North Carolina State University Community Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

North Carolina State University Community Assistant Reviews

Updated Mar 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
North Carolina State University CEO W. Randolph Woodson
W. Randolph Woodson
5 Ratings
  1. "Easy job with flexible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Community Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Carolina State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule around classes, pretty easy low stress job, ability to pick up shifts for extra money

    Cons

    Some of the other staff members don't really care about the job

    North Carolina State University2019-03-06
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Community Assistant 
    Recommends

    I worked at North Carolina State University

    Pros

    good management, friendly coworkers, laid-back environment

    Cons

    it was a temporary student job

    North Carolina State University2017-12-30
  3. "Ehh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Assistant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at North Carolina State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Can be convenient to work on campus. Close proximity. I imagine more flexibility in hours than an off campus job.

    Cons

    Can feel exploiting at times. Highly unorganized. Superiors can be difficult to deal with and set in their ways. Slow to implement useful change.

    Advice to Management

    Value workers more. Instead of adding more and more policies for mistakes people make, try to actually train new hires so they know how to do their job correctly.

    North Carolina State University2017-10-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Assistant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Carolina State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    easy going staff, helpful administration

    Cons

    pay is low and admin can be disorganized

    North Carolina State University2017-02-23
  5. "Community Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Assistant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at North Carolina State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Make some extra cash while working on campus. Interact with students

    Cons

    None at all. Was a fun work environment and fun staff.

    North Carolina State University2017-02-02
  6. "Community assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Community Assistant in Raleigh, NC

    I worked at North Carolina State University for more than a year

    Pros

    They are very understanding of student obligations

    Cons

    The hours were not that great

    North Carolina State University2015-05-22
  7. "Awesome work environment, always loved my coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Assistant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at North Carolina State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was a student worker who worked as a Community Assistant and was promoted to Community Assistant Coordinator. Looking back, that was the most satisfied I have ever been with a job. Great boss, no drama, and truly enjoyed the job.

    Cons

    Creating employee schedules was the worst part just because of everyone's class schedules. It was a minor bump in the road. My workers were always happy to help out however they could.

    North Carolina State University2014-12-05
  8. "A well place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Community Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at North Carolina State University

    Pros

    Nice managers Good hours Good interactions with other people NC State believes in growing and training of employees I loved interacting with students

    Cons

    Little flexibility and growth Hard to get time off Rigid schedule and some protocols were unnecessary Peak hours can be tough

    Advice to Management

    Continue the work

    North Carolina State University2014-12-03
  9. "Awesome work and Good flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Assistant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Carolina State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good supervisor, It is great to work with students

    Cons

    There are no Cons I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    NA

    North Carolina State University2014-02-25
  10. "Great for Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Assistant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at North Carolina State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work life balance while in School

    Cons

    Nothing expect for compensation, but it's a part time job. So nothing to complain

    North Carolina State University2012-07-21
Found 11 reviews