Norfolk County Council Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Norfolk County Council Reviews

Updated 15 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Norfolk County Council CEO Wendy Thomson
Wendy Thomson
3 Ratings
  1. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Programmer in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Norfolk County Council for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing place to work. Friendly environment and also everyone is helpful

    Cons

    Canteen is bit expensive and also bit of old technology

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to blame. Senior management does their best

    Norfolk County Council2016-04-16
  2. "lots of opportunities for local goverment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Norwich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Norfolk County Council full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    friendly people, fair amount of opportunities for local government

    Cons

    expensive canteen, lots of restructures in short period of time

    Norfolk County Council2019-08-15
  3. "Good benefits and flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Norfolk County Council part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, flexible working, perks, making a difference to community

    Cons

    Some outdated practices, bureaucracy and red tape slows projects down

    Norfolk County Council2019-07-09
  4. "Good benefits, friendly colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Desk Analyst in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Norfolk County Council full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    NCC has a decent shop and canteen, the pay is quite good too compared to others of my age and you've always got someone to help if you get stuck or not sure on how to action a call.

    Cons

    Management try their best but sometimes I feel that not enough training is given to staff within teams, I also find that new staff are given a week or 2 training to learn all NCC systems that they might need to support (and there is a huge number of systems) and basically told "just to get on with it". I've also seen staff put on different roles within the team (Emails, live chat, phones, reception etc) without any training...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Would recommend implementing a training policy for new staff.

    Norfolk County Council2019-07-05
  5. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Works Coordinator in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Norfolk County Council full-time

    Pros

    Good training, reliable employer, pension

    Cons

    Organisation allows individuals to stagnate in roles preventing other employees career development

    Norfolk County Council2019-05-27
  6. "Good job for young people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TITAN Travel Trainer in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Norfolk County Council full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great to put on CV -Great experience if wanting to work in healthcare or with kids -Amazing pay -Meet other like-minded young people

    Cons

    -Job can be challenging as working with children with SEN -A lot of travel (all subsidised though)

    Norfolk County Council2019-05-16
  7. "Nothing out of the ordinary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Norfolk County Council full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Average pay rate, flexible hours, good pension

    Cons

    Lots of office politics, they tend to schedule frequent unnecessary meetings

    Norfolk County Council2019-01-16
  8. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Norfolk County Council full-time

    Pros

    Nice kids and interesting work

    Cons

    Lots of stress and paperwork

    Norfolk County Council2018-10-29
  9. "Co-ordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Norfolk County Council full-time

    Pros

    - eclectic mix of people - relaxed office environment - high level of autonomy

    Cons

    - recruitment process - training days were a bit mismanaged -poor office design and outdated set up

    Advice to Management

    shake up the working space - more team get togethers to increase morale.

    Norfolk County Council2018-10-05
  10. "Business Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Business Consultant in Norwich, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Norfolk County Council for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good organisation to work for because of flexi time

    Cons

    Always restructuring laying people off and employing them on a lower grade and lower payscale

    Norfolk County Council2017-12-13
Found 27 reviews