Nominet Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 of over 44 reviews

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Nominet Chief Executive Officer Paul Fletcher
Paul Fletcher
2 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

388

57 Comments

Tech

210.9K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Nominet~701438
Join the conversation on
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Would jot recommend

    Apr 1, 2022 - Administration in Oxford, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leaving to be honest. Slave driver company

    Cons

    No training, huge workload, tried to cut my agreed pay by 10k.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A company who care about their employees and their purpose

    Feb 28, 2022 - Infrastructure Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A fair deal, Nominet understand paying the right package gets you the right people. Nominets employee package is an example of that. Great teams, willing, joined up and communitive, empowering and helpful

    Cons

    Seem to rush into big projects head first, when they should evaluate and assess first. But overall not afraid to do something because we should and not just because we are told.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Technically interesting but awful culture and minimal management desire to change

    Dec 24, 2021 - Team Lead in Oxford, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Technically interesting, great salary, great pension contributions, 6 weeks leave plus bank holidays.

    Cons

    Management don’t listen to feedback - regular employee surveys revealed same issues, executive team always seemed surprised, promised to make changes, nothing materialised, the cycle repeated. Management make commitments the business can’t possibly hope to meet. Deadlines are agreed without thought to whether there are enough people to do the work and meet existing commitments. Lots of burnout, defensive behaviour, etc, as a result. An example: on one occasion I was told on a Friday afternoon the a feature was needed to be implemented by the Monday morning and that not achieving it was not an option. My team already had other commitments that needed to be met by the end of the week and when I said that one feature would come at the cost of the other, I was told that’s not good enough. This was a common occurrence. Many of the senior managers have worked at Nominet for many years. I got the impression that they had their own little empires and no interest in other ways to work. Rather than take suggestions for improvements and optimisations as positive they were viewed as threats and challenges to these empires.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    The drunk leading the blind

    Dec 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, very on-top of Covid and working from home.

    Cons

    Management seem to consider the best way to do things and then do the complete opposite. They know what should be done, but seem determined to do the wrong thing! Making tonnes of cuts on lower paying roles and investing in more "managers" to sit around a table and talk rubbish. Eventually they'll go to pass the work down to the do-ers and realise they got rid of them all to save money!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Nice and friendly place to work

    Dec 2, 2021 - Analyst Developer in Oxford, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good working environment, friendly people

    Cons

    Slow in adopting new technologies and new ways of workings

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Would rate it - stars if I could

    Oct 31, 2021 - Annonymus Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None, there are no pros all negative.

    Cons

    1. Do no invest in current employees like they claim but instead they pay more to new starters. 2. Belittle people during meetings 3. Long hours and no structure to work load Would happily go work as a cleaner or bin man then working here

    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Same as the other negative reviews

    Oct 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There has been a lot of positive changes in culture.

    Cons

    Upper management is confused on the direction of the company and lack proper understanding of how, and why, they should sell cyber security products. Also HR is the worst.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Data Engineer

    Sep 22, 2021 - Data Engineer in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work at.

    Cons

    Everything was great at NomioNet

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Ticks all the right boxes

    Aug 6, 2021 - Talent Acquisition Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * A collaborative, open and honest culture - everyone is always willing to help and managers strive to get the best from you. Everyone works together to get the job done well. I feel empowered and encouraged in my role and everyone is happy to help when needed - sometimes going out of their way to help which really means a lot. * A medium size company with a big vision - Nominet is ambitious and is continuously looking to improve and add value, looking at how things can be done differently. The company value staff input and ideas from employees are always taken on board and acted upon. * A company with a heart - Nominets Social Impact team are consistently delivering projects that help socially disadvantaged people in society benefit digitally. The aim is to improve 1 million lives a year. * A great work life balance with very flexible working arrangements. The company really cares about the wellbeing of the staff and offer great initiatives to support employees achieve a great work life balance. Despite COVID-19 , the company have worked hard to bring together socially through various means which is appreciated. * Great benefits / perks I have really enjoyed my first few months here and hope the journey continues going forward

    Cons

    I really cant think of any!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Oh stay away

    Jun 20, 2021 - Manager in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Terrible strategy and management there

    Cons

    All all all all all

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

Nominet Reviews FAQs

Nominet has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 44 reviews left anonymously by employees. 67% of employees would recommend working at Nominet to a friend and 53% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Nominet employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Nominet. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

67% of Nominet employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Nominet 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.2 for career opportunities.

Popular Careers with Nominet Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Nominet? Share Your Experiences

or