Nordstrom Rack Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nordstrom Rack Reviews

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Nordstrom Rack Co-President  Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom (no image)
Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and good pay for retail(in 94 reviews)

  • "20% employee discount but once a year you get 30% discount(in 65 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "better than most retail jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shoe Sales Associate in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and good pay for retail. It was a fun and fast-paced work environment. It was a great job for me to have while going to school because my schedule was able to be very flexible if needed

    Cons

    At times management was questionable.

    Advice to Management

    Be kinder to your employees and they will work harder.

    Nordstrom Rack2020-01-15
  2. "Great Part-time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesperson in Beaverton, OR

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful managers, great hours and friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Working in women's is fun but there are a lot of go-backs, be ready to move quickly.

    Nordstrom Rack2020-01-13
  3. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merch and INV Representative in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I would recommend to work here. It is nice overall.

    Cons

    There are no cons here.

    Nordstrom Rack2020-01-14
  4. "A good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great coworkers, fair pay, benefits for full time employees

    Cons

    very physically demanding, high stress environment

    Nordstrom Rack2019-12-31
  5. "mediocre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers were friendly and nice, got along well, customers were friendly.

    Cons

    pay didnt compensate, work more than schedule and asked for, overworked, drama, not enough help, unfair

    Advice to Management

    Make better choices. Don't cause drama

    Nordstrom Rack2020-01-15
  6. "Fun Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Store Manager very fair, Fast paced, able to stay busy at all times, lots of team players

    Cons

    Rude customers but its retail so not much can be done, some drama but nothing serious. need more hours

    Advice to Management

    communication is important and more hours!

    Nordstrom Rack2019-12-19
  7. "Good at first glance, the more you know the worse it gets."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Experience in Algonquin, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent starting pay and good benefits.

    Cons

    Messed up people. Bad management. Rules, job requirements, and company values up in the air. The don't fire, the force you to quit.

    Advice to Management

    Reconsider your management tactics and pay attention to who you are hiring.

    Nordstrom Rack2020-01-02
  8. "Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Beachwood, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nordstrom was very flexible and supportive of my educational goals.

    Cons

    I had to work 2nd shift as a sales representative.

    Nordstrom Rack2019-12-17
  9. "Very accommodating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Salesman 

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack part-time

    Pros

    Very flexible with my school schedule Good atmosphere

    Cons

    A lot of turnover with employees and managers

    Nordstrom Rack2019-12-16
  10. "Don't do it to yourself!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the discount, working with customers who appreciate your hard work

    Cons

    terrible hours. on your feet all day, no one, no one appreciates what you do. thankless job, terrible pay, diva store managers who have to micromanage until you run screaming out the door. very hard to get promoted, there are very few promotions available and many people who want them. if you are over 40, forget about getting promoted, they consider you too old

    Advice to Management

    appreciate the good people who work for you and show up for each shift on time. instead of concentrating on the negative and making people wish they worked anywhere but nordstrom, make them glad they came in so they give the customers (the reason for our jobs), the excellent service they deserve.

    Nordstrom Rack2020-01-16
Found 1427 reviews