North Carolina State University Research Technician Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

North Carolina State University Research Technician Reviews

Updated 23 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
28%
Recommend to a Friend
10%
Approve of CEO
North Carolina State University CEO W. Randolph Woodson
W. Randolph Woodson
4 Ratings
  1. "Research Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Research Technician in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at North Carolina State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to emerging research and techniques in specific agricultural fields.

    Cons

    Huge employer with a lot of bureaucracy.

    Advice to Management

    None

    North Carolina State University2019-01-24
  2. "Research Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Technician in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at North Carolina State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learned to operate heavy equipment, worked with very nice people

    Cons

    Hours can be quite exhausting

    Advice to Management

    Try to pay the people that work at the Dairy Education Unit more than minimum wage to show up at 3 am

    North Carolina State University2018-10-12
  3. "Unsanitary breakrooms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Technician in Chapel Hill, NC

    I worked at North Carolina State University full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and easy work. Straight forward and simple. Good management

    Cons

    The mice had cleaner cages than the breakroom in DLAM. There were literally wild mice in the breakroom

    Advice to Management

    Ensure your employees are eating in sanitary conditions. Facilities should have to clean ALL rooms. The floor is was filthy and their was literally a mouse trap next to the refrigerator.

    North Carolina State University2018-02-27
  4. "Ez life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Technician in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at North Carolina State University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy job, came in late and left early, very independent

    Cons

    Very little management means a lot of time wasted

    North Carolina State University2017-09-30
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Technician in Raleigh, NC

    I worked at North Carolina State University full-time

    Pros

    When there's funding. It was a great stepping stone.

    Cons

    When there's not funding. Parking could be accessed better. Employees shouldn't ever have to pay parking fines due to campus issues.

    North Carolina State University2016-06-01
  6. "Temporary Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Technician in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Carolina State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can work varying hours and from home when resonable. It's a very independent position.

    Cons

    There are not any cons that I can think of as of now. Everything is great for me.

    North Carolina State University2015-07-13
  7. "Flexible environment on a great research campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Technician in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at North Carolina State University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in schedule, good vacation/sick leave policy, good benefits

    Cons

    No upperward mobility, no merit based raises (in the current political climate, no salary increases at all), lots of red tape on the management side of things.

    North Carolina State University2014-05-11
Found 7 reviews