but are forced to stay because you're using their immigration status as leverage. The funny thing is they actually blame all of the temp agencies in NYC. Exactly. It's not them, and how they barely acknowledge these people, manipulate them into a fruitless "gated process", haze and humiliate them... it's all the temps. They're just not cut from the same cloth as all of the employees who went to the "good" schools. Well, all of those employees are leaving if they're not stuck because of immigration logistics. Some engineers who have been there for a while even complain of not doing well on interviews (while trying to escape) because their skills are so rusty. If you need further evidence of this company's poor, POOR leadership just go on the corporate perks website. Let that speak for itself. Write a ticket into customer service. If your request is even a bit complex see how long it takes for them to get back to you... and how accurate the response is. There has been NO INNOVATION in that department for ages. How can you innovate when you don't have a team? And the remaining team is too arrogant or incompetent to DO anything. Half of what they do could be automated, just smart enough in leadership has stepped up. Because let's face it, they have the companies they work with pushing their product so they don't care at ALL about the customers. PLEASE any company or agency that plans on going into business with them... ask them what their NPS is. They don't even know the term and let that be a testament to how abysmal their service is. They don't care about it because they don't see it as revenue generating They look down on it and even make people who are demoted in the company (the company has a no fire policy, so these are people who just don't do anything and don't have the self-respect to leave) work in the department. There is a lot more to say. But this is my plea to anyone considering employment there, ESPECIALLY temps... just don't. It may seem like decent pay, but it's a cult. They'll fire you and make up a reason. Anytime you go on vacation or leave for the weekend just be aware that you could get a call that they don't want you back and they'll mail your things. Maybe you asked too many questions, or maybe you just didn't feel like staying until 11PM. Yes, this company asks that you stay several nights until 11 or 12, people will even sleep over in the office. Of course, this isn't a formal thing that they'll ask via email, just like they won't formally demand that you go to their spin class (seriously guys... that would be illegal). They just shame you if you don't. This is why people who were in frats and sororities thrive, they're used to it. They even tape people while they're working out and use the footage to comment on people's personal characteristics.... because how you ride a bike TOTALLY correlates with how you perform in your professional life. They're so understaffed because they only recruit twice a year. The hiring process is a popularity contest where employees put stickers on the faces of people they liked, or thought were "super hot" candidates. These are basically all yes men who exhibit no sense of self in interviews (they gotta be malleable... *ahem* humble). During one of these OF COURSE they have an after party (not mandatory at all... like all of their fun team building events) that goes until 2AM. Employees cannot even weigh in on people who will be joining their team (because that makes a lot of sense). Who doesn't want to stay up beyond twelve hours with no extra pay? I had an employee as me a bunch of questions about a candidate over a drink. Turns out that he reported our entire conversation back to my supervisor who video conferenced me a week later quoting our 2AM conversation. Vindictive? Totally, but that's exactly the type of people who THRIVE here. She video called me and didn't even tell me that someone else was listening to our conversation out of view until our conversation was over. The whole place sets you up to fail. Takeaway: JUST SAY NO. Or maybe they'll take three months to email you your offer like they often do and that'll make the decision easy for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'm talking to the investors (management is past hope): fire the CEOs and get real, experienced people in the company. Get rid of the "no fire" policy, because it breeds laziness and incompetence. Give people more than two weeks off. Stop using immigration as leverage (kinda unethical to do that). Stop hiring people based on how "humble" they are (because you CLEARLY have no accurate way of gauging that) and because... they went to one of the five schools you like and start hiring people based on their experience and skills. Create a REAL training program for new hires that doesn't involve hazing and breaking them down military style.

    Show More
    Next Jump2019-01-13
  9. Helpful (14)

    "The Greatest Show"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump

    Pros

    Most of the people who work here are nice, friendly. Fitness classes, snacks, office space are also great.

    Cons

    Where to start? Everyone is unhappy and people are leaving. Next Jump’s management refuses to listen to feedback. Most things that current or past employees have shared are either ignored or never reach the CEO. The management is arrogant and stuck in their heads. They don’t see how toxic they have made the culture. HR department doesn't exist so most cries fall on deaf years. CEO is a great showman, amazing at... manipulating people and selling lies to both clients and employees. Thousands of dollars are invested in “pro-bono” events for clients so they think that the CEO has answers to all their problems and can hence pay big bucks to Next Jump for his help. Next Jump employees are forced to participate in these events and present a fake picture of how happy and engaged they are. Management is busy fooling its million dollar clients while it’s employees are crying. If you are a prospective employee or client who is thinking of working with Next Jump, please BE WARNED! Take the Glassdoor reviews seriously and get out when you can!!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop selling lies to your employees and build trust. Think about why are people so unhappy. Your current leadership team only feeds lies to you to keep you happy. They cannot be honest with you because they are afraid. Either change or quit.

    Next Jump2018-12-04
  10. Helpful (22)

    "Please believe the negative reviews you see - don’t make the same mistake as i did"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Next Jump

    Pros

    Snack, fitness classes, gym, decent salary (but truly not worth it)

    Cons

    I remember before i accepted my offer at this company, i read reviews on Glassdoor and thought they were exaggerated. Working at Next Jump i learned that allll of these bad reviews are actually very accurate and most of the good ones are fake. All of the practices that went on in this company felt very immoral. New hires have to go through a long process of being judged and told how they should think by people who... barely know them. Employees who have been there for years have to open up about their personal lives (even though they don’t feel comfortable doing this) and they get judged on these personal stories while having the entire company (U.S & Uk) on Skype watching. Temps have it really bad as well. Rules are constantly changing and not followed for every temp equally. Something that is promised one day is taken away the next with a made up excuse which never actually makes sense. They will use you until they can’t anymore and they will let you go without warning no matter how much you have put in to help the company. They go through tons and tons of temps by making them believe they will get hired permanently in the future, but they mostly get fired. Temps are also forced to keep working while the entire company has parties or happy hours around them because they are not considered “next jumpers” which is very unkind. They want you to live in the office. People are there for 12+ hours a day. You have to constantly be on call. They really brainwash you. This is not a normal company. They do not practice what they preach. People are always crying - even some of your bosses when they have to actually take feedback and do work (instead of passing it on to you and taking the credit).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Honestly, there’s too much. I don’t even know where to begin. Maybe having HR in the company would be a good start.

    Next Jump2018-11-03
Found 164 reviews