Nordstrom Rack "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Nordstrom Rack Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 16 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Nordstrom Rack Co-President  Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom (no image)
Erik B. Nordstrom and Peter E. Nordstrom
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and good pay for retail(in 95 reviews)

  • "20% employee discount but once a year you get 30% discount(in 65 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Logistics Specialist in Towson, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people Good management Flexible scheduling

    Cons

    Work life balance your at work most of the time if your full time (not really a con if your trying to make money)

    Nordstrom Rack2019-10-04
  2. "decent pay. terrible management and politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Service Experience Representative in Sacramento, CA

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    PTO, sick leave, decent pay, benefits, discounts

    Cons

    disorganized and terrible management, work life balance not so great, STRESSFUL on the body & mind, bad training.

    Nordstrom Rack2019-10-17
  3. "People company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack full-time

    Pros

    Very people and customer oriented o

    Cons

    Work life balance but it’s gotten better each year

    Nordstrom Rack2019-03-10
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Only if you must"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Experience Team in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All associate level employees at my location are great-- they are helpful, happy, and not afraid to be strangers. There's great cohesion among all of the lowest-level employees. The goal is to sell Nordstrom Credit Cards and there is a commission bonus of $8 ( cash). ** It is documented on your paycheck so it is not tax-free.

    Cons

    Management does not respect the work life balance of low-level employees. My vacation wasn't approved (even though I was told it would be); they took serious issue with me needing to change my availability--I am only part-time-- because I found additional employment. Management also negotiated with me about availability, time-off, scheduled vacations.... Customer Service is the primary objective at all times-- a few different managers have thrown me under the bus in front of customers to save face (when nothing devastating happened). Managers have told me TO LIE TO CUSTOMERS about merchandise we carry because "it's better to under-promise and over-deliver". The store is frequently understaffed even though there are plenty of people eager to work. This becomes problematic when there's a huge rush and not enough people to work the registers, sales floor, or the fitting room. No one is able to do their job properly or attend their stations, and so theft happens. Guess who gets blamed? I've worked retail for almost 3.5 years and I have never experienced this much disrespect. All in all, the expectation of this company is to be available for them 24/7 and kiss the ground that the customers walk on.

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom Rack2019-02-22
  5. "Great company, but it owns you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Department Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nordstrom Rack full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nordstrom is a tremendous employer that really cares about its employees and customers. Discount is good too.

    Cons

    No work/life balance for mgmt. Since leaving and working for other retailers, that has become very obvious.

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom Rack2019-02-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of rules to follow, not much freedom to be yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Experience 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack full-time

    Pros

    You get 20% discount on all products, sometimes more during special events.

    Cons

    ugly uniform, strict managers, crazy hours, not much work/life balance

    Nordstrom Rack2019-02-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Thought it would be great.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    For the most part, i enjoy who i work with, everyone is very nice, even management. The 20% discount to the rack, full-line would be the only other pro.

    Cons

    HORRIBLE HOURS!!!!! I have worked other retail such as 8a to 2p or 2p to 9p. Here you will work everything. I have zero work life balance (which they try and tell you they give you in the begining). The other con would be the customers, there are a select few who are nice. But mostly its people who think you owe them the world because they are shopping at nordstrom.

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom Rack2019-01-22
  8. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack full-time

    Pros

    Culture, benefits, diversity, ability to work independently

    Cons

    Work life balance, Not enough staff to get "things" done Too many "things" happening at the same time

    Nordstrom Rack2018-11-07
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack

    Pros

    Compensation growth fast paced environment

    Cons

    No work life balance

    Nordstrom Rack2018-10-24
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Nordstrom Rack full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent pay for hourly employees

    Cons

    Be prepared to work 60 hours a week as a salaried department manager. Work/life balance is preached but it isn’t modeled or well received.

    Continue reading
    Nordstrom Rack2018-09-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 40 reviews